We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haltwhistle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burnhead Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 14 Haltwhistle B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Burnhead B & B was our second night stop along Hadrian's Wall. It is conveniently located right next to the Wall. David and Christine were great hosts. Christine picked us up from the Wall and brought us to to the B&B and she dropped us off at a pub that evening. She even helped to tape to tape up our sore feet. Lovely home and hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maura and Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 42 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

Myself and 2 friends stayed at Burnhead as a overnight stop during an Ultra Marathon event and are so glad we did, nothing was too much trouble. David picked us all up from the midway point, even going back a couple of hours later for our third team member as she was finishing later. The rooms where warm, clean and comfortable with everything you could need, including home made cakes. We had a lovely meal at the local pub and a very restful nights sleep and as we needed to be out again for 8am to start the second day, David and Christine where still happy to get up early and make sure we had a full breakfast before driving us back to the midway point. Couldn't recommend this place enough, the location is truly stunning, hope to return one day when we have more time to explore

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mishkadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We enjoyed a weekend at Burnhead . On arrival, David and Christine there to welcome us and even helped with our luggage. Welcomed with cake and a most welcome "brew". Slept very well, beautiful room, warm with en-suite bathroom, every amenity you could wish for. Awoke feeling very refreshed, stoked up on a hearty homecooked breakfast....If you've never had "Billy Bell's" sausages, you've never lived. Set off on a good circular walk to Walltown in the face of a howling wind. But the knowledge of the return to a warm room and a hot shower more than made up for it. A pleasant evening in the Milecastle Inn and another undisturbed and restful sleep. An excellent breakfast again and packed and ready to return home, having had a splendid mini break. I would have no hesitation in recommending Burnhead to anyone, nothing is too much trouble and it is a home from home.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

A lovely B&B, right on Hadrians Wall, with friendly and accommodating hosts. Good value for money. We have been using this B&B as a base for walking sections of the wall on and off for around 6 years and we have always been very made very welcome. A lovely part of the country to visit - there's something for everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We booked into this B&B having checked the location, which looked perfect for our Hadrian's Wall Walk. We had walked 28km that day, so were tired and looking forward to a hot bath and rest. We were shown to our room having been rather ticked off about our arrival time (early evening). The room was quite small and not very comfortable, with a tiny bathroom. In the morning the land lady shouted at us several times to leave, which was unnecessary and rude. It was blowing a gale and absolutely lashing with rain as we stepped out onto the path and it would have been nice if the landlady had offered us shelter for a few minutes while the storm passed instead of tutting loudly as we shut the door!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nandi64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We actually received a lovely welcome however it soon became evident that if we had been any later we would have been an inconvenience for the owners as they were 'meeting friends for drinks at the local pub'.

I didnt have a very good sleep as i was cold., the duvets were very thin.

The next morning the breakfast was average but then at 1005 we had already been told twice to vacate our rooms as they had made arrangements to go walking for the day.

When the baggage transfer company arrived we were shouted 'not to keep him waiting as well'.. I have to add at this point that we had not been given a check out time, if it had been in the booklet, then i apologise as i was too tired to read it.

As we went to pay we were told that they dont take cards.. The owner then drove my partner into Haltwhistle (like a naughty boy) for him to get cash as i sat, very uncomfortably, in the porch as she hurriedly tidied the bedrooms. Who doesnt take debit cards these days..had we been informed of this when we booked, we would have made sure we had enough cash to pay.

There was another couple staying and were hurried out in the same way... and i thought it was extremely rude that the owner 'tutted' when they left.

Providing you turn up and leave when it suits the owners then im sure you will have a pleasant stay but I wont be going back. In fact i would go as far as to say i was quite disgusted at how we and the other couple were treated.

I wish we had stayed in our tent that night!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ZOE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Friendly and welcoming. Lovely location right on Hadrian's Wall

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Matthew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haltwhistle hotels
1.5 mi away
Ald White Craig Farm
Ald White Craig Farm
#3 of 11 in Haltwhistle
62 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kellah Farm B&B
Kellah Farm B&B
#5 of 14 in Haltwhistle
144 reviews
2.1 mi away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#14 of 14 in Haltwhistle
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grey Bull Hotel
Grey Bull Hotel
#7 of 14 in Haltwhistle
169 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wydon Farm B&B
Wydon Farm B&B
#6 of 14 in Haltwhistle
139 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bridge House Bed & Breakfast Hadrian's Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnhead Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnhead Bed and Breakfast

Address: Cawfields | Northumberland National Park, Haltwhistle NE49 9PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Haltwhistle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Haltwhistle
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing