We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unwelcoming staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of White Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Rose Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Askrigg B&B and Inns
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“unwelcoming staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

The hotel generally is a bit tired, and this seem to have affected the staff who seemed too weary and disinterested to raise a smile. The bar staff were sitting down behind the bar both times we stayed there at the beginning and end of a long walk, and were abrupt and unfriendly and seemed more interested in a private arguement than their customers. This could explain why the bar was the quietest pub in the village!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cleopatra176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    58
    22
    11
    15
See reviews for
20
79
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Should have turned and walked out before the front door closed behind me. What a sour bake (face) sitting tucked away in a corner of the reception (hole in the wall behind the bar), no smile or welcome greeting, just told to put the dog on the lead. Not even shown to our room, just told us the room number and pointed to where we were to go. The double room was small and very basic. The TV was out of the dark ages, no remote control and only able to find two channels. No Freeview or Sky. The bathroom was so small that if you sat on the toilet you were touching the edge of the bath and the wall. The shower screen moved and water leaked all over the floor. The vanity mirror and shelf was far too big and clumsy for such a small bathroom, when using the basin I hit my head on this.

The so called "Landlady" was more interested in her regular local drinking customers. In my opinion this is definitely not a hotel with no lounge for residents. As The White Rose is advertised as being Pet Friendly, there should be an area set aside for breakfast, lunch & dinner as no pets are allowed in the dinning room (understandably) and this is not the case here. I was asked, no sorry, instructed to "Dog.... Down" by which I took that my dog was not allowed to sit on the fixed chairs in the pub area.

There was a large builder’s plank lying on the fire escape. Very tight cornering to get your car into their car park at the rear of the property.

Beware of the big black dog barking in the cottage behind, perhaps like the landlady, very frightening indeed, she would be more suited as a prison officer rather than a so called landlady; she should be ashamed of her attitude towards paying guests. Perhaps the AA 4star Inn award should be revised & in my humble opinion the landlady should attend a Customer Service friendly course.

Room Tip: Tip.... Ask to view the room first, alternatively, try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Wizzywoo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Askrigg hotels

Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

It wasn't great but I don't think it was as bad as some of the posts would lead you to believe. What I assumed to be the Landlady was pretty humourless, food on the expensive side.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tradders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

To say it is the worst experience encountered is an understatement, The owners both of them were extremely rude and ignorant, there was quite a few of us and the place would have been empty had we not been there they should have been grateful for the income. they should not be allowed to operate as a cafe never mind a hotel. There was no water to the top floor to have a shower in the morning, the rooms were small and the TV's only worked on 2 channels. The landlady would allow the locals to drink and be rowdy until 4.00am keeping all the guests awake, she even allowed them to smoke in the pool table area (pretty sure theres a law against after hours drinking when not a resident of the hotel also against the law to smoke in a public building). i would advise everyone to give this place a wide berth.

Room Tip: a room in the B&B down the road would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wiganiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Not the best place to stay in the Yorkshire dales, Woman on reception had such a can not be bothered attitude, like we was intruding on her time. Food was very over priced. Lamb Shank dinner £14.00. Then the following morning the breakfast was very basic. Bedroom was like something from 1984. small portable tv with no remote, just dials, and volume control did not work. For smokers it was a bit of a mission to get out early in the morning. Never stayed at a B&B where you had to hand the key in at reception if we wanted to nip out in the evening. If anybody would like to stay in this area I would strongly advise you travel a further 5 miles up the road to a little town called Hawes. Finally Wi-Fi. I asked a guy at reception/bar if they had Wi-Fi, his reply was "We do, but it's ours"

Room Tip: read the reviews on this website first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

From the minute we stepped in the door an awful experience. Owner was very rude and unwelcoming, food disgusting having waited an hour for it. B'fast was appaling as waitress was rude, not only to our face but by shouting rude comments about us to the kitchen staff as she left the restaurant. The good comments on Trip advisor seem to relate to the previous owners. The AA 4* rating must apply to the previous owners . i only chose this B&B as it took dogs and didnt check on Trip Advisor before I booked-big mistake.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nikki a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here last weekend and it was great for us. Room 1 was huge, plenty of space for us and the little ones, and the bed was soooo comfy! It was spotlessly clean, as was all the hotel.
We enjoyed an afternoon in the sunny beer garden followed by a family dinner in the restaurant. The food and drink were great quality and the service was good. Full marks for breakfast the next morning too.
We really enjoyed our stay at the White Rose and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Room 1 is spacious and has a large king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheReids24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Askrigg
4.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
1.1 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Skeldale House B&B
Skeldale House B&B
#1 of 8 in Askrigg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sykes House B&B
Sykes House B&B
#3 of 8 in Askrigg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
2.2 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rose Hotel

Property: White Rose Hotel
Address: Main Street, Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Askrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Askrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel with real ales and freshly cooked local produce where available. Our hotel is in a prime location to tour or walk from. There are many local attraction, including Wensleydale creamery, The Ropeworks, Wensleydale Railway, Gale Mill and may more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your White Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rose Hotel Askrigg, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing