We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Boat Inn
Nearby Hotels
Rhydspence Inn(Whitney-on-Wye)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Inn at Brilley(Whitney-on-Wye)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
53
23
9
11
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
23
9
11
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteakthe riverthe pubsunday lunchgarlic mushroomslovely tablelarge partyexcellent foodplace to eatstaff were friendly and efficienttagliatellefantastic mealwhitebaitfantastic locationwell worth a visitduckportions
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 116 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We camped at the pound and had food in the boat. We did book a table which is wise as it gets busy. Service was great
As was the starts be aware - great portions - so come hungry - we went for the steaks - they are huge and absolutely fantastic. I think it was one of my the best I have had recently. I would recommend this pub with great food to all. We will return.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank acmorris29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We are regular visitors to the Hay on Wye area from London and always visit the Boat Inn the food is always good and the service is always with a smile

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Upthewall100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

After eating at a couple of mediocre pubs near Hay on Wye we discovered the Boat Inn and had a very good meal with plentiful portions, reasonably priced from their extensive menu. The staff were friendly without being intrusive and the setting beside the River Wye was delightful with much bird life, from a couple of swans to swarms of water skimming house martins. We continued to dine there for the next three nights, with all meals being excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank safarijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Really nice pub. Fantastic view over the river while you are eating and the roast beef was very good.
Service was fine, beer was very good but the view was great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The pub is set on the banks of the Wye and is not particularly a looker from the outside inside, however, there are pleasant views of the river and all it's wildlife.

The food was well cooked, well presented with a large variety of dishes from which to choose. Despite range of dishes from Thai Curry through lasagne to prawn and crayfish tail salad our party opted for 3 fish and chips and 1 liver and onions followed by raspberry brûlée, mars bar cheese cake (!), bread and butter pudding and treacle sponge with custard (it was a wet and windy day and we were after comfort food!). The fish batter, I was informed, was light and non-greasy, the chunky chips were perfectly cooked, and the liver was tasty, succulent and tender. All in all above average pub grub. Total bill including 1 coffee was £64 or £16 pp.

The bar tender ( manager, owner or whatever) had a good run in witty banter but didn't infringe our personal space or conversations. Consequently a good time was had by all and I will definitely make the effort to visit this pub again. It is located 10 minutes from Hay on Wye on the Hereford Road.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jabjaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews