We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creme de la Crown,"Fit for Royalty"”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bildeston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bildeston Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bildeston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

At a charity auction in May 2012 we bid for Din, B&B at the crown in Bildeston, all the money went to Great Ormand street, what a worthy donation.
Well finally on 2nd Feb it was booked and what a night.
We had won the bid and it was the tasting menu for 4, we arrived mid afternoon and the whole expieience was about you are here to relax, anything our staff can do please ask.
The food was amazing delivered with passion and attention to detail, a journey to be added to "the 100 things i must do before i die".
My two teenage daughters, one who will try anything, and the other who will try nothing, were both blown away by the food, the flavours, the presentation, the service were all second to none, well done team, you nailed it,
We had a tour of the hotel in the morning and were delighted to see that every single room is individuel and tells its own story, from room 6, the haunted room to 12, the mystry VIP insists he stays there when visiting the UK.
Probably the most attentive place we have ever stayed, and we have stayed at a few.
Make sure you complete your visit by seeing historic Lavenham only a few miles away,Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 339 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our first visit to the Crown, although we only live 10 miles away !! we chose the three course menu which I may say was varied and excellent. When the starter arrived, the waitress explained the components of the starter, it was superb...the main was also excellent and well presented. The dessert was well presented and very tasty. The wine list was varied and explained well...we chose a Muscadet and for £24 was excellent.
I will definitely make a second visit....the service was good...and we were welcomed into the restaurant by Frank....who we had met at restaurants in Bury St Edmunds....he provides excellent customer service and I am sure is an added bonus to the Crown.
We had a really lovely evening for our Wedding Anniversary and I am sure will be returning to this lovely restaurant.

Room Tip: Lovely that a restaurant/hotel has good parking facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SM24412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I spent four nights here in January, whilst working locally. The staff were very friendly and welcoming; the food was excellent and imaginative and my room was charming with everything I needed. Thank you

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorsetlover51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have just spent a fabulous night at the Bildeston Crown where we celebrated a friends birthday. Everything was fabulous from the decor to the amazing staff. . The place is like a maze, with corridors and rooms all over the place. This only adds to the charm. The bedrooms are all beautifully furnished, slightly 'chintzy' but they have everything you could need. I do second the other reviewers who would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Although you can ring down 24hrs a day to order some for free, it's not the same as being able to make yourself a cup in the morning. We started our evening with drinks in the bar, this is a lovely area, mainly due to the gorgeous open fire. Staff were attentive at all times. Dinner was fabulous. Starters very good and on our table most of us had the rib of beef which cannot be faulted in any way. Beautifully cooked and served with fat chips, skinny chips, Bernaise sauce, pepper sauce, garlic mushrooms and onion rings. My only comment would be that the people who ordered the fish special felt slightly cheated as their main course was tiny in comparison and served on huge white plates with only a quarter of the plate containing any food. Looked very strange. Wine was great, service very slow, but we didn't mind at all as we were having such a lovely time and we were a big party of 10. Breakfast the next morning was great, all the usual and freshly squeezed orange juice too. All in all a fantastic weekend and we will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are very different, check out their website for pictures of each one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrambleK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed with friends, rooms were very good, comfortable - terrific bathroom and shower which so often is overlooked, very nice bars and good ales, the food was excellent really high end with great presentation - young pleasant friendly staff, tasty breakfast will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fulham s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I have been here on several occasions. The bars are lovely, and that's mainly down to the historic architecture. If you are a real ale enthusiast then the beers on offer are frequently good. The restaurant is the thing they are proudest of and the flavours are on the whole , lovely; just don't arrive with an appetite. I know they have a star for their restaurant within a restaurant (?) but the 'big plate, tiny food' thing is getting a bit old. And what ever you do, don't mention that, as the warm welcome suddenly becomes frosty and you are then treated like a pleb who knows nothing about food

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank JerrieBoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We, a family party of seven, had a most enjoyable meal at the Crown. The staff were extremely welcoming and efficient and the food was superb and beautifully presented. The menu was extensive with quite a few seasonal dishes being offered - the pheasant wellington was pronounced as being very unusual and delicious. Our bill came to just over £400 which included a round of drinks at the bar and three bottles of wine which, for the quality and quantity of food, was actually pretty reasonable. It is not the sort of place to go expecting cheap 'pub grub', but for a real treat it takes some beating.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank timothyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bildeston
4.8 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
12.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,262 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,202 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
548 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
#1 of 1 in Stoke by Nayland
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bildeston Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bildeston Crown

Address: 104 High Street, Bildeston, Babergh District IP7 7EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Bildeston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bildeston
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bildeston Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bildeston Crown is a 15th century, former coaching inn set in the Suffolk village of Bildeston, one of the historic “wool towns” and just six miles from Lavenham. Known for its stylish yet relaxed accommodation, the inn has 12 en suite doubles, a 120 seater restaurant, private meeting room, bar area with open fire and a courtyard and terrace for al fresco dining . Food is an integral part of The Bildeston Crown experience and Chef Chris Lee, who owns the business with his wife Hayley, has an excellent reputation for his signature, innovative style. Quality produce, sourced primarily locally, is used when in season and diners can choose from a range of menus: Classics which features regular favourites, Select which changes with the seasons and also perhaps the ultimate dining experience – Chris Lee’s Tasting Menu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bildeston Crown Hotel Bildeston
Bildeston Crown Ipswich
The Bildeston Crown England - Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing