We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden pearl in gosport”

The Boat House Cafe Gosport Marina
Ranked #36 of 173 Restaurants in Gosport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: On the Millennium walk and with a fabulous view across Portsmouth Harbour to the Historic Dockyard and Spinnaker Tower.The Boat House Cafe at Gosport Marina is a relaxed harbour side venue for freshly ground coffees, homemade lunches and afternoon teas right through to supper – 7 days each week.Boat House Cafe customers can park free in the Gosport Marina car park for up to two hours
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A hidden pearl in gosport”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This restaurant was a surprise package for us. We had just visited the submarine museum and searched for a good lunch spot. We found lots of greasy spoon cafes and then fell upon this gem.
Seated on the waterfront we were served with a perfect continental platter for two, some good well-priced wine and excellent coffee. There is a good varied and well cooked menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    57
    10
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, lovely views!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Read previous reports regarding bad experiences at this lovely café/restaurant during the last month and booked a table with my fingers crossed. Had eaten here before in June with my husband on our wedding anniversary and it had been a enjoyable experience, so wanted to take a friend there.
We had lovely food, happy, friendly waiting staff and a table by the open doors so we could enjoy the lovely busy Portsmouth Harbour.
Yes the menu is limited, but there is a good selection and it is well cooked and presented.
Perhaps weekends are a bit hectic with the sailors from the marina, but would definitely go there again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie-Hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“It's a cafe - and a good one”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Rewind some of the previous reviews and I think The Boat House has been a little hard done by. It doesn't pretend to be anything other than a cafe which serves a small selection of main meals in the evening, mostly to the boating community. We took some friends there on Thursday. There were 5 main courses (one of which also came as a starter size) and 4 starters. Between us we tried 2 of the mains - the sea bass and the burger and chips - and it was all well cooked, in decent sized portions. The waitresses were helpful and friendly and we saw no sign of any surliness. If you want pudding, it's a slice of cake or an ice cream tub, but that's ok for a cafe I think. All in all we had a good experience (helped no doubt by the fantastic weather which meant we could sit next to the open bi-fold doors overlooking the marina!). We'll eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonBarneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly but a limited menu”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We visited on 8 August 2013 with 9 in our party. The service was friendly and we did not have to wait to be served. I was disappointed in the menu which was very limited. However, the dishes we chose were nicely cooked and well presented. Overall we had a pleasant evening in lovely surroundings. By the way, if you ask for tap water to drink, remember to ask for ice as it was room temperature! Also, when we visited the weather was beautiful but I'm not sure what it would be like on a cold day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smudge2466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely view - nice food”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked a table for the Tuesday night. the weather was glorious and we sat outside with a drink. We went into the restaurant for our main course. I had the sea bass and my husband the rump steak which he reckoned to be one of the best he had tasted.

They are open from 9am to 9pm and do breakfast lunch and dinner which starts around 6pm. The dinner menu is quite limited however, there were around 4 starters and about 5 mains one of which was a vegetarian option.

We haven't been here to eat before but I presume the dinner menu changes

The view over the harbour is superb on a lovely evening and you can watch the cross channel ferries and all the various other shipping going in and out of the harbour

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel0253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boat House Cafe Gosport Marina also viewed

 

Been to The Boat House Cafe Gosport Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing