We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious crab lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean House Cafe - CLOSED

Ocean House Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious crab lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Enjoyed a lovely crab salad lunch here .... with a very nice glass of wine. It is lovely to find places that do offer locally sourced and seasonal produceand I am glad that we have found the Ocean House. A lovely airy space to enjoy some lovely food and company.

The only minor criticism was that there were no side plates to use so we were left to 'man handle' the chunky slabs of butter onto the equally chunky slices of granary bread!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lazzzylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki T, Owner at Ocean House Cafe, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Delighted that you enjoyed your lunch with us - thank you for your comments! We have a stack of side plates - wish you had asked - we would have been only too happy to provide! In future, we will provide side plates with this dish - thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    2
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reigate
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had a delicious lunch here. Particularly enjoyed the puddings which were outstanding. Very good service as well, in pleasant room on high street.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robin2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

We were on holiday in the area & were very happy to find this cafe. Great menu, real food you can taste the freshness. Light, airy & simply decorated. Welcoming to children & my son ate bits of all of our meals, a very good sign. Good to see people offering homemade food with local ingredients.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaVeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“One to keep an eye on!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

We've just experienced the Ocean House Cafe for the first time and were very impressed. OK we just called in for a couple of coffees and a mid-morning snack but we loved it. Light bright and airy even on a damp and grey day. The staff were young, friendly and enthusiastic. The sandwiches going past to other tables looked excellent and there was a nice buzz of satisfied customers. The coffee was very good, as was the homemade orange and almond Italian biscotti. Eateries come and go in Budleigh and it would be good to see one as promising as this stay! Great website too.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rustic Supper- superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

What a wonderful evening at Ocean House Cafe and Deli. The Rustic Supper (March 2012) was superb with all the courses wonderful to the eye and very tasty to the palate! We have never been disappointed with Nikkii and Robin's hospitality and cooking and this latest meal was no exception. All the staff are polite, friendly and the service was excellent.
During the day lovely light lunches and other delights are served. If you are in Budleigh I strongly recommend a visit to this delightful, informal eatery- just what Budleigh Salterton needs!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PebblesDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean House Cafe also viewed

Budleigh Salterton, Devon
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing