We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once there was someone to greet us”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Syon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Syon House Hotel
Loughton
Level Contributor
173 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Once there was someone to greet us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We arrived just after 3pm and could find no-one to greet us or let us in. As we had pre-paid this posed a problem and we waited outside for at least half an hour. The telephone for the hotel went straight to fax signal, and in desperation I phoned a number on a people carrier in the carpark for another hotel and only from this contact was able to speak to the proprietor. Eventually the housekeeper arrived and let us in. Once in, the place is lovely, well thought out with clean comfortable beds, hot showers, large rooms and lovely views as others have noted. The breakfast was very good too and for that the hostess was evident. More attention needs to be paid to customer contact to alert them if there is a problem, and some kind of bell between the main house and the staff cottage would be a distinct advantage - when the housekeeper is there.

Room Tip: This review concerns a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosalindLoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    14
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
55
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Spent Saturday night with hubby and little doggy in this lovely, unique B&B in East Budleigh. Big bedroom and bathroom, gorgeous, luxurious bed and unique decor throughout. Fabulous sitting room and dining room. Breakfast delicious and plentiful and our hosts so welcoming. Lovely home and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were in Budleigh for an overnight stay and were delighted to find and stay in this absolutely gorgeously refurbished family run house. All the finishings and furnishings are of the highest quality and finished to the highest of standards, and this includes the all important bed linen. The view across the valley is unbroken and dreamy. The view into our bathroom was also unbroken and could have given my husband and I nightmares, but happily there is a blind for the those of us wanting to keep what we get up in the bathroom a mystery!
Breakfast was also of the highest standard. All locally sourced ingredients and cooked to order.
If you are going to Bicton, or Budleigh, it couldn't be more convenient!
We will definitely be staying again. What a wonderful find.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tessa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Syon House is large, airy and comfortable and set in a beautiful landscape with stunning views. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was pleasant with a good, if small, bathroom. The breakfast is very good. The downside is that although it is potentially a great place to stay, it feels unfinished. The room had a very comfortable bed but there was no wardrobe, just a hanging rail which made it feel a bit like a student let. The garden could be fabulous but is just a mown weedy lawn full of rabbit holes. The website is particularly unhelpful and promises “luxurious towelling dressing gowns” which were absent from our room and from our fellow guest’s. It’s still good value but just needs the owner to focus on finishing it and would be great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidgpearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was more like staying with friends than staying at a hotel. The house, a former Priory is in a picturesque setting with uninterrupted views of the grounds and the surrounding countryside. Our room was very comfortable and well appointed with an en suite modern bathroom. Choices at breakfast are bountiful, fresh and tempting, all served in a spacious conservatory around a large table with the other guests. On a sunny day, breakfast was taken on the terrace outside - what a perfect start to any day. Claire is the perfect hostess and her team friendly and efficient. Had we not been so busy sightseeing we could have spent half a day at least perusing the artwork around the lounge and halls. Definitely on our list for a return visit.

Room Tip: Everyone staying there talked about the view from their room so I think a good view is had from all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was a return visit and we can honestly say that we could find nothing to criticise. The rooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable with delightful views over the garden and beyond. Breakfasts are taken with other guests in a light and spacious conservatory and were sumptuous. Claire is the perfect hostess and we will definitely return for longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Lovely period house with a fabulous terrace for breakfast and uninterrupted views of glorious countryside. The bedrooms are charming with very high spec linen, towels and bathrooms. Claire is a consummate professional, and our stay was a delight. We would certainly recommend her hotel and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budleigh Salterton
1.3 mi away
The Long Range Hotel
The Long Range Hotel
#1 of 1 in Budleigh Salterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
3.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
4.0 mi away
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
4.9 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#6 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Syon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Syon House Hotel

Property: Syon House Hotel
Address: East Budleigh, Budleigh Salterton EX9 7DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Budleigh Salterton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Budleigh Salterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Syon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Syon Houe is a sympathetically restore Georgian house situated on a plateau on the edge of the picturesque village of East Budleigh near the coast in East Devon. It has unrivaled views down the Otter valley with distant sea views over Lyme Bay and Budleigh Salterton. It's 6 luxury bedrooms are all ensuite with the best quality bed linen and towels, toiletries and hot drink facilities. Syon is just 10 miles from the centre of Exeter and 8 miles from the M5. There are three beautiful golf courses within a few miles, Budleigh, Sidmouth and Woodbury Salterton. A set gourmet dinner is available as is tea. Pets are welcome at the owners disretion. Woodbury Common and the Otter valley is renowned for walking and bird watching. There are many attrations and beautiful shopping centres within close proximinity, namely, Sidmouth, Budleigh Salterton, Honiton, Exeter and Exmouth. Sandy Park conference centre is 8 miles and Bicton Arena is 1 mile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Syon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Syon House Hotel Budleigh Salterton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing