We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Lodge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gosport
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Booked 6 rooms at Old Lodge as we were to attend a wedding in the local area. Firstly they allowed us to take our rooms early (noon) to enable us to get ready for the wedding. This was really great as we had all travelled several hours - other hotels in area could only offer 2/3 pm check in. We received a really friendly welcome upon arrival. Our rooms were lovely. Spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. Some rooms were nicer than others but all very comfortable.
Breakfast was delicious - big and hearty! They sat all 11 of us together and all were served at the same time.
The staff are fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble - the duty manager (Lesley?) even drove a member of the family staying at another hotel back when she couldn't get a taxi until 2am! She then got back and organised late night pizzas for us!
We will definitely return to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    57
    18
    12
    12
See reviews for
79
63
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Visited for lunch whilst at a function nearby. The food was fantastic, I had the open fish finger sandwich which was delicious, the best fish I've eaten in a long time. The Lodge is family friendly and tastefully decorated. We shall return again!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CC_Mayrhofen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

On a bike ride took a pit stop. Staff helped us find a suitable place to lock our bikes while we had a drink. We sat inside and noticed the staff were helpful and friendly not only to the customers but also each other. Toilets were immaculate and I mean immaculate. Never been here before but after our brief visit and looking at the menu and I wouldn't hesitate in returning for a meal

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank henman0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here one night as family home was bursting at the seams! Pleasant and comfortable. Friendly welcome, nice room and small but adequate bathroom with masses of instant hot water. Always a plus! Breakfast was OK, but weird that the toast came on the same plate as the cooked food and no jam or marmalade on display.

I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms up 2 steep flights of stairs although I think there is a lift I only discovered as I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaOBy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

A great little place. I regularly travel and usually stay in larger chain hotels, the Old Lodge has certainly changed my mind. The warm welcome, the quality of the food and the relaxed atmosphere was a great alternative and could learn the bigger hotels a trick or too. The steak and the freshly cooked breakfast were excellent and I would definitely return. John Smiths on tap also, which is always a bonus :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Located out of central Gosport and close to the estuary means early morning walks. Food good, staff friendly and the beer garden in summer is nice. Beds very comply (I hate hard or lumpy beds). Would stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraAB159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at The Old Lodge and found it to be a very pleasant hotel.
Rooms are on the small side and nothing special - small TV etc.
The small Bar is quite busy, but also quite 'clicky' being frequented by mainly locals or friends of the owners.
Breakfast is quite good, but the service is somewhat lacking. The owners kids were in the restaurant and half way through breakfast he left to take them to school, leaving customers waiting.
Parking is very limited.
On the whole this is a pleasant place to stay, but for the price there are much better locally.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhaywardtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gosport
0.3 mi away
The Anglesey Hotel
The Anglesey Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gosport
235 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Gosport Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
0.4 mi away
Alverbank Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lodge Hotel

Property: The Old Lodge Hotel
Address: 81 The Avenue | Alverstoke, Gosport PO12 2JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Gosport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gosport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Old Lodge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The old Lodge in the heart of Alverstoke village in Gosport, is a beautiful Georgian house upgraded to 11 delightful rooms, a restaurant and bar serving the local community as well as guests from far and wide. Currently undergoing extensive refurbishment following its acquisition by local new owner Michael Pearce, it is due to open around December 2012 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hotel Gosport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing