We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit of a hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Norton Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bit of a hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here in a family room, cosy and more importantly good beds. Breakfast substantial and staff friendly and helpful. If you are looking for value for money but want something better than a chain this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wageouris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    119
    44
    18
    18
See reviews for
43
159
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lovely clean hotel. Room well equipped & comfortable bed. Friendly staff & yummy breakfast! Bathroom was clean, shower fabulous. Although the hotel is out of the way we were close enough to Lincoln and Newark, both only being a short drive away. We also had a gorgeous meal at the green man pub which we would recommend to anyone staying at norton lodge, it's a 2 minute drive from the hotel.
We had booked this hotel through a KGB deal but would definitely return to pay the full price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara_t_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at Norton Lodge for two nights. The room was excellent, not big but warm, a really good shower, comfy bed, flat screen TV with freeview and free wifi. The only thing it lacked was a view. The windows looking into the courtyard are obscured glass so people cannot look in.
The breakfast is really really good. There is cereal and a full buffet. The items on the buffet are kept fresh. I have had a lot of hotel breakfasts but always dread the hard rubber fried eggs. The eggs at Norton Lodge were always fresh with runny yokes. This morning we asked for poached eggs and these were excellent.
The staff are very helpful and polite.
A good place to stay for Lincoln, Newark and Lincolnshire.
The hotel is not a hotel in the sense of having bars etc, but it is a good place to stay if you need a bed and breakfast. There are very good pubs in the area, we had a really good meal at the Five Bells at Bassingham, just a short drive away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyP56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Booked this hotel for an overnight stay whilst attending a wedding in Lincoln.
Arrived on a beautiful sunny day in February after finding it somewhat difficult to find the hotel which is a bit hidden away in the countryside.
Room generally clean and to an acceptable standard,
What is lacking are any facilities. If you just want a place to rest your head fine but otherwise look somewhere else.
Breakfast was a buffet affair and was in a crowded area in front of reception.
The overall impression was a place run on a shoestring.

Room Tip: Pick one on the ground floor, No 2 outside or one inside the main complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

What a wonderful relaxing stay in a gorgeous hotel.crisp clean bedding ,spotless bathroom and tasty filling breakfast.we will definitely be staying again. Peaceful nights sleep with only the occasional sound of a barn owl i luckily got to see flying.

Room Tip: You have to check out 5 bells pub, lovely evening meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMANDA g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stopped at Norton Lodge for the weekend. About 30 mins from Lincoln but that wasn't an issue. Place was very peaceful and secluded, but easy to find. Staff were helpful and breakfast was great. We found the standard of cleanliness very high. The local pub, a 10 minute walk away, was also friendly and welcoming.

Enjoyed the stay and would certainly stop there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel is quite a drive from the centre of Lincoln, but we found it warm and welcoming. The room was extremely clean and breakfast was delicious.This is more of a conference centre than a hotel so it is best to use it as a base when in the area as there are no "attractions" either in the hotel or nearby.

Room Tip: There are only 2 floors, so every room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norton Disney
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
#1 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Deincourt Hotel
BEST WESTERN Deincourt Hotel
#6 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
11.3 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
6.2 mi away
Millgate House Hotel
Millgate House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Norton Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: Old Harbour Farm Newark Road, Norton Disney LN6 9JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Norton Disney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Norton Disney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Norton Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Norton Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing