We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fanrastic accomodation and really helpful owners”
other travelers have booked this property
Montgomery's Coach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Montgomery's Coach House
Welcome Party Welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Montgomery's Coach House
Welcome Party
Welcome
Dogs love the flagstone floor with under floor heating!
Somewhere to hang your coat after a nice, long walk
Oak and brickwork give character
Lobby leads through to the open plan living area
Living room with underfloor heating and cosy wood burner
Wood Burner for Cosy Days or Nights in. A fire guard is provided
Dining table and chairs for 4 if you choose to eat in. TV has internet connection and BlueRay DVD
Fully Fitted Integrated Kitchen appliances, including dishwasher, washer/dryer and microwave
Cook in, or eat out pub and cafe less than 5 minutes away, it's your choice!
View to the deck from the kitchen. Guests tell us the window makes a handy serving hatch for BBQs!
Upstairs Downstairs View
Galleried landing with night light
Quality oak doors and furniture compliment original beams
Quality, hypo-allergenic bedding. Choice of super king double beds, or ....
Full-size twins, just ask.
Rooms are styled with care and equipped with TV/DVD players, hair dryers, hot water bottles, etc.
Plenty of storage in both bedrooms for all your things
Kids love the infinity mirror!
Heated towel rail and soft, fluffy towels
Powerful shower and loads of hot water. Toiletries provided.
Outside, original Coach House doors are retained and incorporated into the new design
A gated and fenced driveway with ample parking
Private deck area with seating for four, parasol and BBQ
Deck leads to gated and fenced grass area ideal for dogs
We've had loads of dogs to stay of all breeds. We try to make sure they love their holiday too
A gated, fenced grass area for those essential doggy ablutions. A poo bin is provided
Beautiful Herefordshire countryside
On a good day, you can see 4 counties when out walking nearby
Whitney toll bridge - canoe or kayak under it and stop off at the pub a minute from your front door
Rural relaxation
Hay Bluff, the Black Mountains, Brecon Beacons - all close by and so much more too
The Coach House is an ideal base for visiting the annual Hay Festival
Markets and festivals happen in Hay all year round
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitney-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
geraint38...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fanrastic accomodation and really helpful owners”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The accomodation is really lovely with lots of thought and quality gone into the presentation
The owners are next door and couldn't be more helpful but entirely unobtrusive.
Access to Hay on Wye 10 minutes and 1 minute to the pub - what more could you ask!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quality accomodation
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2016
Many thanks Geraint381; Hay on Wye is indeed only ten minutes away, and we take great advantage of that fact to nip in and out to the Festival, but it was that long one minute walk that 'attracted' me to the house in the first place!
Only joking of course, as you know, the whole area is lovely. Thank you again for taking the time to review us. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridget_h...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very high standard cottage”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed here whilst visiting Hay festival. We were welcomed with a very generous food and drink pack. Cottage and garden is immaculate throughout. Beds are extremely comfortable, wanted to take it home. Very dog friendly as well if relevant. Alison and Steve were very helpful if we had any queries. Definitely would recommend. Bridget and Michael.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2016
Thank you Bridget for telling others how you found us - it's nice for us to hear of course but also very beneficial for those who follow..............

As you would have seen, the whole area is extremely busy when the fantastic Hay Festival is on but if you fancy a quieter few days away there is always the other 50 weeks of the year!

Thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you both again soon. Kind Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik B
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Top quality stay”
Reviewed May 25, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We came to Witney to attend a friends wedding at Witney Court. Montgomery's Coach House was an excellent base to do this being just down the hill from the venue although not an easy walk in period attire. Everything in the cottage is first rate with solid wood and really top quality fittings. The bed rooms are large with huge comfy beds and a really nice light feeling having two Velux type windows in each room. The living room is well laid out but is more of a snug cave having only very small windows. It does boast a good quality wood burning stove as well as underfloor heating so I could see this being a magical cave to retreat to in winter and was nice to come back to after being outdoors most of the day in summer. The decking area is private and has comfy chairs to sit on for an evening with a good book. All in all it really made our stay even more of a great memory and thanks to the owners for being welcoming and helpful even leaving a generous hamper of milk bread, butter, cakes, tea and even a big bottle of cider - all most appreciated!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great bedrooms
Liked least: no significant complaints to make
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2016
It was great to see all the wedding guests dressed in such splendid attire; a first for me was opening our front door to a caller and finding Jane Eyre stood on the door step! We also like a history and as we may have said Erik, back in the day The Agent's House, part of which Montgomery's Coach House forms, originally belonged to the Whitney Court Estate. Those nice cosy bedrooms of which you speak would have been the Land Agent's hay loft and the kitchen his pigsty! We are of course so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, what could be better than cakes and cider.... We very much hope you will travel out this way again soon. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda J
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed May 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I can only re-iterate other comments on the high standard of this property, beautifully kept and equipped with everything you need and more. It was great to be shown around by Steve on arrival and the welcome basket was a treat. The weather was not at it's best but with Hay and Hereford near by there was plenty of opportunity to escape the rain. On the evening we returned from Hereford the sun suddenly broke out and we took the opportunity for a lovely evening stroll from the cottage followed by a pint at the Boat Inn. We also enjoyed breakfast on the patio of the nearby farm shop when the sun reappeared on the day of our departure! The surrounding countryside is beautiful and the cottage is conveniently situated and very peaceful, the nearby main road is not busy and does not intrude. We would definitely stay here again if revisiting the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2016
It was extremely kind of you Amanda to post such a nice review; we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and delighted that you have taken the trouble to tell others what you liked about Montgomery's Coach House and its environs!
You would not recognise the area now as in the short space of time since you left everything has burst into life, leaves on trees, flowers in hedgerows and wildlife aplenty, you really must come back again at this time of year if you can! Many thanks once more and we look forward to seeing you before too long. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamer56...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Out of this world!”
Reviewed March 26, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Where to begin.....well it's already been said in most of the reviews but we genuinely felt as if we were the 1st to stay here.

Me my wife, 4 month old daughter and our yorkie spent 5 nights here

The cottage is immaculate from top to bottom which is a credit to the owners as they are meticulous in keeping the home in show room condition.

Lovely welcome hamper full of local produce that got us in the holiday spirt. The log burner is all set out and all you have to do is strike a match which is great for a fire bug such as me. The thing was never off!

It's not until you open the cupboards you realise how much though the owners put into making your stay comfortable, dish washer tablets, milk, butter, tea & coffee and even spare doggy poo bags should you have forgotten yours!

We made the most of our stay and tried as many of the local pubs we could, the Boat which is spitting distance from the cottage was lovely and overlooked the river. Be warned only go if hungry the portions are huge and reasonably priced

Small farm shop down the road again within walking distance offers local meat, ciders and a variety of other great stuff

We will certainly be returning to Montgomery's, looking at the availability we will have to book quick as this seems to be a very popular letting.

Thanks again both for a perfect get away!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2016
How great is that! What a lovely review, we do try and think what would we like to find on arrival somewhere away from home so we are delighted you thought we have got it right. It was also great that you thought to mention our local pub and farm shop, most of our guests spend some time in both and we are really grateful that there are such nice welcoming places for them to visit virtually on our doorstep.
The weather has been a bit changeable as you know so you were lucky to get to drink cider while sitting in the sun on our deck. Thanks for the photo I was jealous! We would be delighted to welcome you all back, as you have discovered you might like to look at some dates sooner rather than later if you are to make it before Lily goes to school! Kind regards to you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerna...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Possibly the best self catering cottage ever!”
Reviewed March 15, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Just got back from staying here after a long weekend with my wife, 4 month old baby & in-laws. When we arrived we were met by the owners, who couldn't have been more helpful. They showed us round and made sure we knew where everything was etc. A lovely little hamper of some locally made bread, crisps & cider, was a really nice touch. The house itself has been beautifully renovated to the highest standard, with the most comfy beds ever! It is well laid out and very well equipped with everything you could possibly need. Outside there is a lovely decked area, which was lovely to sit out on. Giving this cottage 5 stars does not do it justice, it needs at least 10! I hope we are able to return on day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 16, 2016
Well, what can we say! What a fantastic review, we are very grateful for such positive feedback and even happier that you enjoyed your stay so much. You did seem to catch the first rays of sun for the year and we're glad that you made the most of it by dashing out to the deck - well done!
Do come again when you are able, we would be delighted to see you all another time and thanks again for the great review and taking the time to tell your fellow travellers.. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuckit_C...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed March 7, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This cottage is one of the best we've ever stayed in, the quality and finish of the property is outstanding and second to none. The cleanliness was amazing, everything felt like we were the first to use it. Super comfy beds, lovely bathroom, great places to walk the dogs, lovely welcome hamper. You won't be disappointed if you stay here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2016
No one mentioned 'Chuckit_Chaps" when you stayed with us but we know who you are! Thank you for the fantastic review, we are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us and that you seemed to be so happy with it all! You said on departure that you would like to return and we very much look forward to seeing you all again, it was lovely to meet you. With best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing