We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, wonderful people!”
Review of Manor Farm Oast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manor Farm Oast
Ranked #1 of 1 Icklesham B&B and Inns
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, wonderful people!”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We had made plans to stay in nearby Hastings and when we got there we did not like the area. So we looked in a tourist brochure for the area and found Manor Farm Oast in Icklesham, only a short drive away. We were fortunate they had a room available. We had always wanted to stay in an Oast House and were not disappointed. The room was comfortable, but not fancy, and that suited us just fine. The owners, Kate and Syd, could not have been nicer. They recommended a local pub for dinner and told us how to walk through the country to get there. It was a gorgeous area, a lovely walk, and a fantastic dinner. Wish we could have stayed longer. The breakfast was delicious too. Nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely go back when we are in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliGirlWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    9
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Great location, excellent and very clean room,Kate & Sid the owners could not do enough for us and went out of their way to make our honymoon special which when they
found out about it left us a card and a bottle of champagne in our room. The breakfast
was excellent and Kate would cook it just the way we wanted, no trouble to her at all.
A very warm and friendly couple. can not praise this place enough.

Room Tip: we stayed in the en-suite king size bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fenderboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We couldn't of wished for a nicer place to stay. Our room was spacious and luxurious with excellent on-suite facilities and a really comfortable bed. We loved all the little extra touches, fresh fruit, good quality toiletries,etc. Being a converted oust, the rooms are full of character. The proprietors, Kate and Sydney, were really good hosts - extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfasts were excellent too - a delicious range of fresh fruit, home-made yogurt and jams, plus cooked breakfast of locally sourced treats. If visiting this area again, we would most certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed in this remarkable oast house midweek and booked the round room with the stars on the ceiling. What a beautiful house. The owners Kate and Sid are obviously very proud of their home and it showed in so many ways. The little touches: - the fresh milk in the room, the complimentary cleansing and toner lotion on the dressing table, dressing gowns, cd player with choice of cd's, trouser press, fresh flowers etc all make this bed and breakfast one of the best we have ever stayed in. Kate was very helpful in giving us recommendations for a very nice pub called the Queens Head, about 15 mins walk away, which did the best pub grub (small tip - no need for a starter, the portions are huge!!) and supplying us with umbrellas and torches for the walk back. The umbrella we did not need, but the torches definitely!.
The breakfast was varied and very good. Fresh fruit, cereals etc for start followed by a choice of cooked items. The jams and marmalades are all home made which also showed us how commited Kate and Sid are to making a real effort.
We will be back one day to stay more than one night!

Room Tip: Book the round room with the stars, Very unique and good fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyweekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Everything about this band b was super: the owners, the food, the rooms, the countryside etc etc. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniedarnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My partner treated me to a weekend away in Rye and we stayed in this lovely B&B. From our arrival we were welcomed and the Oast House is in a beautiful setting. Lovely and clean and lots of extras in the room (choccies/water/fruit), The breakfast choice was wonderful - choice of fresh fruit/cereals/nuts etc along with a cooked breakfast which included lovely home made sausages. Owner recommended a local pub - the Queens Head which served delicious food and lovely treacle tart!! Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeychopsHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Pretty converted Oast house in the village of Icklesham. Lovely location within an apple orchard just off the beaten track, but only half a mile, and three quarters of a mile from 2 great pubs in the village. Kate and Syd are a lovelly couple who make you feel very welcome. We went down on a cycling weekend and they provided a safe place to put our bikes. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob-the-wop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Icklesham
6.3 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
3.6 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
935 reviews
3.5 mi away
River Haven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
337 reviews
1.8 mi away
Strand House
Strand House
#1 of 5 in Winchelsea
260 reviews
3.4 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 39 in Rye
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Farm Oast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Farm Oast

Property: Manor Farm Oast
Address: Manor Farm Oast Windmill Lane, Icklesham TN36 4WL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Icklesham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Icklesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Manor Farm Oast 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Manor Farm Oast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Farm Oast Icklesham, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing