We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend away”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Hart Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice weekend away”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We booked this for a weekend away with friends. We got an excellent deal with dinner and breakfast included. The hotel is full of old beams and has a roaring fire in the bar. We were given room 7 which had a four poster bed. Bathroom was modern and clean. The evening food menu was limited and if you don't gave dinner included I would suggest you try elsewhere. The staff were helpful and friendly. The local area is very sweet, little cottages, big houses on the Thames and it's own Abbey. Sadly the hotel does not have a garden, I guess what was a garden is now the car park. We enjoyed our stay and would return, but would eat elsewhere in the evening. Enjoy
Oh, the Wi Fi is a bit random not that it was an issue for us

Room Tip: Room 7 has a four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendiedouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    214
    54
    9
    9
See reviews for
59
425
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed at the White Hart for two nights on a Travelzoo deal. We enjoyed our stay very much. All the staff worked extremely hard and were very friendly, helpful and approachable. The food was delicious and well presented. Our room was at the front of the hotel and was lovely and large with a very comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. We will seriously consider visiting again.

Room Tip: The hotel is on the main road in the village so if this bothers you ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 079Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

My husband, two friends and I had a two night break through Travelzoo including entry to Blenheim Palace. This included two dinners as well as bed and breakfast. The staff were all very pleasant and friendly. The rooms were very well appointed, comfortable beds, efficient showers, large soft towels. The food, both breakfast and dinner, was very good. The hotel was an old inn so it had more character than many hotels we have stayed at. I stayed in the main building and the wi fi reception was excellent. There was a car park. The area was very attractive, with several National Trust places to visit, as well as Oxford close by.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor (there is no lift) but it was not too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigtrippertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Not very pleased with the wifi, quite important when you backpacking, no effort to fix it. The rooms where alright though. The breakfast was ok, no more, no less. The hotel was not worth it's price. If I would go there again, I would stay at fleur de lys!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattias J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed with a party of 11. Everyone commented that they enjoyed their stay.
The hotel rooms were clean and well appointed. The staff friendly and helpful and the food was excellent.
There was a wide selection of food at breakfast and the menu for dinner catered for everyone's taste, was well presented and tasted delicious.
The only downside was the lack of drawer space storage in the single room.
I will certainly stay there again and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CVNobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Lovely hotel, the staff were very friendly & helpful. Excellent value for money, exceeded our expectations as we had booked an offer for a couple of nights. Would recommend this hotel & hope to go again as didn't have time to look around the other villages featured in Midsomer Murders. Good access to Oxford by bus running every half an hour, X39 & X40.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very comfortable hotel spotlessly clean.very attentive and helpful staff and a breakfast to die for!!!
Planning to stay here again.
Very handy for the Abbey and Bleinheim/Oxford.
WE didn't eat in the hotel but chose the Fleur de Ly a few yards away which was supberb.

Room Tip: Take a back room in the main building which are quieter.Walls are a bit thin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mugwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester-on-Thames
3.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
246 reviews
24.3 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
511 reviews
8.9 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
5.9 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
1.8 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 26 High Street, Dorchester-on-Thames OX10 7HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Dorchester-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorchester-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel dates back to 1691 and is situated in the "chocolate box" village of Dorchester on Thames in Oxfordshire. The hotel's 28 bedrooms retain all the character of the old coaching inn whilst providing the requirements for today's modern traveller. The restaurant has been awarded an AA Rosette for fresh food dining and offers a delicious a la carte menu as well as a 3 course fixed price Market Menu. Car Parking is free and CCTV monitored. Dorchester on Thames nestles on the banks of the Thames between Henley and Oxford and is an ideal starting point for visits to Oxford City, Blenheim Palace, the Thames Pathway, Bicester Designer Shopping Village, and many Stately Homes and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Dorchester-On-Thames, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing