We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An alternative B&B of outstanding merit”
Review of New Inn at Brilley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Inn at Brilley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Me and my wife were attending a conference in Hay-on-Wye and wanted a B&B just for one night. I found The New Inn through booking.com and it looked really nice, just what we wanted and not far from Hay-on-Wye.

Daphne is lovely and we were amazed at what she has done with the property (an old pub).

If you hanker for something different from the usual hotel, B&B or guesthouse this could eb for you.

Breakfast wasn't the usual Full English which made a nice change. It would take a whole book to sum up all the features and niceties and I note that there are lots of other positive reviews other than to say try it. Outstanding countryside with great views. Go for it.

Room Tip: We had the Pink Room which afforded a view down the valley over the back garden area. I can't co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 155 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Thank You for the unique experience we had while spending our short holiday at The New Inn. All our needs were greatly catered for and the Host's personality, present in every object, gave us an opportunity for interesting conversations. Peace and tranquility of the place and its location is very nourishing. There is so much to discover that our staying left us hungry for more...
See you again
K&K

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katarzyna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This place is a real find beautiful and quirky with a wonderful host daphne really makes you feel at home, breakfast was delicious home made yogurt and eggs to die for! We were only there one night as we were at a wedding nearby but it was lovely so peaceful. We are planning to go back and buy nights there are gifts for family and friends. It is worth noting that there are no locks on the room doors and it is a shared bathroom, but we felt it certainly added to the whole experience. Enjoy

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

What a place! If you are looking for a really peaceful environment with a super friendly host (Daphne) this is the place to come. We stayed in the yurt, set on its own in a field, it was very comfortable, the elevated bed was great fun. It is equipped with a wood burning stove - which is 'super warm' and takes no time to get going. Daphne offered us Banana bread on arrival and a couple of days later walked down to us with blackberry tart and home made yoghurt. Laying in the hammock tied to a tree next door to the yurt was soooo restful. You are free to wander the small fields and the views from some areas across the Black mountains are wonderful. This is a really different place to stay, focussed on simple and very comfortable accommodation and hospitality which we have rarely experienced before. Enjoy - we did!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLAwaydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Wagon Over the vally is a wonderfully thought out retreat, the kitchen was well equipt and the wagon was charming. The views from the wagon, no matter the weather, were lovely and made the expirience enjoyable and relaxing.

Daphne is a great host, leaving us to enjoy the weekend and the position of the wagon in its own part of the property added to the feeling of privacy and independance.

We spent most of weekend planning to come back to the Wagon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

It was really a weekend to remember! Daphne made us feel relaxed and at home. Have never had a better nights sleep in such a tranquil environment. Our stay simply wasn't long enough, we enjoyed every aspect of it. We will certainly visit again as ti is a perfect place to start spectacular walks. First class! And the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Well our one nights stay didn't start too well, we were late arriving, and Dauphnie had to get out of bed to let us in. Even then, she was the perfect host, cheerful and helpful. She showed us to our room, showed us where the facilities were and asked when we wanted breakfast, and was happy to get it ready for 7:00, as we needed to leave early. She then went back to bed. Our room was definitely different, unconventional decor, very "ethnic" would be a good way to describe it. The bed was clean and comfy, it was very peaceful, no noise from vehicles or neighbours, so I sleep very well indeed. Breakfast was as described in other reviews, lots of fresh fruit, cereal, toast, eggs, orange juice, coffee and home made jam, marmalade and yogurt, all served with a smile and cheerful conversation from Dauphnie. The whole house decor fits with our room, "ethnic", with a stunning view from the kitchen where we were having our breakfast. I suggest if you want a unique bed and breakfast experience, give The New Inn a try, we enjoyed it, and I suspect you would as well.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Taff0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitney-on-Wye
1.3 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
159 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
473 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#2 of 28 in Hay-on-Wye
278 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Agent's House Bed and Breakfast
2.7 mi away
Parliament Barn
Parliament Barn
#1 of 1 in Winforton
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn at Brilley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn at Brilley

Address: Brilley, Whitney-on-Wye HR3 6HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Whitney-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Whitney-on-Wye
Price Range: $86 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"New Inn Brilley" Karma Dechen Choling is situated in a tiny village called Brilley on the hillside slopes of the Welsh borders. With stunning views on to the Black Mountains and the Brecon Beacons. A former rural Inn, the main house is adjoined by a self contained Suite sleeping 4. .... We have four options of glamping, a Wagon for 2, a Loggers Cabin for 2, a Chapel for up to 5, a Cob dwelling up to 6, and 2 60's and 70s sweet caravans, with their own small camping hobs for tea coffee. All with splendid views over the Black Mountains and the Brecon Beacons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your New Inn at Brilley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Inn At Brilley Whitney-On-Wye, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing