We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holmedale Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Stone House Hotel(Hawes)
$188
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$183
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blue Lion(East Witton)
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Golden Lion Hotel(Horton-in-Ribblesdale)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
89
13
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
13
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswarm welcomeb bmade us feelyorkshire dalesthe perfect hostperfect mixcharacterful buildingpowerful showertwo night stayat homea wonderful short breakwalking holidaydelightful place to stayold houseboth timesstayed for nightslots of choice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 104 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2009

From the moment we arrived, and it was an early start, we were welcomed into this gorgeous house by Helen who showed us to our room and made sure everything was perfect and lovely. We were travelling for a wedding and stopping for just the one night. The room was comfortable and had plenty of facilities, exceptionally clean and well presented.
Breakfast was delicious, the Dales Breakfast was lovely and black pudding to die for. The bacon and pancakes was something new for me to try and were scrumptious.
We had a brilliant time at the wedding, a great nights sleep and a breakfast to help cure any hangover.
Many thanks for a wonderful stay, and should we come back then I know where I will be booking into!
all the best and Christmas Wishes
Roger and Pete

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phantomlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Just got home from a three night stay at Holmedale and would certainly recommend to my family and friends. Holmedale is located at the heart of Askrigg and is an excellent base for walking the Dales. The Daltons made us very welcome in their wonderful home and Helen's homemade granola is simply the best I have tasted (if you are lucky enough to stay here make sure you purchase some to take home). Next time I am going to try a cake as well! As a family of three we stayed in the St Oswald room which is very spacious and comfortable, best of all though it has a full sized bath, perfect for a soak after a long walk. The house is lovely and warm as well, important for this time of year. Check out the website as every detail is exact, pay particular attention to the breakfast menu as the range and quality is superb. Absolutely will stay here again and hope it is soon.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
Thank TourDeFletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

The warm welcome we recieved on our arrival set the scene for the rest of our stay at Holmedale. Helen & Ben, and of course Jack, were great hosts, allowing us to share their beautiful home. Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean and had all the amenities you would expect to find in a 5* hotel. The breakfasts were superb, and we would definately recommend the YDB (Yorkshire Dales Breakfast). They certainly set us up for our days out exploring the Dales! We couldn't let our time in Askrigg go by with out visiting all 3 of the local pubs. Our favourite was the Kings Arms as the food was excellent (both taste and value) and the staff were friendly. Our stay at Holmedale was so enjoyable, that we're going to book for our 1st wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RocknRoll69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed in the most idyllic village of Askrigg in the Yorkshire Dales at Holmedale Guest house.
On our arrival we were greeted by the owners Helen and Ben who made us very welcome from the word go.
We were shown to the Wensleydale room that has beautiful oak beams and a really comfortable King size bed.
Holmedale is exceptionally clean and the breakfasts are terrific which set you up nicely for the day ahead.
We can’t speak highly enough of the Holmedale Guest House and would recommend anyone visiting the Dales to stay there.
Thank you Helen and Ben for making our stay very memorable.

The village has three pubs and we highly recommend the King Arms in Askrigg. They made us very welcome and the food and service was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastYorkshireJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

A family run B&B (although this is really 5* hotel standard) in the perfect location to explore this beautiful area. Holmedale has all the quirkiness of a country house, whilst also being modern, clean and spacious. I highly recommend the excellent freshly cooked breakfasts, pancakes with bacon and maple syrup, or a full cooked breakfast... And before you go make sure you buy some of the farm fresh eggs at only £1 for six. We were so impressed with our stay that we immediately booked our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnTrenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews