We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“August 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Hart Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“August 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Apologies for late review

Stayed here as two couples in Aug 2012.

Travelzoo deal, £198 per couple for 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast plus free tickets to Blenheim Palace

Food was very good, fine dining first night, harvest menu second night. Harvest is very very good quality food, not able to be described as pub grub as its far better!

Breakfasts good too

Room was fine, clean tidy and spacious. Service and friendliness good

Unbelievable value

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilbo3427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    208
    51
    9
    9
See reviews for
56
413
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Booked a two day break at this hotel through Travelzoo, and although this was a discounted deal, both my wife and I considered this excellent value for money at full price and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We paid a small amount for a room upgarde and were given a suit on the top floor which was extremely comfortable. We can only repeat what others have said, a great hotel with staff and food to match.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just had an wonderful weekend away at this hotel. Bags of character, friendly staff and really excellent food.We opted for a suit and was given one at the back by the car park, so nice and quiet. Would deffinately recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Go for a suites if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I can only reiterate the review below.
My husband & I also stayed for 3 nights over New Year and had a super time. The staff were lovely and made us feel really at home. The food was excellent and our room gorgeous and cosy. The New year's Eve "do" was great fun too.

Unfortunately we didn't get in the walking we had planned as much of the local riverside areas were flooded. Nevertheless we had a lovely time and hope to return.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone- it was one of the best hotel stays we have ever had.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonviveur01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night break to see in the New Year with a group of friends.
What a great time we had Ali (from the valley) and her team were all so friendly and helpful they made us all feel so welcome. Can-not fault the accommodation, the service or the food.
The celebration to see the New Year in was great just like one big family party.
We are looking to see if we can return later in the year. a lovely Hotel in a lovely village and so close to lots of places to visit. Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petwen1324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
252 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is great. Very friendly staff, roaring log fires and quirky rooms with sloping floors and beams everywhere. Lots of free parking round the back of the hotel was good with only a very short walk to reception. The food in the restaurant was good too although the choice of beer in the bar is a bit lacking for a real ale enthusiast. The only downside is that our room on the front of the hotel was noisy. There is a co-op opposite which seemed to have extremely early and noisy deliveries and the hotel sign which was right outside our window creaked all night on the last windy night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adobeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auch, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

WHAT CAN WE SAY, this was one of the best Christmas packages we have been on (3 nights) The Staff were wonderfull, the food great, & the hotel had such atmospherer, with what you would exspect from a hotel of this age. The rooms we had was quiet & warm with plenty of space, clean & tidy. Plenty of parking in a great location. Must be worth a visit at any time of the year, we will be. back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester-on-Thames
8.9 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
24.3 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
3.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
5.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.8 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 26 High Street, Dorchester-on-Thames OX10 7HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Dorchester-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorchester-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel dates back to 1691 and is situated in the "chocolate box" village of Dorchester on Thames in Oxfordshire. The hotel's 28 bedrooms retain all the character of the old coaching inn whilst providing the requirements for today's modern traveller. The restaurant has been awarded an AA Rosette for fresh food dining and offers a delicious a la carte menu as well as a 3 course fixed price Market Menu. Car Parking is free and CCTV monitored. Dorchester on Thames nestles on the banks of the Thames between Henley and Oxford and is an ideal starting point for visits to Oxford City, Blenheim Palace, the Thames Pathway, Bicester Designer Shopping Village, and many Stately Homes and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Dorchester-On-Thames, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing