We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+”
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Askrigg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A+”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having tried to book a table at short notice for a Saturday night recently, regrettably we found it fully booked. We left our details and were fortunately contacted on the day with a cancellation.

We were given an ideal table in a back room perfect for our needs, four adults two teenage children and a tired dog. It was almost private dining! The pub itself was welcoming, full of atmosphere and nicely busy. The food was excellent, and as you would expect mostly locally sourced, beef, lamb and game. The shrimp risotto starter was a triumph, if a little stingy. Ballantine of chicken was also worthy of mention. The Mains: Pork belly, local rib eye, sea bass and a beef casserole were devoured with gusto.
The local cheeseboard at around £7 easily satisfied two adults, Chocolate brownie was also delicious. Reasonable selection of wines and beers. All in all £200 ish for a brilliant meal and good wines and drinks for six was good value. They even kindly loaned us a corkscrew overnight!
If staying in Askrigg it would be my first choice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twatsons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    149
    54
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Meal. uninspiring setting!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

After a wonderful week of weather & walking in and around Askrigg, we decided to book a meal at the Kings Head Hotel for Dec 13. The Hotel is historic and characterful, with a warming roaring log fire in the bar area. The Restaurant however has experienced a personality bypass. Although in the heart of an historic building there is nothing to enjoy in this room but a bland paint wash to the walls. There are few, if any to my recollection, paintings or photographs to enliven the room which are plentiful elsewhere in the hotel. Why? Even the tables & chairs are cafe type and just above 'bog standard'. There were no table mats or attractive place settings. Despite all this, the food was excellent, and the service from a youngish local girl friendly if a bit amateurish. We tipped at 10%, so I think that shows the balance is in favour of "giving it a try!"

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank true2formal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieRichmond, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. You are right the tables and chairs in the restaurant aren't in keeping with the building, we are looking into replacing these with stripped antique pine tables but the supplier delivered the wrong ones and so we hope to get these just into the spring. We hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Years 2012”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Staying in the village with friends and visited this excellent pub/hotel on two occasions. Fantastic atmosphere and a cosy bar with a warming open fire. Had an excellent lunch on New Years Eve which set us up for a fantastic evening. Strongly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DEAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“But high on atmosphere”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you are in the area you have to visit here. The pub was the setting for the James Herriott pub scenes and there are loads of interesting pictures on the walls. The bar has a great social atmosphere and is clearly the locals favoured meeting place..Good local beers on offer. Scored three as the food was a tadge disappointing....rather overdone cod.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willettbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieRichmond, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thanks for your comments, I have raised the issues you had with your meal with our chefs and we will look to improve our food standards. We hope you will visit again if you are ever in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A warm and friendly welcome!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This bar and restaurant in the pretty village of Askrigg between Hawes and Leyburn is a good place to visit. A menu which is imaginative with frequent changes depending on availability of locally sourced ingredients; the same menu served in the bar and restaurant, both have open fires in the winter, really cosy! A starter of Tian of crab and cucumber and another of Gravadlax and salmon particularly good and a generous main course serving of Rack of Lamb was excellent. Good choice of beers, wines, liqueurs and malt whisky. Well worth the visit!

(Accommodation is available at The Kings Arms under the management of The Holiday Property Bond)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Bainbridge, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Aysgarth, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing