We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Perfect Rural Getaway”
other travelers have booked this property
Montgomery's Coach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Montgomery's Coach House
Welcome Party Welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
Montgomery's Coach House
Welcome Party
Welcome
Dogs love the flagstone floor with under floor heating!
Somewhere to hang your coat after a nice, long walk
Oak and brickwork give character
Lobby leads through to the open plan living area
Living room with underfloor heating and cosy wood burner
Wood Burner for Cosy Days or Nights in. A fire guard is provided
Dining table and chairs for 4 if you choose to eat in. TV has internet connection and BlueRay DVD
Fully Fitted Integrated Kitchen appliances, including dishwasher, washer/dryer and microwave
Cook in, or eat out pub and cafe less than 5 minutes away, it's your choice!
View to the deck from the kitchen. Guests tell us the window makes a handy serving hatch for BBQs!
Upstairs Downstairs View
Galleried landing with night light
Quality oak doors and furniture compliment original beams
Quality, hypo-allergenic bedding. Choice of super king double beds, or ....
Full-size twins, just ask.
Rooms are styled with care and equipped with TV/DVD players, hair dryers, hot water bottles, etc.
Plenty of storage in both bedrooms for all your things
Kids love the infinity mirror!
Heated towel rail and soft, fluffy towels
Powerful shower and loads of hot water. Toiletries provided.
Outside, original Coach House doors are retained and incorporated into the new design
A gated and fenced driveway with ample parking
Private deck area with seating for four, parasol and BBQ
Deck leads to gated and fenced grass area ideal for dogs
We've had loads of dogs to stay of all breeds. We try to make sure they love their holiday too
A gated, fenced grass area for those essential doggy ablutions. A poo bin is provided
Beautiful Herefordshire countryside
On a good day, you can see 4 counties when out walking nearby
Whitney toll bridge - canoe or kayak under it and stop off at the pub a minute from your front door
Rural relaxation
Hay Bluff, the Black Mountains, Brecon Beacons - all close by and so much more too
The Coach House is an ideal base for visiting the annual Hay Festival
Markets and festivals happen in Hay all year round
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitney-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pennypott...
Feltham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Absolutely Perfect Rural Getaway”
Reviewed March 17, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Mongomery's Coach House is located in the tiny hamlet of Whitney-on-Wye. Close to book lovers Hay-on-Wye and within easy reach of Hereford and the Brecon Beacons - so a real delight for walkers and culture vultures alike. We were warmly welcomed on arrival by owners Alison and Steve who showed us how everything worked and gave us some really useful hints about the local area. The Coach House is a beautifully renovated and converted old building finished with lots of bespoke oak fittings and quality furnishings. Really well equipped kitchen with everything you need on a break. Great relaxed seating area and large screen tv for those nights in. Underfloor heating makes it very comfortable underfoot. During our visit we experienced un-seasonal warmth and sunshine for the Welsh borders area - but it was clear that this property would be toasty warm in the depths of winter. Upstairs two mirror image bedrooms are equipped with huge, comfy, super king-size beds which can be un-linked to provide two singles in each bedroom. An added bonus is that each room has it's own tv..Roof lights give you a window to the dark skies and amazing stars. No bath - but a super powerful and spacious shower. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable - lots of really thoughtful touches like the shower gels,soaps, hair dryers and alarm clocks upstairs. Downstairs we were left a welcome basket of local goodies and there was milk, tea and coffee for our arrival refreshments. Lots of local info is available to help you get out and about in this beautiful part of the world. Parking is on a secure drive beside the coach house with plenty of room for a couple of vehicles. Outside there is a decked area and just beyond a secure grassed garden area for doggy friends. Wi-fi was more than acceptable but absolutely no signal for O2 mobiles - (which was a bonus in some way) not sure about coverage for other networks. Although located in a tiny village - just a few minutes walk down the lane is a very acceptable pub that serves a good variety of lunchtime and evening food and local ciders and ales. A few metres further on is a Farm shop on the main road where you can enjoy a relaxing coffee or light lunch and just round the corner is a local garage that doubles up as a village shop - handy for the morning papers and milk. Transport is a must for this location - but if you are looking for a rural idyll with an injection of modern comforts then Montgomery's comes highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 18, 2017
I'm sure not sure where to start Penny, although thank you ever so much for your superb review might be the right place.

For any future guests who may may read this: Penny has just about covered everything from our location to the attributes of the local area and amenities via our parking arrangements and the fact that we supply most things you are likely to need including soap, shower gel and and an alarm clock! (On second thoughts, forget the alarm clock - when you come here you are supposed to be on holiday...)

We look forward to you coming back Penny so that you can be crowned the conqueror of Pen-y-Fan! Best wishes to you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend away”
Reviewed March 17, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Had a long weekend away in Monty's coach house and we were very sad to leave.
The coach house itself has the wow factor and we couldn't believe our luck as Steve showed us around what was ours for 3 nights. We loved it so much we joked about moving in permanantly. Lots of character plus modern fittings and our favourite, the log fire in the living room. The most equipped self catering kitchen we've ever had and essentials provided in the fridge too! The cleanliness of the coach house was immaculate.
The welcome basket for us and treats for the dog really gave a great first impression.
Steve and Alison were both friendly and close by if visitors have any queries. What is provided by the owners goes way beyond expectation and is fantastic value for money.
On our last evening we had dinner at The Boat inn which was delicious and huge portions! And only about 50m down the road.
If like us you have a dog with you then there are lots of fab woodland walking routes to explore which our dog loved, as did we. The property has a small garden for dogs to use, which also has robins and rabbits visiting which is lovely to watch from the kitchen.
I'm not someone who regularly writes reviews but this place is too great not to give them credit! We will definitely be back again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 17, 2017
How lovely of you Christina D to leave us such a great review - even more so as you say it is not something you normally do. Thank you.

Obviously we are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us, however I'm not sure that if you did move in permanently our future guests would appreciate lodgers! We do try very hard to ensure that our guests have all they need and value for money these days is also very important to us. As you may have discovered, even though the pub is only a short walk down the road, having eaten one of their fantastic meals it can seem a lot longer on the way back.......

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see all three of you again soon. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser M
Siena
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect few days in a gorgeous, cosy cottage”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This was the perfect base for attending a wedding at nearby Whitney Court. Alison made my friends and I very welcome on arrival and we were delighted to see that Montgomery's Coach House was every bit as lovely as it appears in the pictures! We were very comfortable in what is a very well kitted out and furnished conversion. All of us would be very happy to stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2017
Given our location and history with Whitney Court in days gone by, our property once housed their Land Agent and our Coach House was where he kept his pony and trap, we were almost obligated to make it the perfect place to stay for wedding guests!

We are delighted of course that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking. Do consider staying with us again the next time you are in this part of the world - perhaps on a short holiday! Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jet66210
1 review
“Christmas 2016”
Reviewed December 30, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Our Christmas visit could not have been better, the cottage is a total delight with everything you could possibly need and was warm and cosy. We were made very welcome by Steve and Alison and particularly appreciated the basket of goodies they left for us and our dog was delighted with his share of goodies! The location of the cottage is very peacful with lovely walks minutes away and beautiful countryside all around.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2016
How kind of you to post a review saying your Christmas could not have been better; we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that your dog enjoyed his present as well. Perhaps you would have withheld it had you known he would roll in something unpleasant! (Sorry for all your sakes that we couldn't provide you with the means to clean him up closer than next door......)
If you are able to head out this way again you would all be more than welcome, the walks are even better in the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l0uiseguk
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed December 5, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights in half term and absolutely loved it. Alison and Steve were the perfect hosts and have a brilliant cottage to stay in. It was immaculately presented, has everything anyone could need and even a wealth of information about the area is provided too. The cottage is gorgeous, the outside area ideal for the dogs and the grassy play area they loved. Our two dogs really liked the cottage too, especially the underfloor heating on their paws and the lovely walks around the area.

The area is lovely. Its quiet and tranquil yet everything you need is a short drive away.

We enjoyed 3 meals out, two at the Boat and one at the Sun and all 3 were lovely. Couldn't fault the pubs, the food, the service, the locations, nothing.

It was the perfect place to get away from it all and we will be returning next time we are in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2016
Hi l0uiseguk, what a nice review, thank you, we are always happy when our guests are happy; it's funny how our human visitors like the pubs and the dogs the underfloor heating!

We are so pleased you liked the Coach House and of course the lovely area in which we are fortunate to live. The English/Welsh border is a great part of the world; I always feel it's a bit of a well kept secret - whatever you do don't tell anyone! Joking aside, it's great when we chat with our guests and they invariably say how lovely the surrounding countryside is and just how many different things there are to do here if they wanted to - at whatever time of they year.

Do come back and see us again sometime, it would be nice to see 'all four' of you again. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2016
Recharging batteries is our speciality. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us GracieH67, and that Mum, Dad and Son also had a good time as well; the restorative power of a welsh cake should never be underestimated - especially if washed down with Herefordshire cider!
We look forward to welcoming you all back before too long. Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jackie281
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely and well thought through cottage in the Herefordshire countryside”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a relaxing stay at Monty's coach house which was equipped with everything we could need and to an exceptionally high standard. Alison and Steve were on hand to give advice if needed and even provided some herbs for our dinner! The accommodation is lovely and the basket of local goodies was very welcome on arrival. Our 2 dogs enjoyed some good walks in the beautiful surrounding countryside and the cottage and secure garden areas were perfect for them. We were easily able to visit Hay-on Wye and enjoyed some delicious meals both there and at The Boat Inn just a short walk from the cottage. We certainly hope to visit again to explore further afield!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and facilities
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2016
Thank you very much jackie281 for taking the time to add a review after your recent stay. We are very pleased that you liked 'Monty's' and found everything to your liking - it was of course no problem supplying the herbs for you dinner, in fact it was a much easier request to fulfil than some we have been asked!
Do come back when you can; as you imply in your post, you have only had a brief taste of this great part of the world and there is so much more to see and do. Best wishes to you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing