We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice, welcoming stay”

White Hart Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“A nice, welcoming stay”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We booked 2 nights as part of my wifes' Birthday Celebrations. I also secretly asked for them to arrange for flowers and a birthday cake to "appear" on the appropriate day, which duly happened and both were of a very good standard. Very pleasing. The meals we had on each night were very nice and left us pleasantly full. We even had a quick burst of Happy Birthday to you from two of the staff as they brought out the cake. Thank you, ladies!! Breakfast too, was well presented and sufficient to set us up for our visit to Blenheim Palace one day and Oxford the next before returning home. The building itself is very homely and has lots of timber beams loaded with age and character and quirky twists and turns in the corridors leading to the bedrooms. The one thing I would change is the bath in room 7, it is too narrow to stand in comfortably for a shower and has definitely seen better days. Thank you and well done to everyone for making our stay at The White Hart such a pleasant one.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    35
    20
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of my favourite restaurants!!”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We last visited the White Hart Restaurant mid April 2012. As usual the staff and food were brilliant!! It is so relaxing and friendly.

At Christmas we treated our family (16 of us, including 6 children) to a meal at this Hotel - it was fantastic - would recommend to everyone......

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect short break”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed for two nights, having visited Oxford on the day of arrival and Blenheim Palace the next day.
Lovely village, the hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff were exceptionally welcoming, always cheerful and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
We had breakfast and dinner on each day and the food was excellently cooked and presented.
If every hotel operated this way in the UK, we would struggle to handle the tourists....
I am sure that foreign visitors would be over the moon.
Thanks again and we will recommend you to our friends.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianBStoke_on_Trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Had a meal with friends at the White Hart Hotel's AA Rosette Awarded Restaurant in Dorchester-on-Thames

Even though it was a busy Saturday evening, the service was good, the food delicious and an atmosphere that one would expect from such a delightful venue.

We were not staying at the Hotel, but from casual inspection it looked charming. The building was formally a 16th Century Coaching Inn and is now a 28 bedroom Hotel, located within easy reach of the tourist sites in oxford

Even if you don't book a room at the Hotel, try the restaurant - you will not be disappointed

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank r_smith640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Cannot fault”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

On arrival we had a drink in the bar. Prices were reasonable and the service and welcome was excellent. There aren't that many places like this which are as hospitable any more.

We had a 3 course dinner and I would say that the food was excellent (portion sizes were good, so much so I struggled to finish all three) and service very good. We were made to feel very welcome. The Tempura Tiger Prawns were particularly good as was the chicken wrapped in Parma ham. It is not the cheapest of gastro pub style/restaurant places to eat, but the food was very good.

The bar and restaurant are very nice, old traditional with a bit of modern. There are lots of low ceilings and beams and open fires.

Worth booking in advance as it was fully booked that evening.

Only downside is that the car park at the back is a little small, however there appears to be ample on street parking.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bionicgrasshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Hart Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Dorchester-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Burcot, Oxfordshire
 
Dorchester-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Dorchester-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 

Been to White Hart Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing