We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm, welcoming, amazing food and real ales.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Bull

The Black Bull
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Haltwhistle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking
Description: Small traditional real ale pub. Offering a cozy, friendly & welcoming environment for both tourists & locals alike. We cannot provide restaurant service or capacity. Just good honest pub fayre for individuals, couples & small parties. Please note. We are unable to accommodate parties of 6 or more.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm, welcoming, amazing food and real ales.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Kevin Ellis and his crew run an excellent pub. The atmosphere is warm and inviting, and the coal fire keeps the ancient pub cozy. The food is outrageously good, with generous portions. There are several hand-pumped, cask conditioned ales at the bar, and the selection rotates. The servers are charming and attentive. If you complain about anything here you are either way too picky or an absolute idiot.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DerekMaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    144
    27
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinmburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Scots invade Haltwhistle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Well what can one say indeed? The Black Bull is a great public house, with enough different beers for most pallets. The Food is excellent and filling. And the staffs are efficient it making sure you don’t have to wait to long. As for the Owner, he was great company and after putting up with a bunch of Scots. He made the night the best for all concerned. So hats off too, Keith, and all his staff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank romandavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Flat iron steak was so tasty I could have eaten it till I passed out! Drinks are a little pricey but ale selection is great, shame there are no regular ales but it does make you try new ales.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant find, reccommend a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Small gem with plenty of real ale and amazing food! Will definitely go back if we're ever anywhere near the area!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Pub Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was our second visit to Haltwhistle, and the main reason we went back was to have a drink and dinner at the Black Bull. It's everything a pub should be; good ales and spirits, absolutely fantastic food, and very pleasant company. We took a shine to Kevin - et al.- on our first trip, and made a lot more new friends this time around - locals and other visitors - no one is a stranger here for long. It's so nice to find a place where conversation isn't a dying art. Reet Canny Craic indeed!

Between my wife and I, we ate six meals at the Black Bull and everything was five star. Including the desserts. We also tried every beer on tap - an excellent selection - and a couple of scotchs. Heartily recommended.

If you should find yourself anywhere within a fifty mile radius of Haltwhistle you owe it to yourself to head for the Black Bull. Perfect for nights out or rainy afternoons. We're already planning our next visit.

K & L

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Bull also viewed

Haltwhistle, Northumberland
Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham
 
Hexham, Northumberland
Haltwhistle, Northumberland
 

Been to The Black Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing