We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another excellent Yorkshire Dales cafe”
Review of Askrigg Village Kitchen - CLOSED

Askrigg Village Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout
Description: a small deli/bakery with tea room and shop situated in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. Free WIFI for customers visiting our tea room.We also do Take Home Bistro Meals to enjoy at Home.
Bracknell
Level Contributor
127 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Another excellent Yorkshire Dales cafe”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Visited the Askrigg Village Kitchen twice on our recent holiday, once for breakfast before a long walk and secondly for afternoon tea. We also spent quite a bit of money on the fresh produce at the attached shop.

Excellent is the only word to describe this place- actually its really excellent if such a phrase exists.

Only a small servery and a few tables inside but the range of dishes they provide is huge. I challenge anyone not to look at their cakes and not to stop and eat one of them.

Breakfast rolls were superb, good value and set us up for a long walk and a great place for afternoon tea.

Highly recommend

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BinfieldTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    33
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Takes some beating!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We are a large group of friends who have been coming to Askrigg for three years staying at Hill Top Farm (which is a great place for large groups). We have always used the Village Kitchen take away menu and can't praise it highly enough. The quality of food is really good and the portions are more than enough for the heartiest appetite. Nothing is ever too much trouble for Jo and her staff, who are always friendly. Whilst out walking we will also drop in for a lunchtime snack, or tea and cakes, which are irresistible - and the hot chocolate with cream and marshmallows is yummy!
Hopefully we will all be back again next year, by which time we will have lost the pounds we've gained this year enjoying such wonderful food!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Steph2329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food, friendly service in lovely environment”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We always stop at Askrigg Village Kitchen for lunch when we're in the Askrigg area. The food is delicious and well priced, and is accompanied by friendly, relaxed service.

The accompanying deli invariably tempts us to pick up something to take away!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank massi2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely cuppa and cake in beautiful village”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

My family and I all visited Askrigg and the Village Kitchen a few weeks ago when we stayed at Hawes. We stopped at the Village Kitchen when we were walking in Askrigg and stopped here for a quick cup of tea and cake before our walk. The Village Kitchen is really cosy and has a bit of Tour de France memorabilia inside ahead of July's Grand Depart that I enjoyed looking at as a keen cyclist.

It was a total coincidence that we had actually seen the Village Kitchen on Countryfile the week before. Countryfile were filming an episode of Yorkshire's 75 icons as featured in the Dalesman magazine. So, needless to say we had some Wensleydale with fruit cake and a cup of Yorkshire Tea as featured in the Village Kitchen. The staff probably thought we were bonkers when we were re-enacting the scene of Matt Baker eating cheese and getting taught a lesson on the Yorkshire dialect. Anyway, the staff were so helpful, friendly and enjoyed showing us where the clip was filmed and how long it took to shoot.

The fruit cake, Wensleydale and cup of Yorkshire Tea were absolutely delicious. In fact, the Wensleydale Creamery is only a few miles away in Hawes where we were staying so we haven't stopped eating cheese and cake since we've returned to Cheshire. All Creatures Great and Small was filmed in this very village, and Aysgarth Falls, where Robin Hood Prince of Thieves was filmed, is beautiful and only a few miles away too. I could list a load of other places that are worth a visit, so if you do find yourself in the area, make sure you visit the Askrigg Village Kitchen!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank POPEYE12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delightful meal and fabulous atmosphere in a beautiful village setting.”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We visited the Village Kitchen on a Saturday afternoon after a family walk. The food was brilliant, freshly made and simply presented and very tasty. Delightful well flavoured soups, tasty melts and awesome baked goods. They were very accommodating of the kids (I can't comment on high chair availability) and the staff were helpful and friendly, they couldn't do enough for you. I would certainty return and wholeheartedly recommend the Village Kitchen as a stop off for a really lovely meal and a relaxing experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Askrigg Village Kitchen also viewed

Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Bainbridge, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing