We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picturesque & welcome break”

Otterton Mill Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Picturesque & welcome break”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Otterton Mill acted as a welcome break to a walk along the River Otter Estuary (from Budleigh Salterton & back). It has a good, reasonably priced range of cakes & drinks (£11.70 for a cappuccino, two cold drinks + two cakes).

We were heading back home for a v late lunch that day, but had we wanted, there was soup & rolls, pate, & other delicious looking lunch dishes.

The only minuses were: it was jam-packed. Plus: the stairs going to the upper part of the eaterie are unusually steep (especially when you're balancing a tray of hot drinks!).

I'll definitely be back: Otterton itself is very scenic - charming without being chocolate-boxy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    107
    34
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting, disappointing choices”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

For such a venue, the range of cakes and confectionery, whilst reasonably priced, is disappointing. There are few proper cakes and my wife had to return her first scone as it was under-cooked, and the replacement was one of the most tasteless either of us has ever had.

On the upside, the coffee was good and the service was friendly, prompt and efficient.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rivbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Walk, eat and enjoy”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This offers a most enjoyable excursion; visit the mill, browse the art shop and choose from a very wide menu. We parked at Budleigh Salterton and walked along the River Otter (about 3/4hr on the level with great views and bird-watching). Lunch was very welcome (we shared salmon pate and goats cheese dishes). We have done this many times over a number of years and have only been disappointed once - last December when we arrived to find that the whole place had been flooded and was closed for repair work. The only obvious evidence when we returned in March was a sign showing the height of the flood water.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Cream Tea”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Wonderful restaurant and very friendly staff. We only wanted a cream tea but £3.15 for 1 scone with jam and cream seems very excessive. The scone was also burnt on the bottom!

Think lunch would be much better value as the prices for e.g. Duck breasts was £9.50 and the food did look very good.
Think some of these restaurants really overprice the market for cakes and scones. After all what does a cream tea really cost?? about 50p

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HeidisGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
176 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great venue for walking in Otter Valley. Cafe has been relocated and refurbished since last visit. Coffee seems better!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DorsetTedwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otterton Mill Restaurant also viewed

Budleigh Salterton, Devon
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 

Been to Otterton Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing