We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saughy Rigg Farm
Nearby Hotels
Langley Castle Hotel(Langley-on-Tyne)
$212
$182
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Chollerford)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
99
59
23
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
59
23
11
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 197 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had a two night stop at Saughy Rigg farm. A farm like setting with goats and animals roaming around, people touring the wall and walking the walk were there as company. The staff was great helping us with rides up to the wall and answering questions and such. The food was great and their mini-pub was great for a few drinks. Room is plain and we had some trouble with getting hot water but loved the stay. Cheers again to the staff. All the best and keep up the great work.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Spent a night here while walking the Wall. The room, itself, was plain but clean and comfortable, all you really need after a hard day's walk. And they come to the Wall to pick you up if you find that last mile too much to cover. With a cozy bar and an excellent restaurant, Hadrian might have thought to build the Wall to their front door.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanuckFlyer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We hired the full farmhouse as self catering from Friday to Sunday, this was for 36 people to celebrate my husband and I's Silver Wedding Anniversary, our daughters 21st and 18th birthdays. We had family friends from allover the country. Infact our daughter is currently working in Berlin so she had travelled from there for the party and our friends came from Holland with their baby. The age range was 74 to 10 months old, everyone was comfortable in the lovely big farmhouse, we had the whole use of the living room, games room. bar, diningroom, kitchen and all the bedrooms. There was plenty of space for everyone to do what they wanted to do when they wanted to. All the kids had ipads and gadgets that they all connected to the internet with ease. We catered for ourselves all weekend apart from the Saturday night when Sian provided a buffet, it was beautiful, everyone commented on just how tasty it was. All the bedrooms were clean comfortable and had lovely views. Most of us went for a walk along Hadrains Wall on Saturday, the location of the farmhouse if fantasic, for a stroll or a hike. We could not have been happier at Saughy Rigg, we had games, quizes, we played lots of loud music and danced the night away it was superb, there aren't any neighbours so noise isn't a problem. The full use of the bar was great, along with the ice machine and coffee machine, which I don't think had a rest all weekend, everyone loved it. Sian and Shaun who run Saughy Rigg could not have been any more helpful, I did have to ask for a couple of things and Shaun was so helpful and freindly. I would really recommend hiring the whole place for a large party, the only downside was having to leave on Sunday afternoon! We hope to be back to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kate2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My son and I stayed here for 1 night whilst walking Hadrians Wall, we were welcomed with a large pot of tea, our room was very comfy and clean, with a view of a beautiful horse in the field behind. Dinner was the best of our trip. There was the opportunity of a lift up to the trail in the morning. This place was certainly a bright diamond after walking the hills during the day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindyPOP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on my recent walking tour of Hadrian's Wall. Friendly and helpful staff, a comfortable room and really nice food, particularly the super breakfasts. A very well appointed lounge and a bar with lots of local beers to try.Everything one could want when arriving back after walking strenuous hillsides.
Sean would run you to and from the trail or local museums each day, which was really helpful.
A great place to stop!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews