We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wall walker's place to stay”
Review of Saughy Rigg Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haltwhistle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saughy Rigg Farm
Ranked #8 of 14 Haltwhistle B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Wall walker's place to stay”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Two things make Saughy Rigg exceptional - the food and the fantastic welcome. We were collected from Once Brewed, given tea in the lovely big sitting room where we could chat with other walkers, offered a simple but very comfortable room - and a truly amazing Taster Dinner. The food was beautifully cooked, the menu imaginative and all served to look good as well as taste delicious. Definitely a place to head for - even if you're not walking the Wall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    59
    23
    11
    5
See reviews for
24
76
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Staying there for one night in our hike, we were picked up from the twice brewed inn down from steel Rigg as we took a wrong turn. The young man working in the farm was very friendly, showed us around and ensured we were comfortable. The room was very large and comfortable with a four poster bed and a single bed at the feet of the first. The bathroom was actually a wet room but it didn't bother us much.
Dinner offered limited choice but what we had was excellent quality. Breakfast was the same.
We were dropped off again the next morning.
The farm is set in the valley and they have pet sheep that are really friendly!
All in all you feel really taken care of.
Only thing for addicts to their phones or connection, there is barely a signal and the wifi, though free, doesn't work everywhere...

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LilyOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Enjoyed this B&B. My only down point was the matress, which was a little thin and didnt make for the best nights sleep.
Lovely meals and friendly staff ensured a welcome stay.
Only there for 1 night while walking the wall, but would have happily stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tzmrbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed as part of a walk along Hadrian's Wall path and were perhaps a little sceptical of what it might offer given another B&B along the route had been "average". However, I was really impressed by both the facilities and standard of the accomodation, which has obviously just had some significant redecoration and some money spent on it. The food, both in the evening and the breakfast were also great. Thanks for looking after us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed for five nights and could not fault anything at all, very friendly, great breakfast and evening meal
(if required). Very friendly service at all times.
I defiantly would stay again as prices are competitive.
Sean & Sian have been running the B & B for a short time and are making vast improvements which really show.
Long may they continue.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

What a lovely place, definitely the best place we stayed on our walk of the wall. We had two nights here , and would go back for a week long holiday . Shaun the host, couldn't have been nicer, even dropping us off at the wall trail in the morning .
The food was superb, both the evening meals and the breakfasts were perfect. Good quality home cooking and fantastic service.
The room was comfortable and clean with a bath and a lovely view of the landscape back towards the wall.
The whole place was heated by a wood fuel burner outside , which gave it a really cosy warmth rather than the sometimes ovewhellming feeling of central heating.
I really would have moved in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gertsfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I had a great stay at Saughy Rigg Farm. The owner greeted us with a lovely pot of tea and the kindness one receives when seeing an old friend. Customer Service is top notch! The bed was super comfortable and the owner did everything in his power to make sure we were happy (even if that meant building a fire in our room). We were even able to leave our two dogs in the playroom when we went to a museum the day we checked out. The location was perfect to (in my opinion) the prettiest part of Hadrian's Wall and the sycamore gap. We loved our stay, the food and most of all the hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaci129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haltwhistle
1.1 mi away
The Twice Brewed Inn
The Twice Brewed Inn
#13 of 62 in Hexham
458 reviews
6.4 mi away
Kellah Farm B&B
Kellah Farm B&B
#5 of 14 in Haltwhistle
139 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bridge House Bed & Breakfast Hadrian's Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Old Repeater Station
Old Repeater Station
#3 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
185 reviews
7.2 mi away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Humshaugh
290 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ashcroft Guest House
Ashcroft Guest House
#1 of 14 in Haltwhistle
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saughy Rigg Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saughy Rigg Farm

Property: Saughy Rigg Farm
Address: Saughy Rigg Farm Twice Brewed, Haltwhistle NE49 9PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Haltwhistle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Haltwhistle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Saughy Rigg Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Saughy Rigg Farm Hotel Haltwhistle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing