We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't do children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holmedale Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 7 Askrigg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We were extremely dissapointed after our two night stay to Homedale. Our room was very basic, our towels were damp and there were not two beds in our room despite us having two children. The decor was very old fashioned and dirty and the room we felt was not ready for guests. We were told on a number of ocasions to make sure we were quiet becuase there was a baby in the house! We were very dissapointed and were made to feel like we were intruding in their house. We were left feeling very unhappy and the children were tense due to not being allowed to make any noise in our family room. The breakfasts on the other hand were absolutely fantastic and the lady even served them in her pyjamas and slippers!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gutheridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmedale, Owner at Holmedale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

We are so disappointed with this review and as you can see from all our other reviews this is completely out of character.
As Holmedale B&B website shows our rooms are not basic and we have decorated them all to a very high standard maintaining a lot of original features ensuring we provide all the modern facilities and requirements expected of a 4 star silver award B&B.
We currently out source our laundry and our towels and bedding are completely dry and laundered to a very high standard, we offer guests the choice to change their towels by asking them to put used/wet towels in the bath if required.
Both our family rooms have an extra bed in each room and if there is more than one child an extra bed will always be offered and provided on request, which we are more than happy to do.
As you can see by other comments and ratings our rooms are very clean and tidy and we ensure we maintain this high standard.
We are a friendly family run B&B and we welcome all our guests into our home and hope they feel relaxed and happy during their stay, we would never want anyone to feel uncomfortable.
Finally I have never ever served breakfast in my pyjamas and slippers and I feel that this review has been slanderous and complete lies and we are so upset and disappointed with the comments. I have questioned the family whom have stayed with us in August and he denyed sending the review so I am unsure who would have written such a cruel untrue review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 100 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

This is a very friendly and relaxed bed and breakfast. The breakfast are great, they set you up for the day. Our room was very comfortable. We loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anywhere88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Just returned from a delightful week in the Dales - the highlight was our stay at this B&B in Askrigg. The place has been very tastefully decorated, the rooms are comfy and large and the hosts take great pains to make every aspect of your stay a pleasure. Our German friends (Herriot fans) were delighted with our choice and were pleased that it was so clean and quiet and such great value!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank ChrisA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We had 3 nights at Holmedale and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect with great access to the North Yorkshire Moors. Askrigg wasnt spoilt by being too touristy but had more than enough ameneties and easy access to Hawes for further restaurants and shops. Ben and Helen were excellent hosts and the breakfasts were superb especially the granola. Rooms were attractive and very comfortable. Would highly recommend although part of me doesnt want anyone else to find this place!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbirks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

This is a lovely old house by the church, beautifully decorated and furnished with some lovely, homely touches like a teddy bear on our bed. The owners could not have been friendlier and more helpful; the room was spotlessly clean and comfortable; breakfast was excellent. A gem.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDP-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We just returned from a trip to Northern England, and we loved our stay at Holmedale B&B. Our family room was beautiful, and the breakfasts were delicious (the porridge was incredible). Helen and Ben were wonderful hosts -- so helpful and kind. They made us feel so welcome, and made dinner recommendations and reservations for us. We would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dahlia05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We have literally just arrived home from our long weekend break at Holmedale B&B, and what a fantastic place it is! We picked Askrigg because of its location, right in the centre of the Dales and perfect for exploring. Even better, Hawes is a 10-minute drive down the road, the location of the Wensleydale Creamery, so we could stock up on cheese to our hearts content! Even though Helen was very busy when we arrived (preparing cupcakes for a charity coffee morning) she made us feel instantly welcome and at-home. We stayed in the St. Oswald's room, looking out over the church - such a huge bed, with a lovely quilt and memory-foam mattress (heaven after a long day of walking!) Both the bedroom and en-suite were clean and comfortable, with lovely extras like local magazines, body lotion and a selection of DVDs in the hallway to watch in your room. Also, we have to mention the shower which is amazingly powerful, also brilliant for winding down in the evening.
Helen and Ben were both very friendly at breakfast each morning, and the food was sensational. We tried the Yorkshire breakfast and also the pancakes with bacon and maple syrup, both of which were really satisfying and delicious. Also, the cereals and homemade breads were great, and Helen's special granola is not-to-be-missed. We even bought a box to bring home, because it is simply gorgeous! Both Helen and Ben were happy to share knowledge of the area, recommending walks and local attractions. We managed to visit quite a few beauty spots, including both Hardraw Force and Aysgarth Falls - in the dining room at Holmedale there are a number of useful walking books and leaflets which we used a couple of times. Even though it was boiling hot on the day, the circular walk from Hawes to Hardraw was a great sight-seeing experience, with incredible views of the Dales. On a cloudier day, we also explored the nearby villages and towns of Reeth, Leyburn and Wensley, which are definitely worth a visit.
One thing we should also remark on is, of course, the food! The first evening we ate at the local White Rose Hotel, which served good food at reasonable prices. However, as with other eateries in the area, we definitely recommend booking, as trying to reserve tables for later on the same day was a nightmare! We then went a little further afield to West Witton the following evening to The Wensleydale Heifer, which was incredible, if expensive. The bread and canapes were a surprise addition, and the food is truly delicious. Finally, because we weren't feeling too flush the final night, we decided to opt for the good ol' chippie in Hawes, which was surprisingly good, with a quirky-themed restaurant. In the daytime, we visited both Cakewalk and Sykes Tearoom in Askrigg, both of which served delicious cream teas (clotted cream is especially good at Cakewalk), and Sykes do yummy toasties, and the lady who runs it is really friendly.
All in all, we found Holmedale, and Askrigg to be a lovely welcoming retreat, and from start to finish we were able to relax. Helen and Ben provided everything we could have wished for from a b&b, including a very reasonable tariff! We would definitely recommend this little gem!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoNeilMarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Askrigg hotels
0.0 mi away
Skeldale House B&B
Skeldale House B&B
#1 of 7 in Askrigg
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milton House Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Sykes House B&B
Sykes House B&B
#3 of 7 in Askrigg
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Rose Hotel
White Rose Hotel
#6 of 7 in Askrigg
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thornsgill House
Thornsgill House
#5 of 7 in Askrigg
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manor House
Manor House
#7 of 7 in Askrigg
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmedale Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmedale Bed and Breakfast

Address: Holme Dale Main Street | Leyburn, Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Askrigg
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Askrigg
Price Range: $94 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holmedale Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at Holmedale where we will greet you with genuine Yorkshire hospitality and good traditional homecooked local food in our traditional B&B. An informal and comfortable relaxing atmosphere is offered during your stay here in the Dales.Holmedale has recently had a full refurbishment (2017) and retains a vast amount of original features including a stunning wood panel hallway and large spacious rooms but adapted to meet modern requirements including luxurious large en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Holmedale Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmedale Bed And Breakfast Askrigg, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing