We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Long Range Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Still great”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hiking the South West Coast Path, stayed here in 2012 and this year. While it is a little bit out of the main part of town there is much that appeals. Great rooms, warm and helpful hosts and delightful bright and sunny room for the best of breakfasts. Hard beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeaBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    25
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
51
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a four night stay in the long range and loved it ,absolutely first class can't wait to go again..homely and comfortable and the breakfasts consist of fresh fruit ,cereals ,cooked good quality food . Kathwade

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kath w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

we have just returned from a 4 day break in devon, we stayed at the long range in budleigh salterton, the accommodation was very clean and tidy, our room was also immaculate with a large tv, shower room and tea/coffee facilities. the cleaning staff were very polite and thorough, the hosts brian and Lorraine were fantastic, they gave us a lovely greeting making us feel like we were part of the family, their local knowledge is brilliant and always willing to help whenever they could and the food was superb, we would recommend this hotel to everyone, thanks to all for a wonderful stay and look forward to returning again soon

Room Tip: we had the room at the front, it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, Worcestershire UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in the 2 single rooms, very comfortable. The smaller room is definitely "cosy", the larger ground floor room is spacious and airy.
Excellent breakfasts, and proprietors very friendly and helpful.

We look forward to our next stay at the Long Range Hotel.

Room Tip: For a single person the ground floor room is very spacious, and the first floor room is quite small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penny1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We've just spent 5 nights at this great hotel. Wonderful welcome, great breakfasts. Nothing was a problem, even put my Dad's scooter on charge. Dad had a small single room on ground floor which opened onto it's own patio and we had a very big double on the first floor. Lovely views and peaceful garden.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thirdagerBangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights to attend a family wedding at the end of April.

The hotel was spotlessly clean; the owners very welcoming and the breakfast superb - even the weather was nice !!

The rooms are all very well appointed and modernised

Room Tip: all the rooms looked good and there is a wheelchair friendly room with a wet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVIDBELK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We found this lovely place by accident after finding most of the central hotels full. It was a lovely surprise. The breakfasts were excellent as were the hosts who could not have been more friendly and welcoming. We would not hesitate to use the Long Range again, in fact we would prefer it to the centrally located places.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budleigh Salterton
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
3.6 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
4.6 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
4.4 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Long Range Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Long Range Hotel

Property: The Long Range Hotel
Address: 5 Vales Road, Budleigh Salterton EX9 6HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Budleigh Salterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Budleigh Salterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Long Range Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Long Range Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Range Hotel
The Long Range Hotel Budleigh Salterton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing