We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay”
Review of The Anglesey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anglesey Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gosport
Certificate of Excellence
bicester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“overnight stay”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

very enjoyable stay free up grade on room on arrival newly refirbished bath room, quaint bar, excellent dining room, very good brealfast and amazing steak and kidney pudding for lunch.Staff vey helpful and courteous, front door key available for late revellers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gew53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    75
    35
    15
    5
See reviews for
66
74
6
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Home Counties, U.K.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

On business in Hampshire & picked this hotel because of its good reviews. I was given a small double on the third floor for single occupancy which was fine. En suite shower and nicely decorated and very clean. It would have been a bit cosy for two but suited me perfectly.

I ate at the hotel in the evening & had a very nice meal from a small but wide-ranging menu. The hotel also has a large bar decorated with a naval theme. Breakfast was perfectly adequate but some fresh fruit salad & selection of yoghurt (out of stock on the day) would have been nice.

Overall, a good hotel with high standards & I'd be happy to stay there again. It also made a pleasant change from the usual chains.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tex26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Looks grand from the outside but a bit tired looking on the inside. We were booked into a standard room for two nights, and arrived about 5pm. Once we had unpacked we discovered the heating wasn't working. Management tried their best until about 8.30pm to get it working but to no avail. A small (noisey) ineffective fan heater was put in the room. This was unacceptable so we were transferred to another room, but only to sleep as it was booked for the followiing day (we left our personal effects in the original room). That night we ate in the bar. My wife had a chicken dish, which was "OK". I had fish and chips, which was disappointing (chips were sliced thin, dry, and tasteless.). Early the following morning, after an uncomfortable night, we returned to our original room. The radiator was now barely warm. Clearly there was something wrong with the central heating system because we heard some rooms were cold and others extremely hot!
Breakfast on both days was satisfactory. On checking out we paid the full rate; and in return given an apology for the inconvenience! Very disappointing overall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raybezani, Owner at The Anglesey Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write. If I could just enlighten you that I called out a plumber and an electrician and missed a party I had planned to attend. We worked until 2245 by which time we had resolved the problem and the heating was back working throughout the hotel. The problem was an electrical fault with a zone valve that took a while to diagnose. I did keep you fully informed that we were trying our best and I am surprised that you didn't take the opportunity to tell me that you were not happy with your meal. The hotel has two central heating systems covering different parts of the hotel so that I can change peoples rooms should I have such a problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights whilst on business in gosport. Stayed earlier in the year and it was as good as I remembered! Lovely location in an attractive terrace , no problem finding on road parking nearby. My room was on the 3rd floor and I had a view of the sea one way and the spinnaker tower in the other direction . Nice sized room, well furnished with a lovely bath, the bed was very comfy and I slept like a log .ate in the restaurant, food was fab . Breakfast good tho a bit of a wait on day 1 - as there are a lot of business travellers we all seemed to arrive for breakfast at once!my only disappointment was no fresh grapefruit on buffet tho you could order it (think it was tinned) but cooked breakfast very tasty and quick on day 2. Would definitely stay again and recommend.when I read some of the reviews on trip advisor I think they must have gone to a different hotel!! Either that or they have never stayed in some of the horrible impersonal travelodges that I have!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
863 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Staff were great. Breakfast was also very good. We unfortunately had a poor start because our allocated rooms were unacceptable and had to be changed. The final rooms which we stayed in were fine but rather dated in decor.Would be nice if there was a residents lounge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollyoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights with the wife, a couple of weeks ago, due to a local wedding. The hotel is a lovely old building with some very nice period features but has fused this with a modern makeover. Room was on the small side but very, very clean and continued the modern/period feature theme. I cannot remember staying anywhere where my wife and I have had such a good nights sleep.....bed was very comfortable with tasteful bedding that matched the decoration of the room we were staying in (room 207 I believe).
Staff were very, very friendly and we really enjoyed the breakfast on both mornings. We came away very happy with our choice of hotel for the weekend and would not hesitate to book here again if we are in this neck of the woods.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A single night stay saw the use of the bar and the restaurant for breakfast.

The staff were friendly but mainly unavailable, the bar was full of rowdy locals but did add to a better atmosphere.

The rooms are clean and comfy but somewhat cramped.

Good for a single night but not a for any longer.

Room Tip: See before you accept
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johngledson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gosport
0.3 mi away
The Old Lodge Hotel
The Old Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Gosport
239 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Gosport Hotel
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,195 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
3.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anglesey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anglesey Hotel

Property: The Anglesey Hotel
Address: 24 Crescent Road | Alverstoke, Gosport PO12 2DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Gosport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gosport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Alverstoke Village on the Gosport peninsular the Anglesey Hotel is an elegant Georgian Building dating back to the 1830’s. Recently improved with the addition of a further 8 en suited bedrooms and a lift to all floors, the hotel now has unparalleled views of the Solent and the Isle of Wight as well as Portsmouth, Gun Wharf Quays and the Spinnaker Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Anglesey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anglesey Hotel Gosport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing