We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, atmospheric and very good breakfasts”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Hart Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel was booked on a Travelzoo deal that included tickets to Blenheim and a 10% off voucher for Bicester and represented excellent value for money with a £23 allowance for the evening meal if anyone wanted to go a la carte. There was also a special offer of £12 on the wine.

The hotel dates back to 1691 and is very atmospheric with its uneven creaky floors and stairs but cobwebs are not necessary to complete the olde worlde effect. Maintenance is always going to be a problem in a place this old and they sorted out the minor problems quickly but the failure of the bathroom fan in room 5 ("the fan is on order from Italy") made the room dank and smelly.

There were 4 couples meeting together for the first time in 30 years so they gave us the private dining room. Starters and desserts were fine but the mains, both table d'hote and a la carte were a bit hit and miss. However, the breakfasts were excellent with eggs cooked to individual pernickety requirements.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the Manager's upbeat approach in the mornings was appreciated but the star of the show must be the evening shift 'Jackie of All Trades' - Annie. So keen to help her "dears" and "darlings".

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 719 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed there recently for two nights with some friends who had booked this hotel through Travelzoo. Great place to stay with good walks through the Oxfordshire counrtyside. The food was excellent, both evening and breakfast. The staff were welcoming and friendly. Had the added bonus of tickets to Blenheim Palace. Would recommend this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choochoo60007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the White Hart and it was wonderful. There is private parking at the back of the hotel which is always a bonus. The staff were lovely and welcoming, very polite and always there with a smile. Booking in and out was quick and easy.

The hotel has a lot of character, it has traditional cottage features even in the bedrooms, and the bar is very warm and cosy. Our room was about the right size for a couple, and the bathroom was very nice with a good sized bath and shower. Next time we have decided to try an executive room with it's only an extra £10 a night and the standard room is a bit of a weird shape. Nothing wrong with it but the shape makes it appear smaller. Our room came with a good sized TV, double bed and standard hotel room features (wardrobe, hair drier, plenty of towels etc).

The restaurant is well worth trying if you are staying here. We ate breakfast here everyday since it was included in the price. They offer a full English and also the choice to pick and choose items if you don't want everything. They also have a good range of cereals and pastries, fruit and yoghurt to help yourself to. If you are booked into the hotel they will even have place names on your table each morning. We ate dinner at the hotel for one night and the food was great. We were seated in the bar while the staff got our table ready and all the bar staff were lovely and accommodating. The portions of the food are quite large. I was expecting smaller portions because of the type of restaurant (usually pricey and barely any food!) and so ordered a side, but I couldn't manage it all because the portions are big. The quality of the food is great. I had a pasta dish and my partner had a burger, both were excellent. They have a usual dessert menu which was also very nice. All the food was well presented. The prices were a little steep, but after eating the meal it was worth every penny. Very enjoyable.

The hotel itself is situated in a lovely little village with a small museum and nice countryside walks.

Overall, the price of the hotel was excellent (booked through bookings.com), our experience was perfect and I would go back there in a second. It is only 10 minutes away from the park and ride into Oxford, and is in such a lovely location. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharleyYpres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights, having booked through Travelzoo, which included tickets to Blenheim Palace. Lovely location with walks through the Oxfordshire countryside and also the setting for several Midsomer Murders programmes.We ate from the Market Menu on both evenings and the food was beautifully cooked, as was breakfast!The staff in reception and dining room are very friendly and welcoming.We would certainly recommend this hotel and restaurant and hope to return.

Room Tip: We were allocated the Blenheim room,upstairs at the front. Nice roomy double and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinnie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked through Travelzoo offers. There were several hotels to choose from but we have chosen the White Hart hotel. It's a historic place where there were lots of 16th century cottages around the area of the hotel. We stayed for 2nights and the food was excellent on both evenings. We must say it's value for money. Staff were very helpful, welcoming and friendly. Good recommendation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the White Hart and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and our room which was full of character and very comfortable provided every thing we needed. We had upgraded to the suite and were not disappointed. Dinner on both evenings was first class and I can particularly recommend the 'assiette of desserts' to share. We had chosen to go a la carte but the market menu looked fabulous too. Breakfast was equally good with lots of great choices.

The Travelzoo deal we were on included tickets to Blenheim Palace. What a wonderful day out! We spent about 6 hours there and still hadn't seen everything there was to see. This hotel was an excellent base for exploring. We used the park and ride to go to Oxford and enjoyed a walking tour which really brought the place to life. Would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it without question.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We arrived early after a nightmare journey, only to be told, in an unfriendly manner, that our room wasn't ready. We accepted that, and decide to have some lunch in the hotel's bar. We ordered roast turkey and cranberry sandwiches, and were served turkey ham and cranberry. When we said that we ordered roast turkey, we were told it was turkey ham, and the packet was waved in front of us as proof that it was turkey ham.

When we finally checked-in, the form was placed in front of us without a word of welcome. It may be that the staff were more engrossed in the computer system than their guests. On the positive side, the breakfast could not be faulted. On the second day, we noticed damp on the floor, and notified reception immediately. We were told that the manager was not available and the problem would be dealt with on his return. When we returned from our evening meal, at another establishment. We found the floor covered in towels. We explained that I was asthmatic and should not sleep in damp conditions. The receptionist explain other guest had been moved to other rooms and there were no further rooms available, but the manager would sort something out.

When we checked the following morning, I was presented with bill in full. When I explained the circumstances, a reduction was made. Unfortunately, because to the manner of the reception and treatment we received, I cannot recommend the hotel to anyone

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank janikaforjustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Reviewer

We always fully appreciate constructive feedback from our guests.

I realise that your upset on arrival after your car accident was compounded by our mistake by a younger member of our team serving you the wrong product as a replacement

I am disappointed that your review indicates your dissatisfaction upon check out . I was under the impression that we had successfully explained our problem with the flooded bathroom in the adjacent room and that as we were full our inability to offer you another room.

We always endeavour to exceed our guest’s expectations.

Thankfully it is very rare a wheel falls off, and even rarer we are unable to satisfy.

Sean Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester-on-Thames
8.9 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
635 reviews
5.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
672 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
5.9 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: 26 High Street, Dorchester-on-Thames OX10 7HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Dorchester-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorchester-on-Thames
Price Range: $90 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel dates back to 1691 and is situated in the "chocolate box" village of Dorchester on Thames in Oxfordshire. The hotel's 28 bedrooms retain all the character of the old coaching inn whilst providing the requirements for today's modern traveller. The restaurant has been awarded an AA Rosette for fresh food dining and offers a delicious a la carte menu as well as a 3 course fixed price Market Menu. Car Parking is free and CCTV monitored. Dorchester on Thames nestles on the banks of the Thames between Henley and Oxford and is an ideal starting point for visits to Oxford City, Blenheim Palace, the Thames Pathway, Bicester Designer Shopping Village, and many Stately Homes and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Dorchester-On-Thames, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing