We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, characterful, friendly - generally a nice old place!”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Hart Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights, Thursday and Friday evening, in late August.

Location: In a chocolate box village where you can walk to the river

Reception: straight forward, quick, friendly and possibly a little too trusting which makes a very refreshing change

Room: quaint and characterful, clean, comfortable and had everything that we required. TV, telephone, radio alarm, toiletries etc. Shower was very powerful and hot, Towels were bath sheets (although one was getting a little worn) Bed was comfy. Décor was good. Our room was at the front of the hotel next to the road but noise was not an issue (although there was one early morning delivery to the nearby co-op shop).
This is an old 16thC coaching inn with all the charm one might expect: differing levels, squeaky floors, plenty of wood frame and white walls. Hilton DD it is not, but then, if that was what you require you need to visit the Hilton (and pay the extra).

Bar: V Friendly staff, reasonable prices (not London) real ale (although I never tried it). There was a mixture of chair seating, stools and comfy sofas, TV and cosy corners

Dining: Choice of two dining rooms – formal or informal – Staff were attentive and very friendly (all staff throughout the hotel were handpicked).
Meals were excellent with a good choice for breakfast including a good fresh fruit salad. Evening meals were a treat and my only criticism can be that my fish was slightly overcooked.

Providing you don’t visit expecting large, modern contemporary spaces, balconies and sliding patio doors you will enjoy the hotel

Would I stay again – Most definitely!

Would I recommend the experience – Yes most definitely!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garymillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 724 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I had part of our wedding reception here following our wedding abroad. We had a 3 course meal for us and our 45 family members. Everyone commented on how lovely the food was and the restaurant looked lovely. All members of staff were friendly and helpful. We were really impressed and we think that the hotel should advertise more for weddings as the hall next door was a perfect evening reception and altogether our wedding was great value for money and we had a fantastic time.

Thank you very much :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

arrived saturday 3pm room was ready ,freshened up ,then in bar for drinks &snack made very welcome by sean &all the staff .friends joined us for the evening meal though they were not staying at the hotel were made welcome and had an excellent meal .stayed 2nights and will be returning ,thanks to all staff at the white hart

Room Tip: worth upgrading to executive suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neville a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel was booked on a Travelzoo deal that included tickets to Blenheim and a 10% off voucher for Bicester and represented excellent value for money with a £23 allowance for the evening meal if anyone wanted to go a la carte. There was also a special offer of £12 on the wine.

The hotel dates back to 1691 and is very atmospheric with its uneven creaky floors and stairs but cobwebs are not necessary to complete the olde worlde effect. Maintenance is always going to be a problem in a place this old and they sorted out the minor problems quickly but the failure of the bathroom fan in room 5 ("the fan is on order from Italy") made the room dank and smelly.

There were 4 couples meeting together for the first time in 30 years so they gave us the private dining room. Starters and desserts were fine but the mains, both table d'hote and a la carte were a bit hit and miss. However, the breakfasts were excellent with eggs cooked to individual pernickety requirements.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the Manager's upbeat approach in the mornings was appreciated but the star of the show must be the evening shift 'Jackie of All Trades' - Annie. So keen to help her "dears" and "darlings".

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed there recently for two nights with some friends who had booked this hotel through Travelzoo. Great place to stay with good walks through the Oxfordshire counrtyside. The food was excellent, both evening and breakfast. The staff were welcoming and friendly. Had the added bonus of tickets to Blenheim Palace. Would recommend this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choochoo60007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the White Hart and it was wonderful. There is private parking at the back of the hotel which is always a bonus. The staff were lovely and welcoming, very polite and always there with a smile. Booking in and out was quick and easy.

The hotel has a lot of character, it has traditional cottage features even in the bedrooms, and the bar is very warm and cosy. Our room was about the right size for a couple, and the bathroom was very nice with a good sized bath and shower. Next time we have decided to try an executive room with it's only an extra £10 a night and the standard room is a bit of a weird shape. Nothing wrong with it but the shape makes it appear smaller. Our room came with a good sized TV, double bed and standard hotel room features (wardrobe, hair drier, plenty of towels etc).

The restaurant is well worth trying if you are staying here. We ate breakfast here everyday since it was included in the price. They offer a full English and also the choice to pick and choose items if you don't want everything. They also have a good range of cereals and pastries, fruit and yoghurt to help yourself to. If you are booked into the hotel they will even have place names on your table each morning. We ate dinner at the hotel for one night and the food was great. We were seated in the bar while the staff got our table ready and all the bar staff were lovely and accommodating. The portions of the food are quite large. I was expecting smaller portions because of the type of restaurant (usually pricey and barely any food!) and so ordered a side, but I couldn't manage it all because the portions are big. The quality of the food is great. I had a pasta dish and my partner had a burger, both were excellent. They have a usual dessert menu which was also very nice. All the food was well presented. The prices were a little steep, but after eating the meal it was worth every penny. Very enjoyable.

The hotel itself is situated in a lovely little village with a small museum and nice countryside walks.

Overall, the price of the hotel was excellent (booked through bookings.com), our experience was perfect and I would go back there in a second. It is only 10 minutes away from the park and ride into Oxford, and is in such a lovely location. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharleyYpres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights, having booked through Travelzoo, which included tickets to Blenheim Palace. Lovely location with walks through the Oxfordshire countryside and also the setting for several Midsomer Murders programmes.We ate from the Market Menu on both evenings and the food was beautifully cooked, as was breakfast!The staff in reception and dining room are very friendly and welcoming.We would certainly recommend this hotel and restaurant and hope to return.

Room Tip: We were allocated the Blenheim room,upstairs at the front. Nice roomy double and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinnie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester-on-Thames
0.1 mi away
George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames
George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thame...
#2 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
277 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
682 reviews
5.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
254 reviews
14.9 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Wantage
187 reviews
6.9 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: 26 High Street, Dorchester-on-Thames OX10 7HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Dorchester-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorchester-on-Thames
Price Range: $107 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel dates back to 1691 and is situated in the "chocolate box" village of Dorchester on Thames in Oxfordshire. The hotel's 28 bedrooms retain all the character of the old coaching inn whilst providing the requirements for today's modern traveller. The restaurant has been awarded an AA Rosette for fresh food dining and offers a delicious a la carte menu as well as a 3 course fixed price Market Menu. Car Parking is free and CCTV monitored. Dorchester on Thames nestles on the banks of the Thames between Henley and Oxford and is an ideal starting point for visits to Oxford City, Blenheim Palace, the Thames Pathway, Bicester Designer Shopping Village, and many Stately Homes and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Dorchester-On-Thames, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing