We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smashing venue and food £90 for using there car park!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of the George Inn

the George Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This is an Inn with a restaurant.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“smashing venue and food £90 for using there car park!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

lovely staff and food smashing location only down side is you must tell them when you book that you are going to use there car park or you get a £90 fine through the post a week later with a photo of your car

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wjpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    26
    20
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not the most welcoming”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We visited the George Inn for a drink as the bar in our hotel was closed and found the atmosphere quite intimidating and unwelcoming. I was glad it was not our hotel.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Easter”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at the White Hart Hotel opposite the George, but ate and drank at the George (good range of real ales ) both good value for the money, we were made very welcome by the Manager and staff. Full most nights eating and drinking, must be doing something right. Well done.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeicestershireYoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were 12 for a meal. This is a combined review from two of us.
Room was cold.
Food was very slow in coming. They were not busy, this was a Monday evening.
Several menu items were out of stock in spite of 2 days notice of the booking.
The grilled prawns were in edible.
The service was poor and often intrusive.
The salad was minute.
The liver paté was excellent.
The menu was very limited.
The sticky toffee pudding was disappointing.
The creme bruleé was OK.
The chicken was quite good.
Drinks etc. were good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Put off by bad service”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We are big Midsomer Murders fans and we visited the George as part of a pilgrimage to some of the filming locations. We had planned to have lunch there but were put off by surly bar staff who looked like she wanted to be anywhere else but in the pub. It was a real letdown as the place has real appeal and seems to have good reviews

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the George Inn also viewed

Dorchester-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Dorchester-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Dorchester-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Burcot, Oxfordshire
 

Been to the George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing