We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Windbrake House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windbrake House
Ranked #2 of 20 Gosport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed in the Gold room for two nights. Sally gave us a very warm welcome with drinks and cake and was incredibly helpful with places to visit in the area. Our room was stunning! The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was breathtaking! To top it off, good choice at breakfast and the quality was outstanding. We had a very relaxing stay. We thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiamClare03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 183 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting family that live in Gosport. The only word I can use to describe Windbrake House is "stunning".

We stayed in the Gold room as the photo's of the bathroom look amazing and we weren't disappointed. The room, the bathroom and all the little extras are fantastic and it has the most comfortable bed we've slept on! Our stay was pure luxury and we would strongly advise anybody making a trip to the area to stay here.

Sally and Steve were extremely welcoming and lovely hosts for the weekend. The house is immaculate and decorated/furnished to a very high standard. You sense that they are extremely proud of what they have created and they have every right to be! The breakfast was delicious (we went for the Full English both mornings, you can't get bored of food that good) and the cake on arrival was a lovely touch and just what was needed after a long drive!

The next time we are down to visit the family, we will be booking into the Windbrake House without any hesitation.

I know they read this, so again Sally and Steve thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this perfect B&B it was a like a 5 star hotel every body thought we were staying in a hotel but this was better and Sally & Steve were the perfect hosts. The room was tastefully decorated with a beautifully imported Indian bed.The food in the morning was a very tastyand nothing was to much trouble and they both made us feel really really welcome 10/10

Room Tip: All rooms are of high quality + beautiful setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here only for one night for a friends wedding at a nearby hotel. We only wish we could have been here for longer. The property is beautiful and we were shown into a gorgeous bedroom overlooking the garden with an enormous bathroom with sunken bath and huge walk-in shower. There were carefully selected toiletries at our disposal and Sally even made sure there were some candles should we decide to have a romantic bath. (Sadly there wasn't enough time). On arrival we were offered home made carrot cake and a variety of drinks which were delicious. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious and our hosts couldn't have been more accomodating. The little touches Sally & Steve had made, made our stay better than some of the larger more expensive hotels we have stayed in, in England. If you want a relaxing, cosy, romantic few nights away, I wouldn't book anywhere else. Thank you for making our short stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wizbit21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at this fabulous, immaculate b&b for a long weekend this September. We can only echo what others have said. Sally and Steve were the perfect hosts and the very tastefully decorated and restful Gold room has the most comfortable bed your bones could wish for! The breakfasts were second to none and nothing was too much trouble for the owners, with thoughtful extras as well as help in arranging places to eat. Both Sally and Steve go the extra mile to ensure you have the best stay and we cannot recommend staying with them highly enough. Go and you'll see what the fuss is about......

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for two nights to attend a family wedding at a nearby hotel in August 2012. Windbrake House is advertised as a boutique b&b, which it certainly is, and a whole lot more!
The service was amazing from start to finish; everything from coffee and homemade chocolate cake on arrival (delicious) to a tour guide of a secret short-cut to the wedding venue complete with mini-torch to fit in my handbag for the return journey!
The room was beautifully and tastefully decorated, with a four-poster bed imported from India and an en-suite bathroom with a fabulous power-shower and delightful products.
Sally was the perfect host with first-rate cooking skills and has managed to create a perfect combination of luxury and home-comforts; you feel like you are staying at the home of a relative with very expensive taste!
We are looking for another reason to visit Gosport just to stay here again.

Room Tip: We were given a tour of all rooms during our stay and they are all equally beautiful. The Mulberry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in the Mulberry room in September 2012, what a fantastic experience. We arrived after a day at Goodwood, dirty, tired and really needing a coffee, but we soon forgot that when we saw the room, The other reviewers have said everything, the room was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated and presented. The bed was a bit of a supprise, a four poster that looked like it should have been in a stately home somewhere but, WOW, when you have negotiated the steps to get in, it must be the most comfortable bed ever, I wish I had it at home. The en-suite had everything I could imagine anyone would need, so many lotions and personal cleaning products, and again all presented to the highest standard. The hospitality tray even had fresh milk, Breakfast was perfect both in quantity and quality and an excellent menu. All in all I can't imagine how anyone could improve Windbrake house. Many thanks Sally, Steve and family. We will be back

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gosport hotels
0.8 mi away
Number Five Bed and Breakfast
2 mi away
Leeward House B&B
Leeward House B&B
#2 of 8 in Lee-on-the-Solent
105 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Gosport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Lodge Hotel
The Old Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Gosport
264 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bridgemary Manor Hotel
Bridgemary Manor Hotel
#17 of 20 in Gosport
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alverbank Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windbrake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windbrake House

Address: 50 Palmerston Way | Alverstoke, Gosport PO12 2LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Gosport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Gosport
Price Range: $115 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windbrake House is an intimate, luxury boutique bed and breakfast. Located in the charming village of Alverstoke Gosport. It is within metres of Stokes Bay and enjoying some views of the Solent and the Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Windbrake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing