We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rookery Nook B&B Shere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rookery Nook B&B Shere
Ranked #1 of 3 Shere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

It was my first trip alone. I know nearly 60 - How sad is that! Chris and Jill made me feel so very welcome Instant friends! The house is beautiful and so comfortable. The views and setting quintessentially english village. Church bells peeling and the sound of hooves outside on the road. Oh! Did I mention the silence at night.........Just the hall clock, plus friend signalling the hour. Breakfast was delicious and there are plenty of places to have dinner in the village. The walks from Shere are amazing and I believe, but I have to return to investigate..there is an open air pool by the church! Go and discover for yourselves. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Room Tip: I am sure both rooms are delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Basia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
65
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Nook 2 months ago and instantly rebooked. It's the perfect escape from the city and Chris and Jill were once again the perfect hosts. The Nook is a special place and perfect for anyone wanting to explore the beautiful village of Shere. This time I brought my parents along for the experience and they loved it too. Make sure you get yourself to William IV in Albury for a pint of Shere Drop ale and definitely book in to Kinghams restaurant in Shere for dinner. The village is wonderful and the Nook is the only place worth staying in. We'll be coming back for sure, make sure you do the same! See you soon Chris and Jill!

Room Tip: Both the rooms in the Nook are wonderful, so don't worry which one you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were lucky enough to be able book in with Chris & Jill at the very last minute and we were not disappointed...

What a fabulous part of the world...stunning scenery, cool bike trails and the warmest welcome. From the delightful bedroom & homemade cookies we scoffed to the yummiest breakfast to get us going in the mornings, we couldn't have asked for more. Jill very kindly saved my rear end from permanent pain with a pair of padded cycle shorts!

Thanks for a perfect weekend and we will be back!!!

Kat & Nick

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bondsy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Rookery Nook is wonderful. Chris and Jill were the perfect hosts, they made us feel very welcome and looked after us throughout - from the amazing breakfasts to providing us with waterproof trousers for our walks, they really do make the stay special. There aren't enough positive words in the English language to describe the village of Shere and we wouldn't want to stay anywhere other than the Rookery Nook. Perfectly located, beautiful bedrooms and great company. We arrived on the Friday night and by the Sunday morning we'd already booked to come again.

Room Tip: The Downs View room has a beautiful view and a bookcase full of literary wonders!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We escaped for a weekend not far from home to the lovely village of Shere and absolutely loved it. The village itself is pretty and quaint and has some lovely places to have great food. Our stay was made all the better by staying at Rookery Nook. We felt very looked after. Jill and Chris were always really helpful with information about walks and places to visit as well as providing us with lots of cups of tea and a tasty breakfast each day. They are the perfect hosts and really made us feel at home and completely welcome. The rooms are well maintained and characterful. We will definitely be visiting again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Veeb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently spent a night at the lovely Rookery Nook in Shere, Surrey.

The B&B is situated in a historical old house right in the heart of the tiny picturesque village of Shere. On arrival we were given a warm welcome from Jill and were shown to our beautiful large bedroom at the front of the house. The B&B is very charming and full of character, Jill & Chris make great hosts and can offer plenty of advice for walking, eating, and drinking in the area. The full english breakfast is possibly the best I have had from any hotel, hostel, or B&B that i've stayed in.

Shere itself is very picturesque and very tiny, it doesnt take long to see all it has to offer, but there are lots of little paths leading off into the country side and surrounding Surrey hills. For dinner we ate at the William Bray, which is just around the corner from the Rookery Nook, and served up some decent grub. It proves to be a popular place to eat out in Shere so book ahead!

All in all we had a great time in Shere and would highly recommend the Rookery Nook if you are looking for accomodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TBakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a very belated review but when we think about our holiday to England, this home and village epitomise the halcyon days of our holiday memories. It is not just a bed for the night, it is the destination. An easy drive from Heathrow or Gatwick, and easy access to London, we will always use the Rookery Nook as a base if we are lucky enough to return, (but spend more time in the village and beautiful surrounds next time). The character filled house has a lovely, relaxed atmosphere in the heart of the picture postcard village. Chris and Jill went out of their way to accommodate our group and could not have been more helpful.

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely, but the view from the quaint windows out to the village and hills is extra sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shere
2.1 mi away
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Manor House Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Guildford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
3.1 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
5.4 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
3.3 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
3.3 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Nook B&B Shere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Nook B&B Shere

Property: Rookery Nook B&B Shere
Address: | The Square, Shere, Guildford GU5 9HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford > Shere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shere
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15th century B&B situated in the centre of this vibrant village in the heart of the Surrey Hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rookery Nook B&B Shere Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing