We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lady!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Centre of Britain Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Haltwhistle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We popped into the hotel after a long day cycling on Sunday to enjoy a reviving cup of coffee. .but it had stopped serving. . However, a lovely lady took pity on us and served coffee with a wonderful slice of freshly made lemon tart. . Thank you . Much appreciated. .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Chris1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Centre of Britain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 230 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just had my husbands 50th birthday meal at this lovely hotel and we could not fault the service we had.The waitresses were polite and attentive,always with a smile.The room was decked ready for Christmas which added to the atmosphere and the food was superb,an added extra were bread rolls in the form of my husbands name which was a lovely surprise to everyone!.I would certainly recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just spent two nights at this wonderfull hotel with my wife to attend a funeral in Halwhistle. From the moment we arrived Christine was the perfect host. Nothing was too much bother for her or the staff that assists her in her many duties.
We stayed in room 4 and found it to be very spacious and comfortable. The bed linen was crisp and clean, so too was the bathroom.
I wouldnt know where to start with the food, there is just not enough space here to describe everything. All I will say is "BRILLIANT"
If Chistine does read this, I would just like to say that she made our stay a happy experience on a sad occassion. Thankyou.

Room Tip: room 4 was on the top floor at the rear of the hotel. no problems
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Myself and 3 walking friends stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in October. The whole experience could not have been better - lovely rooms, excellent food, superb residents lounge, etc. The staff were excellent and Christine attended to our every need with care and a cheery disposition. All together, it is excellent value for money. The village of Haltwhistle is lovely and the local walking, in attractive countryside is terrific. This stretch of Hadrians Wall and associated structures, museums, etc, are well preserved/restored and are easily accessible by foot, car or local buses. The are plenty of lovely pubs and other amenities within easy reach and the local bus and train services are excellent, so you can enjoy the available hospitality to the full.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeSeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Center of Britain in the middle of our Hadrian's Wall trek (Haltwhistle is not on the trail, but is a short taxi ride away). At the end of a wet, exhausting day, it is an exceptional treat to find a hotel with wonderful rooms, including fireplaces. After having changed out of muddy, soaking clothes and setting them out to dry, we were able to appreciate the exceptional architecture and design of the rooms - high ceilings/exposed wooden beams. Throughout our stay, the manager and staff were friendly and helpful. Moreover, the restaurant was exceptional. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peripatetic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Excellant weekend, Could not fault it,Every thing about it was right,All our group were over the moon with our stay, the staff were so helpfull and Christine is a gem All trhe rooms very different.
I have reccomended this hotel to many friends as I know they wouldd enjoy there stay as much as we did

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent one night here and wished for more but a storm had delayed our arrival. We were in one of the suites, which was, oddly, in another building, but it was a great room with a cute little fake fireplace heater. The manager, Christine, was a delight and pointed us to an outstanding pub across the way called the Black Bull. Breakfast the next morning was the best we had on our whole trip. I'm sorry we missed dinner the night before. This is a little village but well worth the stay and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were in suite B and our friends were in A. Our bed was near the street and a bit noisy while thei...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haltwhistle
0.1 mi away
Ashcroft Guest House
Ashcroft Guest House
#1 of 14 in Haltwhistle
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grey Bull Hotel
Grey Bull Hotel
#7 of 14 in Haltwhistle
166 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kellah Farm B&B
Kellah Farm B&B
#5 of 14 in Haltwhistle
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belford House
Belford House
#8 of 14 in Haltwhistle
27 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wydon Farm B&B
Wydon Farm B&B
#6 of 14 in Haltwhistle
137 reviews
5.4 mi away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 8 in Gilsland
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centre of Britain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centre of Britain Hotel

Address: Main Street, Haltwhistle NE49 0BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Haltwhistle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Haltwhistle
Price Range: $91 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centre of Britain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is Haltwhistle’s most historic building. The oldest part of the hotel was a Border Reivers' Pele Tower, dating from the 15th Century. Later it became a Manor House, Excise Office, Coaching Inn, Post Office, Temperance Hotel, Pub and Cafe. In 1997 we completely refurbished the building, finding many archaeological and architectural features - many of which have been included in the presentation of the reborn Hotel.The result – a combination of modern comfort & Tradition. We have a total of 12 bedrooms, all individually designed many with original architectural features. All have private bathrooms and are equipped with TV, radio, direct dial telephones, hospitality trays and hair dryers.We have a secure car park at the rear of the hotel with direct access to the rearSo, there is something for everyone, but most of all a warm welcome with a relaxed style and atmosphere to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Centre of Britain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centre Of Britain Haltwhistle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing