We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely Holmedale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holmedale Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 8 Askrigg B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homely Holmedale”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

One of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. It snowed just after we arrived, but sadly we did not get snowed in and had to return to work!
Fabulous hosts, great breakfast, lovely room, nice pubs in Askrigg, friendly locals - we'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarcyClementine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This B&B is top class . This family friendly house is full of character, is warm, clean and the hosts are one of a kind. Without question this family helped us out of a quagmire, undoubtedly placing themselves second. The breakfast menu beats most London hotels scoring four stars! And the views are to die for.
I would recommend this business to all, and certainly a bench mark for all B&B and hotel businesses.

Room Tip: Swaledale room is fantastic for children and parents
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raceface27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOrk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have stayed at Holmedale for the last three years and love it. This is the best B&B we have stayed in. The rooms arenicly furnished, spacious and clean. Helen and Ben (and the boys) are wonderful - extremley friendly and cannot do enough for you. We have celebrated a couple of birthday's here and Helen is always very happy to buy/arrange something special. The breakfast's are first class. The homemade granola is to die for and the cooked breakfasts are just scrumptious. This B&B is perfect in everyway.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here with friends for 3 nights and it was fantastic. We couldnt have asked for anything more. The breakfasts are to die for, superbly cooked and a great selection of dishes. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cah1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huglfing, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our first stay at Holmedale B & B, and we enjoyed it very much. The room (Swaledale) was cozy and comfortable, the breakfast terrific, and the Dalton family a pleasure to get to know. We can heartily recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownBread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is the sort of place that gives British B&B a good name; welcoming, clean and very comfortable. The St Oswald room is large and airy, nicely furnished and decorated with a huge bed and excellent shower. For breakfast there is the choice of the usual English breakfast or a number of lighter options, all with top quality ingredients cooked properly. Helen was really helpful with bits of local advice and encouraged us to buy fish and chips from the van when it came on Wednesday, allowing us to use the dining room and putting our wine in the fridge. Askrigg is a great base for exploring the Dales on foot, with a choice of reasonable places to eat and buy sandwiches etc. We rarely return to the same place for holidays but are planning to come back to Holmedale sometime.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_and_Lynn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

What a fabulous place, clean, warm, and very friendly. We stayed a week, i had The Dales Breakfast every morning, my wife tried The Dales Breakfast, Luxury Porridge and the Cheesy croissants, she couldn't decide which was her favourite. We stayed in the St Oswald room, which was a very large room with a huge comfy bed, had to move to the Swaledale room for our last 3 nights(St Oswald was already booked when we booked), this was a smaller room with a double bed, but was equally as comfortable, The house was lovely and warm and there was always plenty of hot water for showers. We took Helens advice and ate at The Crown Inn on our first night, which proved to be very good and reasonably prices, we also ate at The White Rose in the village, again, good food but slightly more pricey. We really enjoyed our stay, Helen, Ben and their 2 boys were so friendly, we felt as though we had known them for years. Ben was left to run things for 1 night whilst Helen was away, the standards didn't slip at all and he didnt burn anything as he feared he might do! This would be our first choice on a subsequent visit to the Dales. Thank you Helen, Ben and their Boys for making our stay with them so enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Askrigg
4.2 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milton House Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Skeldale House B&B
Skeldale House B&B
#1 of 8 in Askrigg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Rose Hotel
White Rose Hotel
#7 of 8 in Askrigg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
3.1 mi away
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Sykes House B&B
Sykes House B&B
#3 of 8 in Askrigg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmedale Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmedale Bed and Breakfast

Property: Holmedale Bed and Breakfast
Address: Holme Dale Main Street | Leyburn, Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Askrigg
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Askrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holmedale Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at Holmedale where we will greet you with genuine Yorkshire hospitality and good traditional homecooked local food in our traditional B&B. An informal and comfortable relaxing atmosphere is offered during your stay here in the Dales.Holmedale has recently had a full refurbishment (2017) and retains a vast amount of original features including a stunning wood panel hallway and large spacious rooms but adapted to meet modern requirements including luxurious large en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holmedale Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmedale Bed And Breakfast Askrigg, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing