We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do go ... we had a lovely meal!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bildeston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bildeston Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bildeston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our first visit to The Bildeston Crown and we came away very impressed.
All the food was delicious; we couldn't fault it for presentation and taste. It's clear the chef and his brigade are talented and passionate about food. Visiting as we did on a Sunday, succulent Roast Beef was on the menu but what a huge portion it was - a bit too large! By contrast though, the vegetarian option of Courgette flowers etc, was a little too small!
Service was very attentive but it would have been nice if the waitresses could be a bit more relaxed and smiley!
In conclusion, we will be back! It was worth the two hour drive!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fliss11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 325 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Having called in to The Crown for lunch last year, and having been so impressed with the expertise of the chef, we decided to treat ourselves to a 3 night stay - and what a treat. From the beautifully individually designed decor in the bedrooms - try and get a room at the back as the road is rather noisy - to the wonderfully executed meals - we sampled the set menu, and bar menu, and also the more expensive menu in the more formal Ingrams restaurant - we couldn't find fault. It can be expensive, but you get what you pay for, and for the quality of the produce and the skill of the chef - it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the front because of the noise from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gini F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A wonderful, warm, and welcoming hotel; it's well run, the staff are lively, engaging and knowledgable. The food is more than worthy of the AA Rosettes and the wine list is thoughtfully put together. A fantastic stay there this weekend and would heartily recommend it. Two big thumbs up.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badwinesux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Called today while passing through, having heard a lot of good reports in the past.
What a classy establishment ,such likeable staff and food that all three of us visiting enjoyed immensely .
Go on spoil yourself ,the extra cost between this and the also rans is minimul but believe me you won't regret your decision to indulge.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Baysie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

At a charity auction in May 2012 we bid for Din, B&B at the crown in Bildeston, all the money went to Great Ormand street, what a worthy donation.
Well finally on 2nd Feb it was booked and what a night.
We had won the bid and it was the tasting menu for 4, we arrived mid afternoon and the whole expieience was about you are here to relax, anything our staff can do please ask.
The food was amazing delivered with passion and attention to detail, a journey to be added to "the 100 things i must do before i die".
My two teenage daughters, one who will try anything, and the other who will try nothing, were both blown away by the food, the flavours, the presentation, the service were all second to none, well done team, you nailed it,
We had a tour of the hotel in the morning and were delighted to see that every single room is individuel and tells its own story, from room 6, the haunted room to 12, the mystry VIP insists he stays there when visiting the UK.
Probably the most attentive place we have ever stayed, and we have stayed at a few.
Make sure you complete your visit by seeing historic Lavenham only a few miles away,Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our first visit to the Crown, although we only live 10 miles away !! we chose the three course menu which I may say was varied and excellent. When the starter arrived, the waitress explained the components of the starter, it was superb...the main was also excellent and well presented. The dessert was well presented and very tasty. The wine list was varied and explained well...we chose a Muscadet and for £24 was excellent.
I will definitely make a second visit....the service was good...and we were welcomed into the restaurant by Frank....who we had met at restaurants in Bury St Edmunds....he provides excellent customer service and I am sure is an added bonus to the Crown.
We had a really lovely evening for our Wedding Anniversary and I am sure will be returning to this lovely restaurant.

Room Tip: Lovely that a restaurant/hotel has good parking facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SM24412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I spent four nights here in January, whilst working locally. The staff were very friendly and welcoming; the food was excellent and imaginative and my room was charming with everything I needed. Thank you

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorsetlover51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bildeston
4.8 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
9.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,160 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
504 reviews
11.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
12.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bildeston Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bildeston Crown

Address: 104 High Street, Bildeston, Babergh District IP7 7EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Bildeston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bildeston
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bildeston Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bildeston Crown is a 15th century, former coaching inn set in the Suffolk village of Bildeston, one of the historic “wool towns” and just six miles from Lavenham. Known for its stylish yet relaxed accommodation, the inn has 12 en suite doubles, a 120 seater restaurant, private meeting room, bar area with open fire and a courtyard and terrace for al fresco dining . Food is an integral part of The Bildeston Crown experience and Chef Chris Lee, who owns the business with his wife Hayley, has an excellent reputation for his signature, innovative style. Quality produce, sourced primarily locally, is used when in season and diners can choose from a range of menus: Classics which features regular favourites, Select which changes with the seasons and also perhaps the ultimate dining experience – Chris Lee’s Tasting Menu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bildeston Crown Hotel Bildeston
Bildeston Crown Ipswich
The Bildeston Crown England - Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing