We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would stay here again”
Review of White Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Rose Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Askrigg B&B and Inns
Cottingham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We would stay here again”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in November 2012. It was a three nights for the price of two deal and was very good value. We enjoyed our stay. Some of the previous comments that it was bad were, in our view, an overreaction and seem to be made by persons who have made very few reviews. Comments made by Senior Reviewers/Senior Contributors seem to give a much more balanced view.
We were given Room 1 which was a superior en suite room with a king size bed. The room was a good size and large enough to accommodate a small sitting area with two armchairs in front of a tv. The windows were not double glazed and we could hear traffic pass by occasionally from about 7.30 am onwards but many people start getting up in a morning at this time anyway.
The staff were friendly. At breakfast the scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon were very good but the mushrooms and tomato needed to be cooked in less oil.
We had evening meals in the restaurant and there was a good choice. At this time of the year the menu included fresh pheasant and grouse and these were cooked just right. We also tried the supreme chicken and the rack of lamb and the quality, again, was excellent. A main course was between £10-£15 (we noted that the Kings Arms opposite charged more) and the price for a bottle of sauvignon blanc was very reasonable.
To some, the landlady may have a stern look but when talking to her she was pleasant and helpful. She mentioned the views from the hotel and we were allowed to freely go into several unoccupied rooms to see these. The rooms we saw were probably superior rooms but were very spacious and had views towards the countryside.
The hotel web site does not mention that it has a car park. It does have a car park for about 12 cars at the rear of the hotel and this is reached by a narrow winding accessway at the side of the hotel.
We talked briefly to a Dutch gentleman and he stays about three times a year at The White Rose. I think that tells its own story. We are quite happy to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacCottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    59
    23
    11
    15
See reviews for
20
81
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Don't know why the other reviews are so awful, but we had a great time, stay on the 3 for 2 break, really good value for money. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were fantastic, loads to choose from, cereal, full English toast Tea & Coffee. The Evening meals are really good and great value for money. The Specials board changes regularly. Will definately go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Having read other posts i can confirm the landlady needs a personality transplant.
Parts of the hotel are looking a little tired but the cleaner does a good job so cleanliness was not an issue
The food was ok but a little pricey for the area there is better and cheaper food to be had in the pub just up the road
I asked if the hotel had wifi and was told yes but it was just for them to use, not very helpful when mobile phone connection is virtually non existant in the whole area.
The room we had was just above the front entrance and stunk of smoke as there was lots of smokers always standing outside the enterance despite a smoking shelter at the rear.
Dont stop here if you want a good nights sleep the noise was unberable and the locals use the hotel bar for after hours drinking with lots of shouting and swearing right below my window meaning no sleep was posible until 2-2.30 on more than one occasion would not stay again under any circumstances do yourself a favor and find somewhere else to stay,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Askrigg hotels

leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

we went for a meal with family 6 in total ,on entrance to the inn the women owner was harsh, rude, abrupt not friendly at all.
however the meal was excellent, the waiting staff very attentive and polite,and the place was clean and warm just a pity the owner was not ,,
would i go back ha ha ha ,, i think not ,,
go to the crown it just up the road a lot nicer people

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nitram y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I booked to stay Friday 14th & Saturday 15th September 2012 as a weekend getaway.
The Hotel looked ok from ouTside but things went down hill as soon as we went to reception.
The womean on reception was not very friendly and did the bare minmum to assist.
When we got up to our room it again looked ok until I found a medical tablet next the bed from a previous gest - the cleaning of the room prior to our arrival was obviously not carried out thorough enough.
We ate out in nearby Leyburn that night and returned about 09:45 to find the restaraunt full - a good sign we thought.
We went to our room to retire for the night and no sooner had we got to our room than we heard a man on micophone which resonated straight into our room.
Then loud music started.
After 45 minutes I went down to recepton to enquire as to how long this would continue.
I was met by a torent of abuse for the landlady and told if I/we did not like it we should pack our bags and leave there and then.
This I refused to do and instead we toughed the night out and again went to reception the next morning to check out given the poor treatment the night before.
We refused to pay full price as we were not stopping for breakfast and also a token deduction for the poor nights sleep.
The receptionist told us that unless we paid in full we would not be allowed to leave.
After speaking to the Hotel owner we came to an agreement and left.
After recanting our tale to another local B&B it turns out that this is not an isolated incidence and the Landlady has a history of poor service to her guests.

DO NOT STAY HERE UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES!!

Room Tip: Book rooms to the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Been a while since I was here, so we decided to try as were passing. Same miserable landlady, she needs a personality transplant, however that would never affect my opinion of a place.
The beef was the toughest I have ever encountered, chips were scag ends, absolute rubbish, I don't know how they have the nerve to serve this up.
Place is dreary, with the carpet patched together, you could put up with this and the miserable staff if the food was good.....it wasn't.
I would not return here for free.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Visited this hotel for dinner when staying in the area, and have to say find reviews rather harsh. Sure it is a bit tired, but get over that, and the staff are friendly, and there is good old fashioned entertainment such as darts and pool. The fish and chips were fab, beer good and the barman explained about the local beers. Would go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Askrigg
4.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
1.1 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Skeldale House B&B
Skeldale House B&B
#1 of 8 in Askrigg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sykes House B&B
Sykes House B&B
#3 of 8 in Askrigg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.2 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rose Hotel

Property: White Rose Hotel
Address: Main Street, Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Askrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Askrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel with real ales and freshly cooked local produce where available. Our hotel is in a prime location to tour or walk from. There are many local attraction, including Wensleydale creamery, The Ropeworks, Wensleydale Railway, Gale Mill and may more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your White Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rose Hotel Askrigg, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing