We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pub meal”
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Askrigg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“pub meal”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I can honestly say that the meal i had in this pub was probably one of the worst i have ever had. Lamb shank and new potatoes with vegetables, swimming in a tasteless, watery liquid, which i can only assume was gravy. I asked for mint sauce in order to make the meal edible. A lady and her daughter sitting next to me, picked through their meal, the daughter getting up half way through to ask for gravy and sauce for herself and poor mum, (gosh their meal looked dry and unappetizing) On a positive the staff were really quite pleasant, We stayed for two nights in Askrigg, but, ate at the Crown the second night. Pub meal once again, however far more palatable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geraldine w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    154
    56
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Izegem, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great dinner on our first day in the Dales.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

At our first evening in the Yorkshire Dales, staying in Thornton Rust, we took a short drive to Askrigg. I had booked a dinner for 8 people in The King's Arms in Askrigg. The King's Arms was made famous by the television series "All Creatures Great and Small". Inside The King’s Arms, on the walls of the small corridor leading to the bar, you find photographs taken during the filming of the series. We first had a drink at the lovely bar. Our table was in the separate restaurant part of the King's Arms. Spacious, nicely decorated and quiet. With 8 persons, different meals were ordered but all brought at the same time to our table! Excellent service! We all enjoyed our food, drinks and deserts. All reasonably priced. A great finish of our first day in the Dales.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisDessein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
2 reviews
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We ate at the kings arms tonight the food was delicious I had the chicken wrapped in bacon with spicy tomato sauce mmm mmm mmm ! Hubby had steak and kidney pie which melted in your mouth and the kids had ham and eggs which they enjoyed , we don't normally have a pud but we did here and the ginger pud with custard was delicious as was the choc brownie , we will definitely be dining here again , the landlord was very nice too and came round to talk to us , lovely pub.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BurdsBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed an early evening meal on a Monday night whilst staying in a nearby HPB site. The welcoming bar (used as the location for "James's Herriot's" local in "all creatures great and small") was really nice and we were taken to our table in "Pratt's" the resident restaurant after ordering. Being a family with young boys (9, 7 and 3) on the rare occasions we eat out we try to eat early and are always considerate to other diners, but the restaurant was very welcoming and the service very good, taking care to bring the children's main meal along with our starters, very important!! Our meals were very well presented and prepared. Overall a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Quality pub food in historic setting”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We came in out of the rain into a fabulous bar - full of atmosphere and tradition. We had excellent service at the bar, friendly without being over effusive. We quickly selected our meals from both the menu and the specials written on the mirror and sat down to enjoy a beer from a good selection of real ales. We were soon taken through to the dining room and our meals came quickly - good tasty British food, well presented and with plenty of fresh veg. We all chose the same pudding, which was Summer Pudding with local Jersey ice cream. The service was efficient and friendly. My only quibble was that we were seated quite close to a speaker giving out ancient pop music. It didn't seem to suit the setting!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Bainbridge, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing