We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet farm/B&B oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kellah Farm B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kellah Farm B&B
Ranked #5 of 16 Haltwhistle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweet farm/B&B oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We loved Kellah farm. Our children loved participating in the life of a real working farm. Katie and Lesley are both delightful. Everything was wonderfully relaxed. Our room was pretty and immaculate, all very comfortable. We hope to come back!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alfonso M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
63
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a three night break at Kellah Farm and from the moment we arrived were made to feel welcome and relaxed. Lesley and Kate were helpful, friendly and attentive from the off and throughout our stay did extra little things (including helping to dry our walking socks!) to accommodate us. Our room was very comfortable and along with the usual also included a mini fridge which was a welcome addition in the Northumberland heatwave! We were in the area for walking and cycling but I can appreciate how a pool table, table football, large comfortable lounge with games and books etc and safe grounds would be a great for families. Food wise the breakfasts at the farm were wonderful. Fresh eggs from the chucks were especially tasty scrambled and the variety of fresh fruit and cereal was excellent. Outside of the farm The Wallace Arms just half an hours walk (including a fairly steep climb), was typical country pub with good food and friendly locals. The Greenhead Inn in Greenhead was also very good for food but on the Thursday night we ate it was very busy and we were lucky to get a table without booking. The attention to detail at this B & B was very impressive and we had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed at Kellah Farm for 2 nights with my family, boys aged 6 and 5. I was welcomed by Lesley and shown round immediately. Our room was light and airy with plenty of space, with everything you would need (including a face cloth/flannel, which might not be important to some, but a welcomed addition for us). The breakfast is exeptional, catered to your specific needs. We were especially impressed with the lovely selection of fresh fruit, all prepared separately and not jumbled together in a fruit salad. The highlight of the trip was the very accomodating nature of our hosts, bikes were provided for the children and we were able to go and see the resident farm tawny owl called Trevor. A big hit with both parents and children. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

had a wonderful 2 night stay. Lesley and Kate made us feel very much at home, and the breakfast was terrific - incredible fresh fruit selection and choices of full english or smoked haddock plus vegetarian. We did manage to see their resident owl which was great, and the teenagers enjoyed a few games of pool. The local restaurants were consistently good - see other reviews for details (we did like the Wallace Arms). Watch the narrow roads - a fully loaded hay wagon on a single track road makes life interesting! The local area was great for Hadrian's wall of course, and the Sycamore Gap part is a great walk on a nice day (but somewhat strenuous). The Roman Army museum and Vindolanda are also very well done and worth a visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms we had were great, with ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCAW29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Kellah Farm is an excellent place to stay when walking the Pennine Way. It's just a 5 minute walk from Kellah Burn. It's the sort of place that a long distance walker can take stock, regroup and move on in a much better shape. I was greeted by Lesley and her daughter Kate and was immediately made to feel welcome despite being wet and muddy. After a lovely pot of tea I was shown my room which was probably one of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in with a beautiful en suite shower room. Next door was a lovely bath which I took full advantage. My room even had a mini fridge.

Unlike many first class hotels these days Kellah Farm has a large and very comfortable lounge. It also has a proper drying room.

If requested in advance dinner can be provided which I have to say was excellent. Breakfast was also excellent and included a beautifully presented fruit platter and eggs from their own chickens.

The only problem with this place is that it is so comfortable I nearly stayed longer and gave up the Walk!!

And one final point... I just happened to mention that my feet were a bit sore and without further ado was provided with a foot spa which did wonders.

If only all B&B's were like this.
Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

What a great find is Kellah. It's a real home in the country and very handy for visiting Hadrians Wall. We fully agree with all the previous positive comments with only one exception. The best place to eat for miles around is not the Wallace Arms but is; by a great length The Kirkstyle Inn after all its ranked #1 on this site! Totally recommend Kellah and Kirkstyle.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

After the celebrations of the Jubilee weekend, we wanted something for just a couple of nights. After trawling through website after website and nearly giving up, we managed to find Kellah Farm, it had 5* from Tripadvisor so we couldn't believe it was available.
It is a working farm so Lesley, the owner, was held up when we first arrived, but we were greeted by a gentleman who showed us through to the lounge. Lesley followed a little while later and showed us to our family room. The room was large, spacious, airy, clean and immaculate. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bed linen and towels - sparkling white!!
Lesley lives in one of the cottages on the farm so the aforementioned lounge is a communial area with TV, games for the children and the added bonus of a table football game which went down a storm with the girls!!
I don't usually have cooked breakfast but because of the previous comments on the website I thought I'd give it a go. I'm so glad I did - it was delicious!! Beautiful orange coloured poached egg (from the resident chickens) and fabulous sausages. If you don't want the cooked option, there is plenty of fresh fruit and/or cereal to choose from.
Excellent local knowledge from Lesley and Kate, friendly atmosphere, good food and comfortable accomodation certainly make this B&B worthy of the 5* recommendations. If you're up that way be sure to give it a try.
(My only complaint would be that there are too many fake flowers, fresh ones would be a lovely touch).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolate06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haltwhistle
10.9 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
11.3 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Wydon Farm B&B
Wydon Farm B&B
#4 of 16 in Haltwhistle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Ald White Craig Farm
Ald White Craig Farm
#2 of 9 in Haltwhistle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
3.5 mi away
Centre of Britain Hotel
Centre of Britain Hotel
#3 of 16 in Haltwhistle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grey Bull Hotel
Grey Bull Hotel
#7 of 16 in Haltwhistle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellah Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellah Farm B&B

Property: Kellah Farm B&B
Address: Kellah Farm, Haltwhistle NE49 0JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Haltwhistle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Haltwhistle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kellah Farm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kellah Farm, our "4 star, Silver awarded" B&B in Hadrian's Wall Country. Whether you're looking for a modern farmhouse Bed & Breakfast or a traditional self-catering cottage, Kellah provides comfortable accommodation in a peaceful countryside setting.The newly-converted, self-contained Bed & Breakfast unit was previously 'The Pitman's Arms' public house, before its closure in the late 1800's. In 2006 we began converting the buildings into one unit and opened for business in 2007.Our three self-catering holiday cottages were previously miner's smallholdings and still have many of the original features. Our family have farmed at Kellah since 1849 and Kellah its self dates back to the 1400's. Kellah Farm B&B has been awarded a "Breakfast Award" and also a "Dark-Sky Friendly" award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kellah Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing