We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding accommodation, and great service.”
other travelers have booked this property
Powderkeg Cottage - A lovely 3 bedroom waterside cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Powderkeg Cottage - A lovely 3 bedroom waterside cottage
With fantastic views over the harbour Sleeping 5+2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Powderkeg Cottage - A lovely 3 bedroom waterside cottage
With fantastic views over the harbour
Sleeping 5+2
2 double bedrooms with 5ft kingsize beds that can split to create 2 singles
Tastefully furnished throughout
One pretty single bedroom with all linen and towels provided
1 bathroom and 1 en suite shower room
Master bedroom overlooking the harbour
With adjoining en suite shower room
Freshly and brightly decorated
Spacious 1st floor lounge with balcony
With swivel recliners overlooking the water
Sit and watch the boats go by
Ground floor kitchen/diner
With soft seating if required
Comfortable dining for up to 6
With great views over the patio
Overlooking the harbour beyond
Formally an old explosives store within the historic Priddy's Yard
Located right on the harbour foreshore
Can be rented with it's adjoining property 'Gunpowder Cottage'
Interesting walks along the harbour foreshore
Bring your dog, the property is pet friendly
Plenty of interesting boats and ships coming and going
Views over to Portsdown Hill and Portchester Castle in the distance
Fantastic views at sunset
Close to nearby marinas
3 local family beaches
The Alver Valley Country Park, a 5 minute drive from the property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Gosport, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
51Chris44...
Niagara On The Lake
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding accommodation, and great service.”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

Gunpowder and Powderkeg Cottage - Lovely, especially the use of outdoors, a perfect location. The area itself was interesting, so much to enjoy in Gosport, Portsmouth and the Isle of Wight area with the Gosport Ferry excursions to explore further afield. Easy access to Portsmouth Harbour Station and actually easy access to get 'anywhere!' The high chair and travel cot was clean and much appreciated. The service from Complete was prompt when required and thank you Ken for meeting us at the ferry and showing us round. - The Lansley family, July 2018

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect location for visiting surrounding area and watching busy sea traffic.”
Reviewed July 2, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Lovely property and a perfect location for a truly relaxing holiday. A quiet and peaceful area and we enjoyed the walks, especially over the Millennium Bridge. Complete themselves were excellent, with a special thank you to Sophie for meeting us at the ferry. - Sue and Treve, June 2018

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela923...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Lovely view but”
Reviewed October 23, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed here in October with our family 7 adults and 2 under2’s. The view is fabulous but the cottage is in need of maintenance and with clever photographs it makes it look bigger than it is. The floorboards are very creaky and the shower in the bathroom (under the eaves) can only be used by children or very petite people. Difficult parking for more than 1 car. Worth looking around at other properties before booking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2017
Prior to this review Powderkeg Cottage had an excellent review rating with 18 five reviews and 2 four reviews. The photographs were taken by ourselves and the property is not advertised with a shower within the bathroom and is only advertised as having 1 allocated car parking spot. The guests did mention that the cistern to the bathroom toilet was slow to fill so this has since been renewed. We are disappointed to only receive a 3 star review which we feel is harsh but will always try and improve where we can
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller...
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed October 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Powderkeg. Absolutely loved it. The view was brilliant and the cottage was homely and had everything we needed. Ken was very helpful too in making sure we were comfortable and said we could contact him for anything. It was so good we may be looking to stay there again sometime in the future with my husband and his family. I must say that communication for this booking has been spot on.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WORCS
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karen F
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely property right on the waterfront”
Reviewed January 9, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Really lovely property in Gosport with big picture windows on all 3 levels overlooking the Harbour. Shop 4 minutes walk away with a good takeaway. Pub 5 minutes walk along the waterfront. Nearby - Explosion museum - Perfect for a family visit. Really a much better stay than I was expecting.
House nicely furnished & equipped, good heating, plenty of hot water.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing