We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definately return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Reviewed April 12, 2014

No complaints whatsoever, yes its in the middle of nowhere, but most campsites are. Yes you don't get a good phone signal but then that's Yorkshire for you, but if you have a car and aren't expecting too much then you will get a very pleasant surprise.
Caravan was spotless and I'm fussy! I opted for sliver plus and it was really nice and had everything we needed.
The entertainment team worked their socks off each night and deserve a round of applause, they certainly had some patience with the kids.
The staff where very good with our kids and believe me, they are testing!
We went out and about in the day and then back for the entertainment at night and we would definitely return as it kept our kids busy and that's all that we can ask for.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen8785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for your honest review. Skipsea Sands holiday park is rural, but there is plenty to do on site and the entertainment team do work their socks off! The location is excellent for days out and tourist visits and I am very pleased to hear you would return.

Skipsea Sands Holiday Park
01262 468 210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,071 - 1,077 of 1,365 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

What has happened to Skipsea?? We stayed last year as friends of ours are owners and had a great holiday the park was clean, tidy all staff were friendly and welcoming but my goodness what a difference this year!!! We booked a bronze caravan as we just wanted a cheap brake away, we waited in an endless queue only to be told at 4:30 that our caravan still wasn't ready! The team all looked like they had the weight of the world on there shoulders and stressed! It's wasn't till 5:30 that our caravan was finished!! The park looked dirty and scruffy a complete contrast to last year! The only good point was the swimming pool which was the only area that actually looked like it had been cleaned!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sazjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately on your day of arrival we did experience a staff shortage due to a bout of cold. I am sorry this delayed the collection of your keys.

The majority of guests tell us we have very good park standards and they are pleased with this area of the business. That said, we do of course take your points on board and we will as always continue to improve.

Skipsea Sands Holiday Park
01262 468 210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

After looking forward to my holiday, checkin was hectic with caravans not being ready, which included mine. Could have done with being informed how long the delay was and even possibly something arranged for the children who did get bored with waiting. Reception staff were getting rather flustered and obviously fed up with chasing housekeeping.

Rather disappointed in the day time on site activities for children. I was informed that the lack of activities was due to it being off peak.

Drinks in the bar were rather pricey although there is a club next to the site that is much cheaper and had a wider selection.

A shame there is no direct access to the beach but not a lot the park can do about this.

Not somewhere I will be going again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayhgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your review and I am so sorry that your accommodation was not ready on time. We did have a number of staff call in sick and this did delay some units being ready. All guests are issued with an entertainment and sports and leisure activities guide that has a full programme of events – even out of peak season.
Finally I am pleased your accommodation was of good order. Due to our unexpected staff shortage we would rather be honest and issue keys late, than issue them on time resulting in an unsuitable unit of accommodation.
Skipsea Sands Holiday Park
01262 468 210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Was abit of a delay checking in due to staff shortages!! You can't get a fone signal!! Had to travel at least 8miles for the nearest decent shop which was Tesco....
Ok if u like staying on site for 4days and not site seeing!! Accomodation was quite good for standard...

Stayed: April 2014
Thank SARAHJW15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your review. As you say we did have an unexpected staff shortage due to a sickness bug. For all guests, we recommend that there is a Tesco in Hornsea, which is less than 15 minutes away. The on park shop is very well stocked and is reasonably priced.
The reception does stock a whole host of information on excellent local attractions which our regular guests thoroughly enjoy, I would advise all guests to ask in reception for advice on days away and local attractions.
Skipsea Sands Holiday Park
01262 468 210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

It didn't start well, but when we arrived the staff were snappy and unhelpful, the caravans were not ready and there wasn't any facilities worthy of using whilst we had to wait.

The shop on site is very expensive and only stocks the minimal of essentials.

The park is not suitable for small children, there are no baby swings!

The beach is no longer accessible (not park resorts fault)

The bowling alley only have heavy balls making it difficult for young children to join in.

The Pavillion diner / restaurant serves over priced food that is of poor microwave meal standards.

We had to wait five minutes to be served as nobody was behind the bar eventually the staff (bar staff and chef / cook) returned through the fire exit stinking of cigarettes.

The stench from the ladies toilets in the main entertainment room was unbearable, the lights don't work and there's locks missing off the doors.

The WiFi only works in the foyer of the complex which is a shame as there's nothing to do whist you are using it as Costa coffee was shut!

The main activities such as Archery wasn't on and the main bar in the Pavillion entertainment room wasn't open which meant you had to go into the other bar to get drinks.

On the positive...

The evening entertainment for the children was very good though, the whole team work exceptionally well to make the kids enjoy themselves.

The caravan when we eventually got one was clean and tidy.

The pool was very warm!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your review. On your arrival day we did unfortunately have a number of team call in sick, which caused a delay in some units being ready on time. We are of course very sorry for this however, it was an unforeseen and unexpected situation.
Whilst I am disappointed and surprised with your comments regarding the facilities, I do take these on board and will of course use then for further staff training.
Skipsea Sands Holiday Park
01262 468 210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed at skipsea sands in June 2012, we had a fantastic stay my daughter loved everything about it, the entertainment in the day & evenings is absolutely fantastic for the kids and families my little girl was ready for bed every night after all the fun she had lol!!
We stayed in our tent and the wash facilities were very clean and well maintained. We had a pitch facing the park area which was very handy for my daughter.
We had that much of a fab time we have booked to go back this June for a week my daughter can't wait, keep up the excellent work :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Barlowsbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your review. We have a new tent and touring warden for 2014 who is doing an excellent job and the feedback from our touring and tent guests has been excellent! I will ensure to pass on your kind comments.
We hope to see you back here soon at Skipsea Sands.
Skipsea Sands Holiday Park
01262 468 210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My family holiday started with a 40 minute delay check-in as the caravan was not ready.

There was no day time activities such as archery and crossbow, which was one of the reasons why we chose Park Resorts. Even though advertised on their website we were informed that it was off peak even though it was the first week if school holidays!

Bowling alley only had heavy balls available, which made it impossible for my 9 year old son to bowl.

It was impossible to watch the show as off duty staff gathered at door way making it impossible to see the stage. Even when asked to move, which they did for a few minutes, they were soon back blocking the view.

The only good thing was the caravan which was lovely and clean.

Would not recommend this resort. We will stick to Haven in future.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Vickib2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your review, I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations. Unfortunately we did have a number of our accommodation team off which unfortunately resulted in a delay of some units being ready on time.
I will remind all staff to remind guests not to block the view of seated guests, thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Thank you once again for your valuable feedback which as always will be used for further staff training and development.
Skipsea Sands Holiday Park
01262 468 210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipsea
6.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
239 reviews
21.4 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
132 reviews
2 mi away
Barmston Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Sand le Mere Holiday Village
6.2 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 117 in Bridlington
437 reviews
5.4 mi away
Beachside B&B
Beachside B&B
#2 of 8 in Hornsea
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Mill Lane, Skipsea YO25 8TZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Skipsea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Skipsea
Price Range: $11 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and PitchUp so you can book your Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Hotel Skipsea
Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing