We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"A Beautiful Jewel"”
other travelers have booked this property
Stonecrop holiday cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stonecrop holiday cottage
Rear view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Stonecrop holiday cottage
Rear view
Living room with original inglenook and log stove
Kitchen and back door
Rear bedroom
Front bedroom
Bathroom
Study
View towards river from garden
Large rear garden overlooking the fields
Fruit trees in the orchard
Herbaceous border in rear garden
View of the South Tyne valley - looking north-west towards Knaresdale
View of Stonecrop and the cluster of properties that make up the hamlet of Eals
The South Tyne river below the footbridge
Heading down the lane to the river
The view downstream from Eals bridge
Featherstone bridge
Lambley viaduct and the disused Alston - Haltwhistle railway line
Featherstone Castle
View across the Eden Valley from the Hartside road
Front door
View along no through road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Haltwhistle, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ambassado...
2 reviews
“"A Beautiful Jewel"”
Reviewed May 9, 2019 for a stay in April 2019

Just returned from our 3rd. stay in this amazing place and already booked for our 4th.
You feel instantly at home in this warm & welcoming cottage and can tell immediately just how much it is loved by all who stay there!
Built in 1760 and beautifully picturesque it spills over with charm & character and contains everything you could possibly need, including a cosy log burning stove and underfloor kitchen heating for those cooler evenings!
We chose a quiet & relaxing holiday enjoying the tranquil garden and surrounding hamlets, but there is so much more to do should that be your choice - amazing places to visit including its powerful Roman history, gentle lanes to cycle down, crystal rivers to swim in, dark skies to wonder at and spectacular walks so beautiful they take your breath away!
We always feel valued here thanks Richard & Emma being such kind and generous hosts who can not do enough to make your stay just PERFECT!
Go and enjoy this little gem, you will not be disappointed!!

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2019
Thank you for your lovely review - we so look forward to welcoming you at Stonecrop next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesteph...
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome, Warm Cottage”
Reviewed March 12, 2019 for a stay in March 2019

Wonderful cottage made even better by the warm and generous welcome and considerate touches. We were not blessed with the weather but more than made up for by the tranquil setting ....and the dogs loved it. Great walks nearby especially up on to the common and local people very relaxed and friendly. Lovely garden to sit out in (if it weren't for the driving sleet and snow!). Cottage well equipped and has everything you could ask for - absolutely loved the kitchen underfloor heating and the decoration and furnishings very tasteful. Thank-you for such a lovely stay - would definitely return.

Date of stay: March 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2019
Thank you so much for this lovely review - we are really pleased that you had such a good stay, despite the wintry weather we have experienced over these last few days.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonmA47...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place to escape the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed February 26, 2019 for a stay in February 2019

Good cottage in a great location with lots of walks nearby. Woodburner kept us very cosy but we had a February heatwave too! We all had a good, relaxing time in and around Haltwhistle, with good company and away from the hustle and bustle. Didn't want to leave!

Date of stay: February 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2019
Many thanks for this lovely review and so pleased that this unseasonably, warm weather coincided with your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALAENC812
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Idyllic Location ”
Reviewed February 24, 2019 for a stay in February 2019

A lovely week spent at Stonecrop, a warm and welcoming cottage in an idyllic location. Great personal touches around the cottage, cosy lounge with wood-burner, well-equipped kitchen with underfloor heating. Ideal for walking directly from the cottage, good location for exploring Hadrian’s Wall and surrounding towns and villages. Welcoming gifts of Prosecco, coffee and chocs were a very nice touch.

Date of stay: February 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 10, 2019
So pleased you had such a good winter break at Stonecrop, and many thanks for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2018 for a stay in December 2018

Date of stay: December 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2019
Thank you so much for the lovely review - glad you had such a super time. Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ASHB25
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely, cosy, spatious, country cottage”
Reviewed October 31, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

We loved this cottage and were "wow-ed" by it. The location is perfect for those wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of town life and traffic jams. Its in the middle of no where. Sheep, cows and horses all around. Walking by day, flicking through a book in the evening by the log burner with a glass of whiskey. No need to bring any books - the cottage is virtually a library!
All the stuff to keep the kids entertained (pens and paper, books, toys, tv, videos).
The washer and dryer were a godsend!
One to remember for a future visit.

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2018
What a lovely review, thank you! So glad you and your family had such a wonderful time. We look forward to seeing you at Stonecrop again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick M
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Forth lovely break at this cottage”
Reviewed October 11, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

This is the forth time we have stayed at Stonecrop in the past few years, so it's becoming like home from home. Lovely old period cottage in very quiet rural hamlet of Eals, midway between Haltwhistle and Alston. Located in lovely Northumberland countryside with walks straight from the doorstep. Ideal for pure peace and quiet. We have stayed with our dog and it's perfect dog friendly cottage, all mod cons yet the feel of a traditional stone country cottage. We look forward to our next stay. Thank You.

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing