We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Glenda B
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have returned today from a fantastic stay at Old Camms Barn. From the moment I contacted Maureen to book it I knew I had made a great choice. Communication was excellent even though they are in an area which struggles with getting Internet.......which I have to say the teenagers found enough places to get Internet and signal to satisfy their needs so didn't pose any problem for us!
Upon arrival we were given a brief tour with the invitation to knock on their door any time if we needed anything. The house was immaculate and big which enabled the teenagers to have space if they needed it! Two lovely areas outside with the option of borrowing a BBQ which sadly we didn't use as the wind was unseasonably strong.
Hawes was only ten minutes away and had everything you could need and Sainsburys will deliver with Maureen offering to meet the delivery if you are late arriving. There were lots of pubs to eat at in Askrigg.
So many beautiful walks which can be commenced either from the property or from driving a short distance. We would recommend visiting Hardrawforce falls, The Ribblehead viaduct, taking the White scar caves tour and the walk around the Ingleton falls. There is plenty to keep you busy, even if the weather isn't fantastic, we were lucky for most of our days.
I would highly recommend staying here.
Thank You Maureen and Bob for your hospitality and we hope to visit again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
I was very pleased to be able to meet the needs of the whole party. We now have replaced the unreliable BT Broadband with Satellite Broadband which gives a reliable and strong signal . Glenda's party was exactly the party we cater for; a family and celebrating a special occasion
Maureen Hodgson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh E
1 review
“Fantastic location exceptional accommodation and great hosts”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My wife & I spent a few days away with family in total there was8 of us plus my 1 year old.
From the moment I booked the accomadation everything has been first class. The owner Maureen emailed confirmation and the asked what we needed. In terms of breakfast , what type of bread we like and even down to butter or margarine. Sure enough when we arrived our welcome was very warm our breakfast options where in the kitchen and we were given a guided tour of the accommodation . The barn is actually better in real life !! The website does not do it justice. It was spacious clean and everyone had there own bathroom and had their privacy when needed. The grounds where we'll kept the view lovely and the whole place is just fantastic. Thank you Maurren and Robert for a fablous stay we look forward to visiting again!!!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2016
We were pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and found the welcome pack suitable for your needs. The barn was designed to cater for nuclear family groups like yours and we look forward to welcoming you again anytime in the future
Best wishes,
Maureen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bob b
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic countryside cottage”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a lovely stay in the well kept Old Camms barn. The countryside was lovely and the owners who lived nearby were very friendly and helpful throughout the stay.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2016
We were pleased you enjoyed your stay and the wonders of Wensleydale and our flexible accommodation allowed us to cater for you needs of 10 adults.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkFromE...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ideal Wensleydale venue for 2 to 8 people”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Super mini-break. Travelled by train to Garsdale then 'Country' taxi to Old Camms Barn.

We were 4 pairs, which fit the accomodation perfectly, although one double is self-contained so you could rent that as just a couple or the rest of the property as 6 people, as well as 8 people for the lot

It's furnished to the highest specification. Most impressed. The property is flawless - not a word of complaint.

Bainbridge is a 40 minute walk. Another 20 minutes on to Askrigg.
In the other direction, Hawes, the home of Wensleydale cheese, and Hardraw, home of a privately-owned waterfall (worth the £2.50 to visit).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of furnishing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2016
Thank you for the feedback and your party was exactly the market to which we hope our accommodation appeals . We hope you also had a great birthday party.
Kind regards
Maureen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing