We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt at home”
Review of Thornsgill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thornsgill House
Ranked #5 of 7 Askrigg B&B and Inns
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Felt at home”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed at the Thornsgill House for 2 nights to attend a wedding in the nearby village of Bainbridge.We found the accommodation to be excellent - very comfortable and we felt very welcomed.We enjoyed breakfast very much and the poached eggs were cooked to perfection.

We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourist190729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
68
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Excellent Accommodation,Good breakfast and a friendly welcome from hosts Dorothy and les Will be going back in June 2012

Room Tip: Room 3 has bath & Shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Our third stay at Thornsgill and never disappointed. Tea and cake on arrival, spotlessly clean rooms, excellent choice of beverages and biscuits on hospitality tray, nice toiletries and even chocolates on the bedside table. There's a comfortable residents' lounge which is good if staying with friends. The omelettes at breakfast, without doubt, the best I've ever tasted. Really excellent value place to stay - highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SashaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We have just spent two lovely nights here at Thornsgill House. The room was tastefully decorated and the thoughtful addition of two wine glasses meant we didn't have to drink or wine out of tumblers from the bathroom as we have come to expect in most places, (we do like to have a glass of wine in our room some evenings). The house itself is a thing of beauty and very well care for.
The breakfasts were hearty and well cooked, overall we felt very well looked after by Wendy, Dorothy and Les.
They have a good local knowledge of places to visit and the best places to eat in the village. It was a last minute booking but I hope it won't be our last there.

Room Tip: We had room 3 which has a bath as well as a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Our 2nd stay at this lovely Dales Guest House . The welcome and accommodation are all you could wish for. The en-suite rooms are spotless, imaginatavely decorated with attention to every detail and very comfortable. Breakfast is amongst the best we have experienced with plenty of choice both for devotees of the traditional English and vegetarians. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John1808489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2011

This house is perfectly situtated in the middle of this authentic town Askrigg. The house is newly restored, and is kept clean and nice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nilsphagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Back to Thornsgill House. As usual, the hospitality was excellent and the rooms and breakfast faultless.
One improvement since my last review - there is now a facility for paying by credit card.

See you all soon, we will be back :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingAuditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Askrigg
4.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
405 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
0.1 mi away
Milton House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Skeldale House B&B
Skeldale House B&B
#1 of 7 in Askrigg
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sykes House B&B
Sykes House B&B
#3 of 7 in Askrigg
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holmedale Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornsgill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornsgill House

Property: Thornsgill House
Address: Thorngill House Moor Road, Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Askrigg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Askrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornsgill House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornsgill House is our unique and family run Edwardian house which commands a peaceful position in the village next to Askrigg Beck. We are away from the Main Street of the village but still handy for the pubs, restaurants and shops, which are all within a few minutes stroll, and we have walks in abundance straight from the door. We have 3 bright and spacious en-suite bedrooms, and a separate lounge and dining room for your exclusive use. You can enjoy watching the world go by from the raised south facing front garden and wrought iron veranda. Thornsgill is packed full of the original features which you would expect to find in an Edwardian house-we have several beautiful stained glass windows, a fabulous central staircase, original tiled broad entrance hall and light and spacious, high ceilinged rooms with the original cornices and picture rails.We have been awarded a 4 Star Silver Award & also a Breakfast Award from VisitEngland. Silver awards are given to guest accommodation that provides exceptional quality in all areas but in particular in service and hospitality, so you know that you can be assured of a warm and friendly welcome. Breakfast Awards are sponsored by Kellogg’s and are awarded to 'special places that have gone the extra mile to ensure that breakfast will exceed guests' expectations'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Thornsgill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornsgill House Askrigg, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing