We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base camp!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in an upgraded (linen supplied) static caravan/chalet. The chalet was spotlessly clean and perfect. We reported 1 or 2 minor faults which were dealt with straight away, however the DVD unfortunately never appeared. We were in a new part of the site which isn't shown on google maps, which was in a lovely quiet area in a cul-de-sac (ideal for the children, ages 8 & 3, who were able to play out safely. I assume the majority of caravans in this area are privately owned as we were told the camp was fully booked but very few on this road were occupied. The campsite is fairly isolated, which didn't bother us. The sea has badly eroded the land along this stretch of beach and I wonder what changes there'll be in future when I visit.
Early evening entertainment was Bingo & childrens disco. If this appeals to you go early as the area is nowhere near big enough for the number of caravans they cater for. The amusement arcade sucks your money in , but it would have been nice to see an area for children to do activities that don't cost a lot (colouring, etc). Didn't go into the pool area at all.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the highest spec you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassaHexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for your review and I am pleased the faults you reported were dealt with efficiently. I think most guests can accept things can go wrong and when they do, guests can be assured that they will get our full attention. The park is often fully booked as it is a great location and extremely popular. You are right that the majority of caravans are privately owned as we are open for 12 months per year. Many of these owners actually give their caravan back to us when they’re not in use and we let them out so they can offset their running costs. The complex area does get busy on an evening and is very popular so all guests are advised to go early to get the best seats!
I hope we will see you again where you can be assured of a warm welcome.

Skipsea Sands Holiday Park
01262 468 210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,069 - 1,075 of 1,365 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

just got back yesterday from a weeks break at Skipsea Sands. Stayed in a platinum caravan and was very posh. The caravan was as warm as the house during the night and had luxury of having a bath in, ideal for the kids. The park was clean and tidy and friendly staff. Children loved the bowling, Soft play area and especially Sparky and the Krew performances.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle24081985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

It is really good to hear that the park was clean and that our team were friendly, we do work very hard in these areas. The team are motivated by such positive comments, so thank you once again and I hope we see you at Skipsea Sands in the future.

Skipsea Sands Holiday Park
01262 468 210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

No complaints whatsoever, yes its in the middle of nowhere, but most campsites are. Yes you don't get a good phone signal but then that's Yorkshire for you, but if you have a car and aren't expecting too much then you will get a very pleasant surprise.
Caravan was spotless and I'm fussy! I opted for sliver plus and it was really nice and had everything we needed.
The entertainment team worked their socks off each night and deserve a round of applause, they certainly had some patience with the kids.
The staff where very good with our kids and believe me, they are testing!
We went out and about in the day and then back for the entertainment at night and we would definitely return as it kept our kids busy and that's all that we can ask for.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen8785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for your honest review. Skipsea Sands holiday park is rural, but there is plenty to do on site and the entertainment team do work their socks off! The location is excellent for days out and tourist visits and I am very pleased to hear you would return.

Skipsea Sands Holiday Park
01262 468 210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

What has happened to Skipsea?? We stayed last year as friends of ours are owners and had a great holiday the park was clean, tidy all staff were friendly and welcoming but my goodness what a difference this year!!! We booked a bronze caravan as we just wanted a cheap brake away, we waited in an endless queue only to be told at 4:30 that our caravan still wasn't ready! The team all looked like they had the weight of the world on there shoulders and stressed! It's wasn't till 5:30 that our caravan was finished!! The park looked dirty and scruffy a complete contrast to last year! The only good point was the swimming pool which was the only area that actually looked like it had been cleaned!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sazjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately on your day of arrival we did experience a staff shortage due to a bout of cold. I am sorry this delayed the collection of your keys.

The majority of guests tell us we have very good park standards and they are pleased with this area of the business. That said, we do of course take your points on board and we will as always continue to improve.

Skipsea Sands Holiday Park
01262 468 210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

After looking forward to my holiday, checkin was hectic with caravans not being ready, which included mine. Could have done with being informed how long the delay was and even possibly something arranged for the children who did get bored with waiting. Reception staff were getting rather flustered and obviously fed up with chasing housekeeping.

Rather disappointed in the day time on site activities for children. I was informed that the lack of activities was due to it being off peak.

Drinks in the bar were rather pricey although there is a club next to the site that is much cheaper and had a wider selection.

A shame there is no direct access to the beach but not a lot the park can do about this.

Not somewhere I will be going again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayhgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your review and I am so sorry that your accommodation was not ready on time. We did have a number of staff call in sick and this did delay some units being ready. All guests are issued with an entertainment and sports and leisure activities guide that has a full programme of events – even out of peak season.
Finally I am pleased your accommodation was of good order. Due to our unexpected staff shortage we would rather be honest and issue keys late, than issue them on time resulting in an unsuitable unit of accommodation.
Skipsea Sands Holiday Park
01262 468 210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Was abit of a delay checking in due to staff shortages!! You can't get a fone signal!! Had to travel at least 8miles for the nearest decent shop which was Tesco....
Ok if u like staying on site for 4days and not site seeing!! Accomodation was quite good for standard...

Stayed: April 2014
Thank SARAHJW15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your review. As you say we did have an unexpected staff shortage due to a sickness bug. For all guests, we recommend that there is a Tesco in Hornsea, which is less than 15 minutes away. The on park shop is very well stocked and is reasonably priced.
The reception does stock a whole host of information on excellent local attractions which our regular guests thoroughly enjoy, I would advise all guests to ask in reception for advice on days away and local attractions.
Skipsea Sands Holiday Park
01262 468 210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

It didn't start well, but when we arrived the staff were snappy and unhelpful, the caravans were not ready and there wasn't any facilities worthy of using whilst we had to wait.

The shop on site is very expensive and only stocks the minimal of essentials.

The park is not suitable for small children, there are no baby swings!

The beach is no longer accessible (not park resorts fault)

The bowling alley only have heavy balls making it difficult for young children to join in.

The Pavillion diner / restaurant serves over priced food that is of poor microwave meal standards.

We had to wait five minutes to be served as nobody was behind the bar eventually the staff (bar staff and chef / cook) returned through the fire exit stinking of cigarettes.

The stench from the ladies toilets in the main entertainment room was unbearable, the lights don't work and there's locks missing off the doors.

The WiFi only works in the foyer of the complex which is a shame as there's nothing to do whist you are using it as Costa coffee was shut!

The main activities such as Archery wasn't on and the main bar in the Pavillion entertainment room wasn't open which meant you had to go into the other bar to get drinks.

On the positive...

The evening entertainment for the children was very good though, the whole team work exceptionally well to make the kids enjoy themselves.

The caravan when we eventually got one was clean and tidy.

The pool was very warm!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your review. On your arrival day we did unfortunately have a number of team call in sick, which caused a delay in some units being ready on time. We are of course very sorry for this however, it was an unforeseen and unexpected situation.
Whilst I am disappointed and surprised with your comments regarding the facilities, I do take these on board and will of course use then for further staff training.
Skipsea Sands Holiday Park
01262 468 210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipsea
6.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
240 reviews
2 mi away
Barmston Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts
6.2 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 117 in Bridlington
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Sand le Mere Holiday Village
5.4 mi away
Beachside B&B
Beachside B&B
#2 of 8 in Hornsea
66 reviews
5.8 mi away
Marston's Inn Lobster Pot
Marston's Inn Lobster Pot
#7 of 30 in Bridlington
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Mill Lane, Skipsea YO25 8TZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Skipsea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Skipsea
Price Range: $11 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and PitchUp so you can book your Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Hotel Skipsea
Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing