We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't be happier”
other traveler has booked this property
Gunpowder Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gunpowder Cottage
3 bedroom Waterside Townhouse With uninterrupted harbour views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Gunpowder Cottage
3 bedroom Waterside Townhouse
With uninterrupted harbour views
5ft superior quality kingsize beds
Beds can split to create 2 singles
2 bedrooms with en suites
All linen and towels provided
Tastefully furnished throughout
1st floor lounge with balcony overlooking the water
With large comfortable corner sofa bed
Ground floor cloakroom off the entrance hallway
Large open plan lounge dining area
Leading into modern open plan kitchen
With all essential mod cons
Plenty of outside seating
To sit and watch the boats go by
Peaceful harbourside location
Can be rented with its adjoining property 'Powderkeg Cottage'
Sat right on the harbour foreshore
Formally an old explosives store within the historic Priddy's Yard
Sunrise from the promenade along from the property
Daytime view over to Portsdown Hill
Early evening views towards the Naval Dockyard
Portsmouth and The Spinnaker Tower in the distance
Well behaved 4 legged friends welcome
Close to nearby marinas
3 local family beaches
5 minutes drive from The Alver Valley Country Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gosport, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Graham W
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Couldn't be happier”
Reviewed January 31, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We spent Christmas at Gunpowder Cottage as a family. A lovely house, great location, we were very pleased and very comfortable.

The view over the water is really good, I can imagine in the summer sitting in the garden and watching the boat and sailing clubs. It is easy enough to be able to take the ferry over to Portsmouth and their is a museum, more or less on the doorstep, although it was closed while we where there. A Pub and a shop are also located within walking distance. For any dog walkers we can recommend Browndown breach as well, just a short drive away.

Staying over the Christmas period we were worried about kitchen supplies however there was more than enough and the Christmas Tree and decorations put up by the owners were a lovely personal touch.
The staff were also very helpful during the whole booking process.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jollyB
Belvedere-London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gunpowder Cottage - Superb Location and Home.New Year family treat!”
Reviewed January 12, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Excellent homely accommodation. The Views and rear terrace to the harbour are truly fantastic. Sunrise was gorgeous on waking too. The area and location is great - plenty of sightseeing places and good travel links. The Christmas tree provided was a lovely seasonal touch. We encountered no problems when booking - communication between us and staff were very good as was the friendly lady housekeeper who met us on arrival.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephbenn
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage with a great harbour view”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Gunpowder Cottage - well what can I say! We didn't want to leave. The cottage was clean and tidy and the sitting room overlooking the harbour was so peaceful - my husband went in there to study but instead found himself admiring the view!! It is ideally situated and we enjoyed walking over the Millennium bridge into Gosport. For me I liked that I could ring your office and actually talk to someone rather than do all the booking etc online - I much prefer being able to have the personal contact. I would have no hesitation in recommending you to friends. - Bennett, Oct 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and the view over the water
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_jrobinso...
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous views”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our 1 week stay in Gunpowder Cottage. When the tide is in, the sea comes right up to the garden wall. There are boats bobbing about in the water and you can see the Brittany Ferry going back and forth. We also had a Navy destroyer moored in the bay for part of our stay. We spent 2 or 3 days at the property as it was such a great place to chill out. We left the car at the property and used taxi's to get to Gosport Ferry where we went to Portsmouth for the day and on another occasion we caught the catamaran to the Isle of Wight to visit Osbourne House which was a great day out.
The Jolly Roger Pub is a short walk back along the promenade - nothing fancy just reasonable pub food in a great location. Did not find any decent restaurants close by.
The cottage is extremely well equipped and serviced. We could not get the microwave to work on our first night but after phoning the following morning it was replaced within half an hour.
The curtains in the master bedroom are see through which at this time of year means the room is bathed in daylight at 4.30am! This did affect our sleep so I would recommend taking an eye mask to anyone who cannot sleep in daylight.
The views from the balconies are wonderful especially the master bedroom where you can see across to the Spinnaker Tower. We loved the sitting room and watching the sunsets from here was glorious.
You will not be disappointed.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan I
Alsager, Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The outlook from the patio and balconies of the Twinpowder cottages is probably the finest in the Portsmouth area. The cranes and buildings of Portsmouth dockyard are directly across the water. Modern naval vessels are moored alongside them; large cross channel ferries glide slowly past; the masts and spars of HMS Warrior are over to the right and the children in our party liked playing ‘spot the Victory’. Nelson’s flagship is clearly visible, but less obvious than usual because she is currently without her topmasts. In the distance, to the left, are the impressive Roman walls of Portchester castle. Closer to the cottages a bobbing procession of launches and sailing dinghies adds movement and variety to the scene. Despite the fact that we chose five days of really grim weather for our visit, the view from these former ammunition stores was a real pleasure.
The location brings other benefits. The ‘Explosion’ museum of naval weaponry was literally our next door neighbour. Although we only got round to visiting it on our final day, it offered lots of interest to the adults and the children in our group. The Royal Navy submarine museum was only a couple of miles away (the tour of HMS Alliance is not to be missed), The Gosport ferry terminal was half an hour’s walk or a short drive from the front door. The ferries run a shuttle service and the journey across the harbour to Portsmouth takes five minutes. You really appreciate the value of that if you try to drive round the harbour to the dockyard. At best, you spend a long journey in a slow-moving traffic jam.
The cottages were beautifully presented and equipped and the large patio doors meant we were able to get an ‘open air’ experience despite the weather. W e soon adjusted to the small size of the en suite shower rooms and generally felt very comfortable.
The Complete Holiday Homes staff we met were all helpful and cheerful. The ‘welcome’ arrangements worked perfectly and the paperwork was no problem; an important consideration for a group of eleven people (and one dog).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhicez
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“beautiful place, great location”
Reviewed June 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a lovely weekend at Gunpowder Cottage. In the run up to the stay, all staff were very helpful and prompt at responding to queries. The house was beautiful and in a great location. We found it well equipped and it had everything we needed. Overall a great house and helpful staff, so thank you for a lovely weekend!
We managed to fit 10 girls into the property on some kind of beds (6 in bedrooms - single beds), 2 in the living room on the pull out sofa bed (a little tight but they didn't mind) and 2 on pull outs in the kitchen. We didn't really find the showers being in people's bedrooms a huge issue but we were only there for the weekend. With that number of people there wasn't quite enough in the way of toilet rolls etc., but I suspect that's more to do with the number of people we had in the property.
Overall we'd highly recommend and would definitely consider booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
9Fran9
Tavistock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 1, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Gunpowder Cottage is an amazing property. The views are second to none. Sitting on the balconies watching the sun come up, and go down over the water was stunning. The property has everything you could wish for, and is warm and comfortable. Complete Holiday Homes staff were very flexible, accommodating and overall excellent. The area was particularly lovely and easy to get around.. We have stayed at numerous properties with the company and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Thank you!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and views
Liked least: No bath
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing