We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel - well worth looking at.”
Review of The Anglesey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anglesey Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gosport
Devon, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quality hotel - well worth looking at.”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We had 3 excellent nights at this hotel. We were allocated a room on the third floor. Whilst walking up the stairs we wondered what we had done. The decor in the hallway is not the best - perhaps we should have gone up in the lift. Once at the room, everything changed! A lovely, well equipped room with a view out over the Solent. The room was very clean, very well decorated and appointed. We had breakfast in the dining room and evening meals in the bar. Both were excellent quality and value for money. We note that a previous comment said that the staff were unfriendly - that was certainly not our experience. If staying in the Gosport area you cannot go wrong at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAB_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raybezani, General Manager at The Anglesey Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for writing such a glowing review for our hotel. You will be pleased to learn that the stairway is currently under redecoration and the new colour scheme is a welcome change from the old. I'm glad you enjoyed our selection of food in both the restaurant and bar and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    73
    34
    15
    5
See reviews for
63
71
6
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Room spotlessly clean ,very comfortable and beautiful views. Very well staffed, and staff are quite obviously well trained and happy in their roles. Delicious breakfasts and varied menu for day/ evening., with much produce sourced locally. Lovely ambience.

Room Tip: Room 202 has the benefit of lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solwaysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raybezani, General Manager at The Anglesey Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your very positive review they are always most welcome. I believe you were with the large party that we set breakfast up in the bar for. Many of the other guests commented how great it was to have 30 people all down for a function and all being able to sit together for breakfast. It was a first for us and very enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Hadn't stayed here for a few years and it was immediately noticeable that a considerable amount of work had taken place in that time. The hotel was clean and the welcome was friendly...in fact the hotel staff were all very professional. My room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The food was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allanj2293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raybezani, General Manager at The Anglesey Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. I am very encouraged that you recognise the amount of work that is being put into the Anglesey both in in material and personnel contexts. I am generally very pleased with my staff and their performance and seldom get let down. I do hope you will return again soon and enjoy some of our wonderful weather that we experience here on the South Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel is very basic with the rooms bring clean and pleasant , the beds are quite comfortable and the bathrooms are ok . The reception area was being revamped so entrance to the hotel was via the bar , checking is was simple enough . The bar area is ok to relax and have a beer , the food is also ok is you want to stay in and eat locally . The is no hotel parking but it is very easy to park outside on the room .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepcargreeks55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raybezani, General Manager at The Anglesey Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Anglesey Hotel it is appreciated especially as the rating you gave us was all "okay". Many people do not bother even after telling me what a lovely time they have enjoyed.
I am sorry that you must have stayed in one of our older rooms as we are currently working back through the hotel to redecorate and modernize where appropriate. As you will see by other reviews we are at present working on the entrance and stair case.
I do hope you come to visit us again and enjoy the fruits of our labour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I cannot comment on the rooms in the hotel as we did not stay but the entrance hall could be called a little shabby (or maybe just quaint).

We had booked three of us for a birthday meal on Sunday and were met by the bar maid who scurried of to find our waitress. I can only say she was Miss Personality and made our evening with her service and witty banter. Absolutely first class.

Whilst deciding on food, I had a pint of London Pride which I would class as one of the best I have ever tasted....(and this from an ex Branch Secretary of CAMRA). The menu was fantastic and it took a long while to decide which dishes to have.

Between us, we had Gorgonzola salad and the Leek & Gorgonzola soup. Both dishes were excellent. I followed with a Monkfish dish and my partners had a chicken dish and a Greek style Feta & Spinach pie. All were amazing...

Dessert was a slightly more disappointing affair as there was no custard to go with our lemon sponge and several of the ice cream flavours were missing.

The gaps between courses were just right and would be expected for freshly cooked food...

All in all the meal was excellent and the prices very reasonable. I would heartily recommend eating here and we shall be back..... Oh, and give Miss Personality a pay rise - you don't want to lose her. (I think her name was Phillipa)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gosport_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raybezani, General Manager at The Anglesey Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for writing such an informative review on the meal that you enjoyed at the Anglesey Hotel. I also appreciate your comment on the Real Ale that you received especially from someone from such an eminence of good beer. You will be pleased to learn that the entrance hall has now been redecorated and hopefully a new floor will soon be laid. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. First off, it is clear that the hotel is being worked on to improve it - and that is a good thing! It shows the owner wants to really make a go of it.
We had lunch in the bar the day we arrived. The food was excellent, and the service was friendly and attentive.
That night the bed was comfortable. The room is a little tired but clearly they are working through the place. The shower over the bath was the biggest disappointment with poor flow and the shower screen leaking over the floor. However, overall it was a peaceful room and a comfortable bed and we slept well.
Breakfast was great. Freshly cooked food. Yum.
The hotel was value for money. The atmosphere is good. The food is great. As they work through the fixes and the upgrades it can only get better.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raybezani, General Manager at The Anglesey Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your review and it's very positive comments. Yes we are back working on the hotel after spending 2 years developing the Holiday Homes side of our business which can form annexes for the hotel. The glass shower screens are going to be replaced with shower curtains which I trust will alleviate the leaking problem. We look forward to a possible return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We had a perfect evening on Saturday. We were celebrating a big birthday with friends. 26 of us in all. All of the staff at the Anglesey did their very best to ensure that we had a lovely time. The room looked beautiful, the food was excellent and the service was very good. All at a great price too. We will definitely be going back. If you are in the area, book a table, you can't go wrong.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Britespark_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gosport
0.3 mi away
The Old Lodge Hotel
The Old Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Gosport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Gosport Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
3.3 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anglesey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anglesey Hotel

Property: The Anglesey Hotel
Address: 24 Crescent Road | Alverstoke, Gosport PO12 2DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Gosport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gosport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Alverstoke Village on the Gosport peninsular the Anglesey Hotel is an elegant Georgian Building dating back to the 1830’s. Recently improved with the addition of a further 8 en suited bedrooms and a lift to all floors, the hotel now has unparalleled views of the Solent and the Isle of Wight as well as Portsmouth, Gun Wharf Quays and the Spinnaker Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Anglesey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anglesey Hotel Gosport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing