We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, friendly host, excellent rooms and breakfast”
Review of Wydon Farm B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wydon Farm B&B
Ranked #4 of 14 Haltwhistle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely location, friendly host, excellent rooms and breakfast”
Reviewed June 4, 2010

This is an excellent b&b, the hosts are very friendly and helpful we were able to bring our dog who was also made welcome, not often the case with most b& b's. We stayed in the Willow room which was plenty big enough and has a very generous four poster bed! The bathroom was very clean with not only a whirlpool bath but a large shower as well. The rest of the room was also imaculate with an ample selection of tea, coffee, water and so on. I would certainly recomend Wydon farm to family and friends and would stay again myself next time we are back in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicola_l_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
74
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Great location about halfway between Carlisle and Newcastle. Rooms are in a converted stone barn, finished to a high standard as required by the National Trust. Perfectly located for the main parts of Hadrian's Wall. Farmhouse breakfast next door in the main farmhouse is fantastic and the host, Linda is very friendly. This is a working farm, so if you are looking for luxury, try elsewhere! Nightlife is non-existent in the area but there are a couple of decent pubs for evening meals (Black Bull, Milecastle Inn) - decent food but not outstanding. Ideal for walking holidays. Recommend visits to Beamish open air museum and Cragside (take the route along the roman wall for some spectacular countryside). In conclusion, a comfortable base to explore the countryside.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surfer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We stayed in the Bluebell Room -spacious with a huge comfortable bed with(firm) good quality mattress and an extra single bed which though we didn't need, was useful for easy storage! We particularly liked the wet room as it's so convenient. Nice touches like a big selection of magazines and a tray to put wet walking boots in not to mention all the usual things you would expect like toiletries, biscuits etc! Flat screen TV conveniently located. Access to outdoor seating direct from room. Stable door type doors either side of the room allowed us to open top half for ventilation at night as the room was so warm from the central heating (which was easy enough to turn down but we like it cool for sleeping!) The full English breakfast was truly scrumptious - fresh local bacon and sausage (very meaty, no cheap bready greasy type to be found here) and cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt were plentiful. Linda, the landlady clearly takes great pride in serving up a high class breakfast - best we've tasted in a B&B to date.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leedsrovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

We have stayed at Wydon three times now and just cannot fault it. Linda and John are so welcoming. The room is comfortable. I am a light sleeper but always sleep well there. We appreciate the clean, spacious room and the little extras such as books about the locality etc. The wet room works well too. Linda cooks the delicious breakfast to order. It includes Wydon eggs and other local produce . We love the tranquil location; it is great for walking and visiting historic sites. One of our favourite places to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertfordshireAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We had a great stay here. The rooms were huge and so it was easy to spend time here.
Very clean accommodation, great bed and amazing ceilings (old barn).

We loved your breakfasts and you are discreet but friendly. Would stay here again in a flash!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkLadym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2009

we had 6 stop overs while walking the hadrians wall path, and this was easily the best. Friendly, clean, good value, great breakfast. It is a little way off the path but they are happy to ferry you there and back. Overall terrific !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maximusmarchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We booked this accommodation on the reading of Trip Advisor Reviews. Owners earn their reputations and Linda has thought of all the extras to make your stay here as comfortable and memorable as possible. The converted barn accommodation is very thoughtfully done, extremely clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and the add ons of her service were exemplary. We were catching up with family in Haltwhistle and have stayed in a few places over the years - none better than here. The proximity to the town and Wall makes this an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan.G49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haltwhistle
8.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,102 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kellah Farm B&B
Kellah Farm B&B
#5 of 14 in Haltwhistle
139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ashcroft Guest House
Ashcroft Guest House
#1 of 14 in Haltwhistle
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Centre of Britain Hotel
Centre of Britain Hotel
#3 of 14 in Haltwhistle
223 reviews
8.9 mi away
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grey Bull Hotel
Grey Bull Hotel
#7 of 14 in Haltwhistle
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wydon Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wydon Farm B&B

Property: Wydon Farm B&B
Address: Wydon Farm Cottage National Trust Bellister estate, Haltwhistle NE49 0LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Haltwhistle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Haltwhistle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wydon Farm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wydon Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing