We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian food for the masses, service slow food ok.”
Review of The New Bengal

The New Bengal
Ranked #4 of 173 Restaurants in Gosport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Indian food for the masses, service slow food ok.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Good average indian eatin/take away curry house.

Ordered a take away and was told 50mins to collect, now busy or not that is just wrong, also it's way to small inside when eating in you feel like you are with the people on the next table.

Food is ok not bad but for me the food here is aimed at the typical english person who dont no much about real indian food.

A lot of people do highly rate this place but for me coming from london where there are a million and one curry houses this place is ok at best, it seems people in gosport dont no about real curries.

Again the food is ok and not bad dont get me wrong but i have had better in the area from the likes of saffron or the Rose etc etc....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frank w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    52
    16
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely spotless”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I regularly attend the New Bengal, and it is immaculate, the food is superb, the staff are extremely courteous and helpful. Reading other reviews I am surprised people moan about the plae being busy...it is busy because of its quality. It is without doubt the cleanest restaurant I have eaten in....unparalleled.

Brendan Regan.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank regokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic all round”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I went here with a colleague at Christmas and it was very busy. The staff were very attentive. I had the pasanda with coconut rice and naan. Was absolutely delicious.Quite reasonable but I really think you should get a side of naan/rice or chips with a main dish. I always struggle to find something to drink other than water in the restaurant. The atmosphere is great and its a nice place to go. The only problem is parking, the whole stoke road area is awful for parking.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HayleyJayneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Best Indian......”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Excellent food every time. This place is consistently top of the game. Try it - you won't be disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good but......”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a meal here at the weekend and although the service was efficient and the food lovely, the noise level from other customers was unbearable. We were unable to have a conversation without shouting and as the tables are so close together we gave up talking ! A real shame the atmosphere wasn't better as the food was very good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Bengal also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The New Bengal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing