We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than just 'fine'”
Review of The Black Bull

The Black Bull
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Haltwhistle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking
Description: Small traditional real ale pub. Offering a cozy, friendly & welcoming environment for both tourists & locals alike. We cannot provide restaurant service or capacity. Just good honest pub fayre for individuals, couples & small parties. Please note. We are unable to accommodate parties of 6 or more.
Dalton, United Kingdom
1 review
“More than just 'fine'”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Having planned a concert trip to Newcastle the only thing left to do was arrange a 'food stop' at a suitable location. This was decided, by reason of time and distance travelled, to be Haltwhistle. Our planned stop off time of 5pm appears to be earlier than most establishments open for evening meals on a Sunday. This became apparent after contacting another establishment to be told a straight 'no' when asked if a 5pm meal would be possible. Not so with the Black Bull, Kevin the landlord was more than accomodating and made arrangements for our early arrival and need for a quick turn around. Menus were made available days in advance and plenty serving staff avilable to ensure food was destributed in a speedy manner.

The food ordered was delivered quickly and without incident and was of a good quality in terms of produce used and final presentation. The cost was as reasonable as any other establishment of its like and the lengthy process of paying, required by our group, was accepted without complaint of bad grace.

The pub itself is a quirky and intimate local pub and despite its rugged appearance is clean and well presented. It is a place where even the deapest of deap cleans would leave it looking exactly the same and that is how it should remain.

The atmosphere appeared lively and welcoming to members of my group and our only real regret is that we could not have spent more time as part of out stop over. I have read several articles highlighting the perceived character flaws of Kevin the owner and can only speak for my personal experience of him; having liased and arranged the visit prior to our arrival I had found him to be helpful and professional in his service delivery. On our arrival he communicated in a polite and factual way and directed us to our seating and served us in a manner that was without fault. This was consistant with the nature of our relationship during our visit and his approach was neither rude nor overbearing.

A relaxing and enjoyable visit which will be repeated in the future.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cameron s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    147
    27
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Just what we wanted”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very cosy pub with a very friendly atmosphere. We had decided to find a local pub for dinner after our walk along the Burn in Haltwhistle. The food was lovely - not a drop was left and the desserts were too good to pass up! Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beebop86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We visted The Black Bull quite a few times during our holiday to Haltwhistle. The staff were all lovely and Kevin the owner whilst promoting his grumpy persona is actually secretly friendly. A really good selection of ales which are changed regularly plus a good selection of wine and the two meals we had were lovely with lots of choice. My only gripe is that we couldn't eat there every day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Christmas Cheers!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Black Bull in Haltwhistle is a local pub for ourselves, although we have to travel 25 minutes to reach it! We were familiar with the friendly staff, the clientèle (who actually talk to everyone), the "grumpy old b**terd" owner Kevin (his t-shirt says so) and the superb atmosphere of the old building with its roaring fires and oak beams. What we were unfamiliar with was the quality of the food. We discovered that Kevin was opening this year for Christmas Day lunch and thought it would make a lovely treat for Mum and a change of routine for the kids. Well, we were so glad we did! The festive atmosphere was great, the pub warm and welcoming and the quality of the food was terrific. It was a set 3-course meal with coffee and mince pies to finish - choice of three for each course. Something to please everyone, home-cooked, fresh produce and plenty of everything. We finally rolled out the door to head home at about 4.00pm and couldn't eat another thing all evening! Planning to go again next year and will definitely call in during the week for a meal from the regular menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“awful,just awful”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

from the outside it looked like we had found a little gem,it was equally charming on the inside but how wrong we (7) where.what an awful barman what with his dirty unwashed and uncared for looks to his overpowering bad manners,the menu was quite good but very expensive for run of the mill pub grub,(dont expect nice veg or ample amounts) during our week in Haltwhistle we found great places to eat and Haltwhiste has lots to offer visitors so dont be put off by me,just avoud the bearded wonder in the Black Bull.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank walter221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Bull also viewed

Haltwhistle, Northumberland
Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham
 
Haltwhistle, Northumberland
Haltwhistle, Northumberland
 
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to The Black Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing