We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful self catering stay at Poachers Den log cabin”
Review of Poachers Den

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holbeach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poachers Den
Ranked #6 of 7 Holbeach B&B and Inns
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful self catering stay at Poachers Den log cabin”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We rented a Log Cabin from Rob and Audery in January 2013 for three weeks whilst moving home and thoroughly anjoyed our stay. The weather was very cold but with the heaters on it was very cosy and comfortable and warm. The Log Cabins are rated 3 star and were fully equipped. Linen was changed weekly and everything else was provided. we had to pay for the electricity used but this was fair and we were given a discount for weeks two and three. It was very quiet and peaceful and pheasant roamed around freely. Great accommodation and friendly and helpful people.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennethbooth1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
2
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Very welcoming and homely stay, enjoyed several nights with Rob & Audrey who were great hosts.

Extremely comfortable rooms with good en-suite facilities, fantastic cooked breakfast by Rob each morning.

Town centre within easy walking distance with good pubs & restaurants and all facilities needed.

Ample off road safe parking, large grounds & garden for warm nights. Sadly dog, 'Zues' had passed away.

So no usual welcome greeting from him!

Good luck for the future
CJC

Room Tip: 'Four Poster' bed, double room in Cottage was a lovely treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliffC677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Poachers Den is a family run B&B. The host was very friendly. Facilities were good. Stayed just one night, but will certainly use again. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Each room is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Nice homely accommodation, close to centre town. Well equipped. Beds a bit basic - could do with a bit of an upgrade. Very friendly owner and dog. Good breakfast and good value for money

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We were staying for just one night. When we arrived in the car park the large dog followed the car and waited for the driver to get out. Once we got out we followed him in. This was the best welcoming ive ever recieved. Although he may seem aggressive at first, be assured that he is one amazingly warm, friendly and lovable dogs.

The room was well equipped and not oversold. Almost every hotel i've stayed in has been oversold. The room came with en suite and a flatscreen TV with freeview channels. This was the first time ever i had had a flatscreen TV.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stayed in Ecklinville House at Poachers Den for two nights whilst on business in July and will return. Excellent Full English breakfast...wow...I got though it , but only just!! I had a twin en-suite room and it was exceptionally clean and well decorated and fitted out and I felt right at home! really good value for a four star rated accommodation. Rob and Audrey were so friendly and helpful. Tea or coffee could be made in their kitchen at any time and there was an fantastic guest lounge with a 42" TV...also internet connection, which was very helpful.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We spent 5 days at Poachers Den Cottage and would highly recommend it. We found the key in the door as pre-arranged and loved the feel and atmosphere of the cottage. Everything was so clean and tidy and very nicely furnished and painted whilst still maintaining the "cottage" feel. Rob introduced himself early evening and was so welcoming and friendly. Zues the dog was so lovely and always greeted us and saw us to and from the car...so sweet!! The gardens and grounds were really nice to walk around and so well tended. we would recommend this accommodation very highly. Nice to have a separate shower and bath in each of the rooms.

Room Tip: lovely four poster bed in the double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holbeach
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Spalding Hotel
5.2 mi away
Travelodge Kings Lynn Long Sutton
0.4 mi away
The Mansion House Hotel
The Mansion House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Holbeach
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elloe Lodge
Elloe Lodge
#1 of 7 in Holbeach
96 reviews
2.7 mi away
Westgate House & Barn
Westgate House & Barn
#1 of 1 in Whaplode
29 reviews
2.7 mi away
Whaplode Manor
Whaplode Manor
#2 of 7 in Holbeach
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poachers Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poachers Den

Property: Poachers Den
Address: 34 Fen Road | South Lincolnshire, Holbeach PE12 8QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Holbeach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Holbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Poachers Den" provides 4 Star Bed & Breakfast Accommodation in the main house called Ecklinville and also 4 Star Self Catering Accommodation in Poachers Den Cottage and 3 Star Individual Log Cabins. We are within easy walking distance of Holbeach town centre where there are some very nice pubs and a wide variety of restaurants and take-aways. Poachers Den is situated on a 2 acre site with attractive gardens backing onto open fields. The Log Cabins are in a wooded area facing the fields. The B&B rooms are all en-suite and there is an extremely well furnished guest lounge and dining room. Tea and coffee making facilities are available in the main kitchen. We are well renowned for our Full English Breakfasts but we also cater for all breakfast tastes. Everything is provided for in our Self Catering accommodation...guests only have to provide their own consumables and food and drink. Bedding is changed weekly for guests who stay longer term.We aim to provide a place to stay for the widest possible clientele in a homely atmosphere with little fuss or interference allowing you to come and go as you please. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poachers Den Holbeach, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing