We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average”
Review of Jolly Roger

Jolly Roger
Reserve a Table
2
Sat, 10/19
8:00 PM
Ranked #73 of 204 Restaurants in Gosport
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Postcode: PO12 4LQ
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very average Sunday lunch. Good view but mediocre food at best. Cheap prices but won’t be returning.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Nikita38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 470 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2019

I visited this pub today with my elderly mother in law and her sister in law. We ordered food at 1.30 just fish and chips. At 2 I enquired if the food is coming and was informed that they had just started cooking it as the chef was called away with an emergency earlier. Some fifteen minutes later asked again and told it was just being plated, eight minutes later still waiting so told them to cancel and walked. If when we arrived we were told food would take nearly an hour we had a choice to stay or go elsewhere but we were not informed. They should take the Jolly out of there signage as there was nothing jolly about it. Never again will I visit this establishment.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Service
Thank Hw1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

Came in for a drink with my mum.
Staff were lovely, nothing was too much trouble and we felt very welcome in this pub. Will 100% use again. Definitely improved since new owners took over

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank PoisonedLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2019

Went there with friends for a meal. We know the pub. It can have a great atmosphere with lot of local visitors, great beer and ale, good old fashioned pub.

Food however can be up and down. My partner meal was good, however a few of us had Steak which was very tough.

Asked about gluten in the recipes the waiter had no idea what I was talking about and instead of go and asked he reeled of a whole list of ingredients in the dish that should not have had gluten in them. (Like chicken)

Without being offered a desert another waitress came up and asked if she should bring us the bill? (It was nowhere near closing)

Then 3 different baiter/waitress came asking if everything was ok!

If staff were a bit better prepared and trained it could be a great place. Reasonably priced and a good local atmosphere

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Hagar54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2019

We went with our three granddaughters two had the fish and chips the third had cheese burger with bacon. They all finished their food very unusual so must have been good . The pub is in a great position overlooking the creek and Portsmouth harbour, staff although rushed off their feet were lovely and helpful . Thank you all especially the chef and waitresses

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank N1881SRrogerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Roger also viewed

 

Been to Jolly Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing